We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous food, beautiful room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Whitewell

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Whitewell
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   near Clitheroe, Whitewell BB7 3AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitewell B&B and Inns
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, beautiful room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at The Inn on Saturday 22September 2012 for our 10th wedding anniversary. Our room was in the coach house and it was so comfortable and romantic with a four poster bed, sofa and 'coal' fire I could have stayed for ever. We even had our own private bit of garden with table and chairs. The bathroom was luxurious with claw bath and huge shower- nice bath products too.
We ate in the dining room but the bar looked so chilled and welcoming we would have been happy to eat there too. Our food was was really good with thought having gone into how to get the best out of good local ingredients- the grouse being a good example of this. Service was knowledgeable and friendly.
After a delicious breakfast we were provided with a map and instructions and set out for a walk through the beautiful countryside surrounding The Inn returning for a drink on the terrace overlooking the river Hodder.
While we were there there was both a wedding and a christening going on but seemed always enough staff on hand to ensure all guests were well looked after.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Choose the Coach House rooms- very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
So kind of you to take the time to write your thoughts, much appreciated, thank you. Glad you liked the coach house I do too. We are just finishing a holiday cottage down there it is lovely. Have a look next time you stay. Regards CB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    91
    36
    19
    8
See reviews for
55
231
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a lovely evening here, fab wine and excellent meal. The staff were all really great which I think makes a massive difference to a place. The only thing that let it down was that the room seemed a little tired round the edges and a bit dusty. I am a bit of a clean freak, but cleanliness is just an essential. The bathroom floor was just a bit grubby. You could feel it if you walked around bare foot and the skirting boards were scuffed and dusty. Saying that we really did have a wonderful evening and would come back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback, glad you had a good stay. Most unusual for us not to be on top of our house work, we will bring that up with the team. thank you again. Regards CB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Fabulous location and after a few visits we have decided to book this as our wedding venue for 2014.... ExcitedI have been reading the reviews on here and I am pleased that so many of them are favourable! Must agree on one point and that is the outdoor seating... It may look nice silvery as you responded but it does stain clothing and I agree investment in new would just make the outdoor experience even more perfect! ...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your review and we have now scrubbed all the outside seating and tables again and will be keeping on top of it, promise. Regards CB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our wedding reception was held at the Inn at Whitewell on Saturday 8th September and it was amazing!
We arrived with a few friends and family on the Friday and ate/drank in the bar which was really lovely. We managed to get a corner of the bar where we were all sat and it felt very cosy - especially as the weather was quite grey outside. Most of the group ordered food from the bar menu and all gave excellent feedback.
We didnt stay up too late as we were too excited to get to our bedrooms which were fantastic! I had room 6 which was a suite with a huge bed and a gorgeous separate living area. The views over the river and fields were really lovely. I tried to get round all my guests bedrooms and each one got better and better. The bathrooms especially! Rooms 12, 20, 15, 6 and 5 were our favourites but they are all lovely.
Breakfast on Saturday was gorgeous! A really good start to the day although we ate the place out of toast! Thats because the homemade jam and marmalade on the table was too good to stop eating!
From start to finish the wedding was amazing. I cannot thank the staff enough, with huge thanks to Emma the wedding coordinator who was just brilliant from the moment we met her until we left on the Sunday she really made sure everything was how we wanted it. Most of my guests commented on how great the staff were and me and my husband definitely agree with that.
The food served to us at the wedding was out of this world! The canapes, wedding breakfast and evening food were of the highest standard and again all guests mentioned this.

From a wedding point of view I cant express how well the whole day went. The room was set exactly how I imagined. The food and drinks were all served and cleared very quickly and when Emma told me they were about to start breaking tables down for the evening I was worried about the mess and commotion this may cause however before I realised they had even started it was all done! True professionals.

We all also really liked the fact that tea and coffee was ordered with reception while you are in your room - much better than T/C facilities. Hot drinks were delivered very quickly and there was no limit on the amount of times you could order. Really nice touch.

Again breakfast on the Sunday was great then a few of us went down to the stepping stones and it was a really great way to end our weekend. The Inn is in a beatiful location and we didnt want to leave to go back to noisy city!

Thank you to the whole team at IAW for making our weekend so good! We cant wait to come back. All 110 of our guests hold very fond memories of your wonderful venue and I think they will all return too!

Room Tip: Choose riverside for the amazing views. Room 6 was brilliant for a wedding as we had lots of space b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Now that is a review and a half, thank you so much. I hope we see you and yours again before too long. regards cb.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Ever since our daughter held her wedding reception here in 2009 we have become regulars for lunch on special and not so special occasions.
The food is great and my personal favourite....the roast beef sandwich with a side portion of chips is outstanding.The service is excellent and just to sit on the terrace overlooking the Hodder with coffee and a home made scone is just perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I love the beef too and have it nearly every lunch time with our pickled beetroot, I'm in a rut but a good one! Hope we see you again soon. Regards CB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Inn at Whitewell is a little gem, it feels truly hidden away and steeped in history. We have visited many places in the UK, but the Inn has something special to offer. It feel like a secret place in the depth of the Bowland valley, surrounded by rolling hills and peaceful farmland. There is a little church which is adjacent to the Inn is quaint and certainly adds to the history of this place which dates back to the 1300's. The Service is excellent and always with a smile, nothing is too much trouble. They offer a full Gluten free menu (well done!) which shows they move with the times and offered us a choice of walks to peruse after we finished lunch. Lunch was stunning, fresh, tasty and just enough to see us off on a walk. When I asked to see some of the rooms, a lovely lady happily showed us round 8 bedrooms which were charming and individual, the rooms and the staff exceeded our expectations. The one thing that sets this place apart from similar venues is it's comfortable, even though the interior is beautiful and superbly furnished, this is a place to relax and feel at home

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
So glad you enjoyed having a look around and thank you for your review. I very much hope you come and see us again soon. Regards CB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have just held my son's wedding reception at the Inn at Whitewell and what a wonderful experience it was! Emma, who is the Wedding Organiser was so friendly and approachable, yet thoroughly professional at the same time. We were so lucky to be able to have our pre-dinner drinks on the terrace in the sunshine overlooking the wonderful views of the hills. When it came to the wedding dinner the food was lovely and the service discreet and efficient. The wine, though the cheapest, was excellent. All our bedrooms were individual and comfy with lovely quirky touches. My son and my daughter in law said the day exceeded their wildest dreams and they would remember it for the rest of their lives.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Lovely, thank you for your thoughts, so glad you daughter and son-in-law had a great day, one of the few days of summer when the sun shone. Regards CB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Whitewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Whitewell

Address: near Clitheroe, Whitewell BB7 3AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Whitewell
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Inn at Whitewell 5*
Also Known As:
Inn At Whitewell Hotel Whitewell
Inn Whitewell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Whitewell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn at Whitewell to your Saves list