We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beatiful place to stay and just relax! Just paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Australis Cairns Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Australis Cairns Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A beatiful place to stay and just relax! Just paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

excellent accomodation - great clean room, super friendly staff.
holloways beach is a quiet place - a public bus transfer to cairns is just in 1 min walking distance from the hotel as the closest beach front restaurant and the beach itself. The beach is just beatiful, there is a stinger net and a lifeguard on duty and plenty of room. was never crowded when we were here!

the pool in the hotel is great too in the middle of a beatiful garden - feels like paradise entering the inner area of the hotel!

we stayed 3 days after a diving trip to relax and had a great time here! we can recommend everyone to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Wow what can I say to a review like that but thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    57
    10
    1
    11
See reviews for
29
89
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The staff are really friendly and were only too happy to assist us in our tour bookings. They had been to everything that we wanted to go to, so were able to advise us on the best tours to do. The room was great with a balcony and air con and fans. The advice given on where to go to eat was good and we went to the same place each night. It was just across the road and we were able to look at the ocean whilst eating. We will definately go back and recommend to all our friends.

Room Tip: Have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We will look forward to having you stay with us again and thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great resort opposite beach
Easy access to Cairns /shops/airport
all staff were friendly
Very helpful ,we had problems with one of our pre booked tours and they sorted it out for us.
Room on top floor so no noise from above.

Room Tip: we had a room on top floor ,no noise, great view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are always happy to try and help when you have booked your own tours and they do not work quite the right way. To anyone reading this review just a word of warning Down Under Tours do not come into Holloways beach to pick up but there are plenty of other operators that do. We have a full tour desk and can help you book when you arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Greeted by super friendly staff whom were extremely polite & informative I was explained everything in regards to the runnings of the resort, Cairns tourist attractions, to the local surrounds I even recieved the bus timetable, a map & a few other sheets that gave me the knowledge to know where to dine locally, convenience stores, sporting facilities etc which in itself saved me a LOT of time searching! My room was spotless & clean I had everything I could possibly need & more in my self contained room. I would definately recommend CAIRNS BEACH RESORT to anyone wanting to stay in Cairns that's looking to enjoy sweet serenity a relaxing, peaceful stay as it is perfectly located across the road from Holloways beach & an easy accessible 10-15 minute drive to Cairns CBD. Its always AWESOME when the staff go above & beyond to make Your holiday a pleasant one, the staff @ C.B.R tick all those boxes Thank You :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
All the staff would like to thank you for the kind words. We do try our hardest to make every persons stay at our little piece of paradise a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed a week at the resort. We arrived late (after hours) and Lynne and Glen had left all we needed to get in out for us.
The self contained facilty had everything we needed even a BBQ near the pool. Rooms were spacious and clean with fans and air conditioning. Bed was huge and comfortable.
We overlooked the beach and went to sleep every night with the beautiful sounds of rolling gentle waves. The pool was lovely and a pleasant relief at the end of our day although a little warm...but hey it is the tropics.
We booked all of our tours through the resort, their knowledge was invaluable.
It's a short drive to Cairns CBD but sooo worth it, just to be out of the hustle and bustle and concrete jungle.
Would totally recommend this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We have now erected the shade sails over the pool so that the temperature in the pool is a couple of degrees cooler, but I must admit some of the guests love to have it like a bath. Ha Ha
Thank you for taking the time to give us a rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed two nights at this place. The appartment we got was spaciouse with cooking facilities and washing machine and dryer which was very nice. We had a balcony with seaview. The location is right on a beach outside Cairns. I guess you have to have a car to access the place easily. The staff were friendly and layed back. We got an hour of free internet and then you could pay for the internet but when I asked to use the computer for checking one email they didn't charge me for the couple of minutes this took which was a nice gesture. They also have a pool and BBQ facilities which is nice.

The only downside was that we were three people and the bed sofa was REALLY uncomfortable! It folded out to a good size but the mattress was very thin and you had metal against your back all night. So the only thing they should approve is this actually. The bed in the main bedroom was comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Australis Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for posting a review. We believe that trip advisor is used by so many people booking holidays and we like to thank the guests who take the time to rate us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had booked 2 nights at this resort at the beginning of our road-trip and it was so perfect and relaxing that we added on a third night, and then returned for another night at the end of our road trip. Perfect location, away from the touristy beaches further north, quiet and laid-back, close enough to Cairns to make access easy if we wanted to pop in (rental cars available at hotel for day-trips - easy!) but far enough away to feel totally and completely relaxed at this perfect beach. Great little cafe right on the beach in amongst tropical trees (wonderful to watch the moon rise over the ocean with a glass of wine...!). Good little casual pizza/pasta restaurant on the corner. Fabulous pool set in glorious, lush, tropical, beautifully kept gardens, which our balcony overlooked. Lynn and Glen were very welcoming and extremely knowledgeable and helpful when we wanted to do a tour to the reef - we told them what we wanted, and we wandered over the road to the cafe, and when we returned the tour was all booked, including hotel pickup. No hassle - even though it was for the very next day. They were very accommodating, allowing us a very late checkout the day of our flight. Nothing was a problem. They were wonderful hosts, and we can't recommend this resort highly enough. Just perfect.

Room Tip: When we booked we chose not to pay for the sea view rooms, and were absolutely thrilled that the alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Australis Cairns Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Australis Cairns Beach Resort

Address: 129 Oleander Street, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Holloways Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Australis Cairns Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location - Cairns Beach Resort is minutes north of Cairns City and next to the beach and warm tropical waters. Indulge in the simplicity of a truly relaxed lifestyle. Our four star resort offers everything to create a home away from home on the beach. The resort’s tropical gardens offer you peace and tranquility to read and relax, or to float in the saltwater resort style pool. Simple pleasures - pure relaxation… think Cairns Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Australis Cairns Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Beach Hotel Holloways Beach
Hotel Cairns Beach
Australis Cairns Beach Resort Cairns Region, Australia - Holloways Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australis Cairns Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.