We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gabrielskloof

Gabrielskloof
Bot River, South Africa
27 (0)28 284 9865
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Bot River
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Beautiful family friendly wine farm in the Overberg! Great views, Great food and Great people
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had not heard of Gabrielskloof Winery before being invited for Sunday lunch with friends. From the first welcome in the wine tasting venue, to the final farewell from the exceptionally friendly staff, we had a memorable experience! The wine tasting was conducted professionally and generously which led us to purchase good wines to bring home. The restaurant is light and airy with a restful ambience, yet at the same time there was a delightful buzz from happy diners all enjoying well presented, excellent food. We were surprised at the generous helpings we were served. The staff, at all times, looked after us and kept smiling even though it must have been challenging to cope with a full complement of diners. We were a big table of 26, yet we were well looked after. We will definitely return and also recommend it unreservedly to our friends and family.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    16
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had heard about this restaurant, so when driving from Cape Town to Swellendam, we decided to stop in Botriver to try this restaurant. First, when driving on the N2 towards Caledon, ignore the turn-off for Botrivier as the restaurant is a further 4 km along on the N2 after the Botrivier turn-off!!!
I almost gave up going there, but thank heavens we persisted. What a pleasant surprise when we got there, a lovely setting with friendly staff and great food/wine! The starters are excellent, the desserts looked great, but unfortunately we were so full after our starters and main that we simply could not fit a pudding in as well!
Well worth stopping for, really recommend you try this restaurant when driving through!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bures. UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We grumbled a bit that this was a long way from Pringle Bay when it was to be our last meal on this visit to SA. However it was well worth the drive. We shared starters of Greek salad and deep fried squid on a salad. This was followed by two sirloin steaks with a superb sauce and two of what might be described as a tagine of aubergines, tomatoes and onions. Both were delicious. Attentive and helpful staff and the owner was on hand and pleased to meet new diners.




We never fail to be amazed at the quality of the restaurants in SA. In ten visits we have only had ha;f a dozen poor meals

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, stylish buildings,excellent wine, great food and warm service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had lunch at Gabrieskloof in late December - what a great experience. A friend had recommended that this would be a great lunch stop between Cape Town and Arniston but we could not have expected such a wonderful location and enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Superbe - perfect mix of service and quality food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The journey to Knysna from Cape Town is marred simply by the lack of decent places to stop, so now we have discovered Gabrielskloof - a vineyard with a fabulous restaurant, surrounded by almost Tuscanesque rolling hills just over 1 hour outside CT. It is open for Breakfast, Brunch and Lunch (as well as extensive tastings of their wines and olive oil if you are in the area) and is a real gem of a find.

Unpretentious in it's overall look, this place really does seem to have got it right. The service was spot on, the menu extensive with an excellent choice of both breakfast and lunch options including a kids menu and fantasitic Illy coffee..... at last!!!!! The children can run around without any worry of them going awol and the views are far reaching and very relaxing - just a stone's throw from the N2.

Will definitely be back either on a Hermanus trip or on the long trip to Knysna.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabrielskloof also viewed

Bot River, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Gabrielskloof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gabrielskloof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.