We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the quart pot and its food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Quart Pot

The Quart Pot
Runwell Road | Runwell, Wickford, England
01268 578091
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 35 Restaurants in Wickford
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Basildon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“the quart pot and its food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

A local pub with good parking and pleasant atmosphere with no children running around, we went on a Thursday, early evening not full but with plenty of customers mostly choosing to eat. The Quality of the food was good for the money service waas friendly and quick. Not your gastronomy pub but just popular dishes at a fare price. I had the mixed grill and have paid much more in some so called top restaurants for not much better. Would recommend if you are having a casual night out. If your expecting an al a carte menu meal its probably not the place to go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    24
    16
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Pub shame about the rubbish food they serve up”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This Used to be our local a few years ago. Looking at the reviews it seems that something has happened to this place in recent months, as reviews used to be ok. I suggest they sack the chef or should i say cook. The place was busy and i don't know why, perhaps they are returning customers who used to eat there before when the food was edible and have not experience the new cuisine yet. Well your in for a surprise.
We had the Roast. Worse than terrible. Yorkshire pud measured about 3mm in thickness and was undercooked, and they served that up to me. I suggest you buy a packet of frozen aunt bessies if you cant manage to cook a yorkshire. The chicken was dry , yuk! The spoonful of veg was undercooked. How dare there serve this rubbish to me, how dare they charge me. I had free pudding cos i complained. It needed to be free. I had crumble that tasted burnt. A complete waste of money. You have been warned, don't eat the roast until they get a new cook. They need to sort this place out now. Avoid like the plauge .

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wickford
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Call that a roast dinner??!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Four of us went to the Quart pot on the 30th September, three of us ordered roast and one a mixed grill.
The mixed grill arrived looking quite tasty and was acceptable. The roasts however were a joke! There was a soggy, undercooked excuse for a Yorkshire pudding on each plate. It was practically unrecognisable as a Yorkshire pud. If I was the waiter I would have been so embarrassed to present it to anybodys table! We complained and were told that it would be a 10 minute wait for fresh ones or we could have a free desert instead. As we wanted to eat our dinner in one sitting we declined the offer of a fresh, properly cooked one.
The two chicken dinners were dry and tastless, the beef wasn't much better. The vegetables appeared to be of the frozen variety and the measly three potatoes each were edible but not brilliant.
We were so disappointed with this meal. We took them up on the offer of a free desert which wasn't much better.
We would sooner pay double this price and enjoy our meal, there is NO excuse for serving up rubbish like this!
We have eaten at the Quart Pot previously and the food was of a much better standard in the past.
We will not be returning for a meal there and our friends will never be listening to our recommendations for Sunday lunch again. Shame on you Quart Pot!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor and mass produced junk. Brought in and re heated, not fresh no flavour.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I have never wrote a review but feel so let down with what is my local pub. I ordered a fish pie and roast dinner, came to just under £15 wich is not too over priced if it was freshly cooked great food, IT WAS TERRIBLE. I had one prawn in my fish pie and hardly no fish. It was full of ( and not large portion) just mash. I told the waitress and she said they buy it in like that and just heat it up so have no control of contents. Haha that's a joke, I could have just saved money and stay in for microwave meal from tesco, which would have taste better and saved me money. The waitress was very polite and honest and helpful but I ate the pie and regretted every mouthful but I was hungry and after 30mins wait didn't want to then re order. The rpast was re heated, dry and worst my husband ever had. I wouldn't recommend these meals or this in fresh made food. Sorry but let down big time.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Used to be one of our regular haunts for lunch but not any more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This pub used to be run by Ember Inns but not any more. When the new Company took over at first it was ok but then they cut down the menu. Asked for scampi and it came out overcooked so sent it back but the second meal came out identical! Would not go back.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quart Pot also viewed

 

Been to The Quart Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quart Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.