We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right side up while down under” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Australis Cairns Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Australis Cairns Beach Resort to your Saves list
Australis Cairns Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   129 Oleander Street, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Parksville, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“Right side up while down under”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

As a Canadian who has traveled a lot I have nothing but praise for this vacation property. The Managers are professionals. It shows in their interaction with guests and in the fine management they provide to the owners of the Resort. Australians use the word Resort loosely by American standards and while this property in North America would be three stars it's just about top of the line for Aussies. The units are spacious, clean and comfortable. If Cairns Beach Resort spent even half the dollars they spend on landscaping they'd be able to upgrade the units which are in need of more than just a bit of paint to spruce them up. Request top floor, ocean view. Forget about the restaurant across the street. It's up for sale and the food is marginal. If you're staying here a car would be useful. No, it doesn't have a dishwasher or very much in the way of cutlery or utensils. And the Thai Restaurant that everyone raves about beside the Supermarket is closed. Note: Only the bedroom is Air Conditioned - not the rest of the unit so things get pretty hot for about half the year. But when all is said and done, considering the price you pay it's great value. Oh and the complaint a few posts back about the traffic noise and the jets landing at the International Airport. Ridiculous!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The restaurant across the road has been closed for a couple of years now but the little cafe which is what I think you mean is not and it is only cafe style meals. We do try to offer value for money and it looks as if we have achieved that. We would like to have you stay with us again when you return to Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    62
    13
    1
    12
See reviews for
31
100
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with two friends for 7 nights, was perfect for the 3 of us, very spacious apartment, Lynne & Glen were extremely friendly and helpful, always asked us how our day was. If I go back to cairns I will stay here again

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi Adam, Glen and I are so pleased that you had a great stay with us. The three of you certainly got out and about. We would love to have you all come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springwood, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Thank you to Lyn and Glenn for making us feel welcome and looking after us while there.
We had a great time and the unit was clean and well maintained. Everything you needed for a week away was at your finger tips. We will be back. Natasha & Anthony

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi Natasha and Anthony thanks for the kind words. We do try to provide a relaxed atmosphere and it looks like we provided just that for you both. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and i were welcomed by a lovely lady who was very helpful.
The appartment was very big and spacious. It was very modern and the bedroom was huge, so was the bed! It had everything in it that you could wish for including washing machine. We had a seaview but the weather was not too good so that was not needed. The balcony was a great size and we did sit out when the weather improved. The pool and surrounding gardens were beautiful and the pool had a sunshade over it. There are a couple of shops nearby with an atm machine and a lovely little restaurant accross the road. A very quiet resort peaceful. Its quite a bit out of the way so you will need a car but they have a guests car park, all in all just lovely!

Room Tip: We were on third floor so had good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Looks like you really enjoyed our apartments. Sorry that the weather was not very nice for your stay but it looks as if you had a really great time. The rainy time is the best time to visit the waterfalls and rainforest though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Beautiful staff, gorgeous lush gardens and a clean and comfy appt - what more could you ask for!!

Across the road from the beach and a little café. Some shops down the road enough to get groceries etc.

Best to hire a car to putt around - but all in all I loved it.

Codey

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Codey, Thank you for taking the time to review us we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, Scotland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed recently at the Cairns Beach Resort during an extended one month trip to Australia to visit our family. Having read recent reviews of this resort I must have stayed somewhere different.

Over the last thirty years I have travelled from Scotland to most parts of the world on business and for holidays, during my travels I do not think that I have met people who are more helpful, friendly or pleasant than the managers at this resort.

The apartment we were allocated had lovely views of the garden and pool area but also with an interrupted view to the ocean. The apartment was spotlessly clean and had every amenity you would need to live here comfortably.

During our stay in Holloways Beach we met a number of locals who described their town as Paradise, I could not disagree with them. A fantastic location next to the beach with shops, restaurants and transportation nearby. For us this lovely location and the proximity of nearby Cairns was ideal.

If you want to be in a bustling large seaside resort with every conceivable amenity and entertainment then you can get this ten minutes along the road in Cairns, however if you want peace, tranquillity and very helpful and friendly locals with the option of the other stuff along the road in Cairns then this is the place.

My only complaint was that we had to leave too soon.

Room Tip: Just relax and chill out and forget your problems, this location is how life should be about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
It is always a pleasure to read a review where the guests have enjoyed our small piece of paradise as much as we do. Thank you for the kind words and we would love to have you stay with us again if you make it back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxton, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at this resort April 2013. Is it a 4 star resort???
Management was polite and courteous but unable to resolve the issues.
Apartments DO NOT have dishwashers as advertised. The noise level in the apartment we occupied was very disturbing and advised all apartments the same.
Air traffic noise from 24 hour airport nearby was not what we expected, nor the vehicle traffic noise, or the noise from other apartments and adjacent apartment aircons.
The restaurant listed nearby is now closed, Use Visa/Mastercard and incur a 1 percent charge.
Would we stay there again, well we'll let you be the judge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We appreciate the feed back. In response to a couple of things that you have mentioned. We do not advertise on any of our sites that the apartments have a Dishwasher. We do state that they have washing machines and dryers perhaps you misread this. The apartments that face the road do have a certain amount of traffic noise but the apartments that face in towards our pool area do not usually have problems with the traffic noise from them. It is still the time of year where people run air conditioners during the evening but when the windows are closed tight you can not usually hear them running and a lot of things we can control but we cannot control the air traffic. With regards to the 1% surcharge on credit cards we do charge this as do almost every other business. We do offer eftpos or cash payments so as there is no extra charge. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Australis Cairns Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Australis Cairns Beach Resort

Address: 129 Oleander Street, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Holloways Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Australis Cairns Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location - Cairns Beach Resort is minutes north of Cairns City and next to the beach and warm tropical waters. Indulge in the simplicity of a truly relaxed lifestyle. Our four star resort offers everything to create a home away from home on the beach. The resort’s tropical gardens offer you peace and tranquility to read and relax, or to float in the saltwater resort style pool. Simple pleasures - pure relaxation… think Cairns Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, T4B, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Australis Cairns Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Beach Hotel Holloways Beach
Hotel Cairns Beach
Australis Cairns Beach Resort Cairns Region, Australia - Holloways Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australis Cairns Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.