We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Lost” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Australis Cairns Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Australis Cairns Beach Resort to your Saves list
Australis Cairns Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   129 Oleander Street, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Paradise Lost”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in September, the accommodation was booked as part of a tour so do not know how much the cost was. The units are pretty standard for what we have found on our trip. With a kitchenette, separate bedroom and lounge area. The units seem quite old but they are comfortable and everything worked. As mentioned on previous posts the resort is a little way outside Cairns itself. So the only draw to stay here is the beach (there isn't one in Cairns.) Which brings me to my biggest gripe, and I know this is no fault of the hotel, but. The locals use the beach as a dog toilet, and seem incapable of clearing up after them, despite free poop bags placed at the gates. I don't know why they allow dogs on the beach ( and there are dozens )It completely ruins an otherwise idyllic spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks for the review, as you have stated we do not have control of the dogs on the beach and we do agree that owners of the animals should be cleaning up after them. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in the resort and we would love to have you back to stay again if you ever get back to Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    58
    11
    1
    11
See reviews for
30
94
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubbo, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for 5 nights for our honeymoon. We had chocolates and champagne organised by staff and family in our room on arrival. We had the best view overlooking the beach on the top floor in room 67. The balcony here stretched around the unit we stayed in in an L shape. The rooms were generally clean and tidy with fans and split system air con in bedroom which surprisingly cooled the whole unit!
Therefore, accommodation is good but I wouldn't recommend the location of Holloways Beach for young couples/honeymooners. Even though the beach is sign posted 'No dogs' there are dogs absolutely everywhere! Me and my husband spent 2 hours on the beach in the whole 5 days we were there and in that time we had loose dogs walking all over us, licking us and doing the toilet nearby as we were trying to relax and most of the owners don't even had the decency to apologise. Cairns Beach Resort is 10 minutes from Cairns itself. There are buses that operate every hour from Holloways that take around half an hour each way. We went to the city a fair bit as we didn't find many options in Holloways itself in terms of bars/restaurants. The Strait On The Beach cafe over the road from the resort serves alcohol and food but is not what we would class as a 'bar'. We found we were the only young couple there. There is a lovely place in Yorkey's Knob which you can call a free courtesy bus to get to from the resort which takes 5 minutes. Yorkey's knob boat club has great food, gaming rooms, smoking areas and restaurant with great views over clear crystal waters

Room Tip: Room 67 if u want a decent sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Most people enjoy the peace and quiet that the resort offers as it is a great way just to relax and do nothing. The views from that particular room are spectacular and we did do an upgrade for you as you were on your honeymoon. We are certainly not the spot for younger people looking for nightlife as you do need to travel into the city for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I really enjoyed our stay here, all staff were very friendly and courteous, the apartment was clean and had everything we needed, we had a lovely big king size bed, a balcony that overlooked the lush, tropical, well-kept garden and the swimming pool. In the mornings we would go for a walk along the coconut palm fringed beach (just across the road from the resort) and had our morning coffee at the cafe that is right on the beach. We chatted to locals at the cafe, chatted to fishermen on the beach, chatted to fellow guests in the cafe - it is in a residential area so very friendly!! The only downside is that fact that it is under the flight path for the airport.

Room Tip: We liked to apartment with the balcony that overlooked the pool/garden cos I think the apartments th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are always pleased when we get a review like yours and know that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise as much as we do. Holloways Beach is a lay back area where you can rest and relax. The cafe across the road is a great place for meeting the locals and having a chat. Walking along the beach of a morning and chatting to all the people that get out and about making the best of the beautiful weather we have here is a really nice way to start your day. Sorry about the flight path but there is not much that we can do about that one. We look forward to having you back the next time that you are in Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Found this resort on wotif, 3night special. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a sea view room. Great view of the Coral Sea and lovely sea breezes. Room was self contained with enough cooking equipment to suit us. Room was clean and comfortable. Grounds were very tropical with a lovely refreshing pool. Also had barbeque facilities and even a herb garden we could make use of if we wished. Far enough out of Cairns to be away from the crowds but within easy driving distance. Tour bus happy to collect us from this accommodation for a trip to cape tribulation. Our room was on the third floor, four flights of stairs from undercover car park, word of advise, don't have heavy suitcases. Good workout though and didn't feel guilty about the fish and chips and beer enjoyed at the cafe across the road and right
on the beach.
Would absolutely stay here again and would request the third floor with sea views, well worth the walk up the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for the great review. The stairs are a good workout and we are pleased that you found that to be the case. We are glad that you were happy with your upgrade to the Seaview room. We re plant the herb garden each year after the wet season and have found it to be a hit with all our guests. We will look forward to having you stay with us again the next time that you are visiting Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here July 2-6 2013. Parents + 5 and 1 year old. We traveled from our home in Alice Springs for a holiday in the Cairns area. We arrived late and although reception was closed, there was a very convenient phone/lock-box system in place for late arrivals.

