We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Sands Holiday Apartments Cairns

Pacific Sands Holiday Apartments Cairns
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Sands Holiday Apartments Cairns to your Saves list
Pacific Sands Holiday Apartments Cairns
1-19 Poinciana Street, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Shepparton, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Disapointing..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hey All, there was 3 Adults an 1 child staying here for 5 nights and found that there was no service really. The reception hours where poor in my opinion as they didn't open to 9am, but if you’re up there all your tours start then, or earlier. There was terrible lighting going up the stairs (lights where blown/not working), that’s great when you’re got a toddler, and also 1 in the main bedroom. We turned on the toaster and a cockroach came out of it... cockroaches & ants through main bedroom, down hallway and in bathroom. & the drier didn't work very well.
I liked the bbq area/pool. We went down there on a Sunday night to have a bbq, which was great, except we had to take everything back up to hotel room as there was no gas.
When reception wanted us, they sent a e-mail... HEY, we are on holidays... only by chance we got it...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElroyBrown, Manager at Pacific Sands Holiday Apartments Cairns, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hi All,
I have been managing the complex for three weeks when this booking arrived.

Firstly the confirmation letter implied to hand in the voucher as soon as practicable after arrival. This was not done.
Reminder suggested. No response at Room by Pabx phone call was made. As many tourist travel out of mobile range to Green Island or reef/ tablelands an email proved the only successful means at that time.

The BBQ gas cylinder needed the tap turned on at the bottle neck. Otherwise a second BBQ is ready to go is 1 metre away, simply lift the cover and twist the tap on bottle neck.
.
2 Security lighting is very important to me and an electricians quote was already being presented to the Body Corporate. This review will help speed things up for an overhaul.
3
Cockroach baits laid every three months due 1st December, now brought forward by a few weeks. All units reissued new baits early.
Insect spray in units for guests use.
More supplies in the office but not informed . Pest inspector booked for 1st December brought forward. spraying due this week in outer grounds.
4 booked for two adults and two toddlers,no mention of a third adult- .Charges would apply.
5. Office hours in accordance with the rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Although it was 6 years ago when we visited Pacific Sands Holiday Apartments, I have to say they were clean, spacious and modern. They were everything a family of 4 could want. So good that after we'd stayed there and then moved off up north to Dayntree, we came back to the same apartments on our way back down the coast. We're planning a trip back to Oz next year (2013) and will be booking in at Pacific Sands Holiday Apartments.again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

One easy block walk to the beach. One/two easy blocks to Cairns bus and 2 lovely restaurants, one beachfront.. Older units but clean and fresh with a relaxing balcony. Super pool for the kids and bbq. We loved it. Peaceful - you should go.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011 via mobile

These apartments are ideally suited to families who want to stay at a beach location away from the cbd without the frills and pretentious resort style facilities. Holloways Beach is a great location (mainly residential) with all necessary amenities. Pacific Sands compliments that with low key accommodation but all the necessary inclusions.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised upon entering our holiday unit.
I loved the decor and colour scheme and the way the unit was presented.
Most sea side holiday apartments come with florals and cane,
but our unit came with clean line furniture and modern finishings.
NICE!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the updated apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Pacific Sands was like a home for us. the owner was very helpful. I had 2 teenagers and they were really comfortable and happy, which made our stay even more relaxing. rooms are very spacious and well lit. all shops and amenities are just about a 5-10 drive away, so you not far from them but not so close that a holiday gets noisy.

I would definately recomend all to consider these apartments. close to the beach... you can walk, and being inner roads ample fo free walking space. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011 via mobile

It was my first time in Cairns and it was really good.
The manager recommened us some activities to do and they were so good.
The place was nice and clean and the manager was so helpful.
I think I'll stay there again if i go to cairns again.

Overall I had a good time in Cairns

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Sands Holiday Apartments Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Holiday Apartments Cairns

Address: 1-19 Poinciana Street, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Holloways Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Holloways Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pacific Sands Holiday Apartments Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Holiday Apartments Cairns Cairns Region, Australia - Holloways Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Sands Holiday Apartments Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.