We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Australis Cairns Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Australis Cairns Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Australis Cairns Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   129 Oleander Street, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Holloways Beach
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“just gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just coming back from our Australia/New Zealand trip.
We want to say thank you to Lynn and Glen for their great
hospitality and the wonderful time we could spend at their
beautiful Cairns Beach resort between the Total Solar
Eclipse Festival in Northern Queensland.
It was for us the perfect place to be.
We hope we can make it back someday in the future.
Thanks and a big hug from Berlin Germany. Axel and Guido

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Owner at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Axel & Guido, Thanks for the magnificent feedback. It is very satisfying for all our staff to know that you had a great stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    51
    10
    1
    11
See reviews for
28
85
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

pay no attention to the online prices because you will end up paying nearly twice the price of what's stated online. you end up paying far to much money to stay in a out-dated so called resort that is situated in a terrible location away from everything you need like food! theres a tiny shop with extremely overpriced canned food and that's it!! It has a beach that looks like wavey mud water that you wouldn't dare swim in. If you go on a tour u will be on the bus half and hour longer then everyone else because they were smart enough to stay in cairns not hellholloways beach! Worst location ever!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Owner at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We are very disappointed that you found our property so unattractive, and that 10 minutes was too far out of town. We have taken great care with our web site to show the property as it is with an extensive image gallery, and the location is clearly shown on Google maps.

We have no record of anyone speaking to staff during their stay about the issues raised, and If you had made your unhappiness known while you were at the Resort we would have been quite happy to refund the unused portion of your stay and to assist you in finding a property in the centre of Cairns.

We take our guest satisfaction very seriously and have Guest Feedback forms in the apartments. We can find no evidence that you took the time to complete this or to discuss your issues at checkout.

Without a specific guest name we cannot comment on your claim about paying twice the price stated on line, as all bookings taken on line are honoured at the prices displayed at the time of booking, and bookings via agents are taken at the agents contracted rates. If you would like to pursue your allegations of not being charged what was advertised please contact us directly.

The very large majority of our guest rate their experience with us very highly, and we remain disappointed that you did not have the same experience or give us the opportunity to address your issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at the Cairns Beach Resort for several days around the time of the solar eclipse of November 2012. It was a hectic time in Holloways Beach, but the staff at the resort kept everything running smoothly and were always available to answer questions, set up tours, etc. Lynne, who seems to manage the front desk, is the most chipper, welcoming person you can imagine and made my stay a joy. Holloways Beach is a low-key, residential community -- not a built-up resort area -- which also made for a relaxing stay. I would definitely recommend this resort. My only reasons for not giving it five stars are the rooms and the pool area. They are perfectly fine, but I wouldn't rank them at the five-star level, which to me suggests luxury. This is a nice and relaxing place to stay, but it is not a five-star resort in terms of amenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide the perfect view for the eclipse. We would love to have you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

excellent accomodation - great clean room, super friendly staff.
holloways beach is a quiet place - a public bus transfer to cairns is just in 1 min walking distance from the hotel as the closest beach front restaurant and the beach itself. The beach is just beatiful, there is a stinger net and a lifeguard on duty and plenty of room. was never crowded when we were here!

the pool in the hotel is great too in the middle of a beatiful garden - feels like paradise entering the inner area of the hotel!

we stayed 3 days after a diving trip to relax and had a great time here! we can recommend everyone to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Wow what can I say to a review like that but thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The staff are really friendly and were only too happy to assist us in our tour bookings. They had been to everything that we wanted to go to, so were able to advise us on the best tours to do. The room was great with a balcony and air con and fans. The advice given on where to go to eat was good and we went to the same place each night. It was just across the road and we were able to look at the ocean whilst eating. We will definately go back and recommend to all our friends.

Room Tip: Have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We will look forward to having you stay with us again and thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great resort opposite beach
Easy access to Cairns /shops/airport
all staff were friendly
Very helpful ,we had problems with one of our pre booked tours and they sorted it out for us.
Room on top floor so no noise from above.

Room Tip: we had a room on top floor ,no noise, great view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are always happy to try and help when you have booked your own tours and they do not work quite the right way. To anyone reading this review just a word of warning Down Under Tours do not come into Holloways beach to pick up but there are plenty of other operators that do. We have a full tour desk and can help you book when you arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Greeted by super friendly staff whom were extremely polite & informative I was explained everything in regards to the runnings of the resort, Cairns tourist attractions, to the local surrounds I even recieved the bus timetable, a map & a few other sheets that gave me the knowledge to know where to dine locally, convenience stores, sporting facilities etc which in itself saved me a LOT of time searching! My room was spotless & clean I had everything I could possibly need & more in my self contained room. I would definately recommend CAIRNS BEACH RESORT to anyone wanting to stay in Cairns that's looking to enjoy sweet serenity a relaxing, peaceful stay as it is perfectly located across the road from Holloways beach & an easy accessible 10-15 minute drive to Cairns CBD. Its always AWESOME when the staff go above & beyond to make Your holiday a pleasant one, the staff @ C.B.R tick all those boxes Thank You :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
All the staff would like to thank you for the kind words. We do try our hardest to make every persons stay at our little piece of paradise a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Australis Cairns Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Australis Cairns Beach Resort

Address: 129 Oleander Street, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Holloways Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Holloways Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Australis Cairns Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location - Cairns Beach Resort is minutes north of Cairns City and next to the beach and warm tropical waters. Indulge in the simplicity of a truly relaxed lifestyle. Our four star resort offers everything to create a home away from home on the beach. The resort’s tropical gardens offer you peace and tranquility to read and relax, or to float in the saltwater resort style pool. Simple pleasures - pure relaxation… think Cairns Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Australis Cairns Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Beach Hotel Holloways Beach
Hotel Cairns Beach
Australis Cairns Beach Resort Cairns Region, Australia - Holloways Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australis Cairns Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.