The building is visibly quite old but SPECTACULARLY maintained. The room was very clean and had great amenities. My one year old was crawling a lot at the time and we didn't find that his legs or clothes were dirty at all after spending time on the floor. The main bedroom was in the back of the unit which made putting our boys to bed on the pull out sofa very easy. Kitchen was fully stocked with utensils and had a full size fridge. The only thing I can say was even slightly negative about the room was that the bed (king size, yay!) was very hard. However, some people like a hard bed, so I guess that can be a good thing for some guests.

It seemed that there was a grounds maintenance person on site nearly every morning tending to the numerous and beautiful plans and greenery around the resort. I did have a chance to get to the pool with my son. It was extremely cold but to be expected during the winter months. I understand Cairns to be very hot for a majority of the year so heating the pool would really be a waste of money.

The folks (owners?) at reception were outstanding. For starters, in my search for a holiday unit, I was only looking for size and booked the room online without adding my children to the booking. It was an oversight but was discovered when I asked for additional bedding. The owners were gracious about it and not only didn't charge me extra but offered to make up the extra bed for me. They also recommended tours and excursions, as well as nearby shopping and dining. The restaurant across the street from the resort (beach shack??) was phenomenal as well. We did not have a bad meal there and we ate there several times. The nachos were great (and I'm American so I have high nacho standards) and the batter for the fish and chips was delicious! I wish I could have the recipe!

All in all a wonderful stay and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Wow what can I say except thank you for taking the time and effort to post such a great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed our small piece of paradise as much as we do. We would certainly love to have you back to stay whenever you might get a chance to visit Cairns again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We are 2 adults and 1 child aged 11 and we stayed in room 68 which had a large bedroom, separate bathroom and large kitchen, dining area and lounge. We had a balcony overlooking the beach and it was heavenly to go to bed hearing the sound of the sea. There was a large sofa bed in the lounge and we had plenty of room. The owners were very helpful and we booked the billy tea safari trip and reef trip via passions of paradise. Both were excellent. There is a great shop and eatery across from the hotel called strait on the beach as well as some local shops very close by. We had breakfast in our apartment and kept drinks well stocked as even at this time of year it was hot! We walked in both directions on the idyllic beach as well as enjoying the pool and area. Would really recommend this place to stay!!

Room Tip: Book a room with seaview! Absolutely stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words and you also used Tropical Paradise which is so often what I call this resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed both the trips that we recommended as we do try and match the trips to what our guests tell us they want to experience and I think that your son got quiet a lot from the Billy Tea trip. The beach is such a lovely area to enjoy a morning or afternoon walk. We would love to have you stay again if you return to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

As soon as we arrived we were greeted with a smile and a helping hand. Lyn was happy to help us with our day tours and advise us on some great deals and places to see. We stayed on level 3 ( the highest level) with an ocean view and I would suggest that one to anyone. Unit was clean, had plenty of room and large tv. They have a dvd player, dishwasher and washing machine and dryer. No clothes horse though. They rent out new n old dvd for $2 which was great after a big day out out on the reef or in the rainforest. As for the comments below about noise from the airport that was not a problem at all you would hear the odd plane take off but it wasn't a disturbance at all.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Looks like we were just the kind of place you were looking for. Thank you for taking the time to review us. You were very lucky to have one of the two rooms that we have with a dishwasher in them. There should have been a clothes horse in your bedroom wardrobe but we will certainly rectify that for the next lot of guests in that room. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time that you visit Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Australis Cairns Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Australis Cairns Beach Resort

Address: 129 Oleander Street, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Holloways Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Australis Cairns Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location - Cairns Beach Resort is minutes north of Cairns City and next to the beach and warm tropical waters. Indulge in the simplicity of a truly relaxed lifestyle. Our four star resort offers everything to create a home away from home on the beach. The resort’s tropical gardens offer you peace and tranquility to read and relax, or to float in the saltwater resort style pool. Simple pleasures - pure relaxation… think Cairns Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, T4B, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Australis Cairns Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Beach Hotel Holloways Beach
Hotel Cairns Beach
Australis Cairns Beach Resort Cairns Region, Australia - Holloways Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australis Cairns Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.