We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Oktoberfest Go-To” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Olymp Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Olymp Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Olymp Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wielandstrasse 3, 85386 Eching, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eching
Davenport, IA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“My Oktoberfest Go-To”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I attended Oktoberfest in both 2011 and 2012. This is my go-to property for the festival, believe it or not. I admit that the hotel is pretty far from the center of Munich; however, I don’t mind the train ride. Also, Eching is calm and quiet at night. When staying near the Oktoberfest grounds, there is no surprise that there is a significant amount of noise.

The rooms are a comfortable size, and the amenities on-property are good for my friends and me. There is a small fitness room, an onsite restaurant with excellent cuisine and a bar staff that goes above and beyond. The hotel is about 15 minutes away from the train stop on foot; less via the city bus. There are a number of small restaurants and shops which are less than 10 minutes away on foot, including a convenience store just around the corner.

All-in-all I have enjoyed both of my stays at this property. Whenever possible I plan to continue using the Golden Tulip Hotel Olymp when in the Munich area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    85
    25
    2
    8
See reviews for
37
66
9
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Fair price, quality rooms/appts, good connection, above the average dining
For this price you'll get a very decent room with with separate bedroom, living room, writing desk, etc. Perfect place for a business trip stop, later we used for family vacation stopover as well. The breakfast is real quality (**** hotel class) dining.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Near the airport and easy to find late at night when driving a rental car. Free parking in the underground garage.

Room was large, with three rooms: bedroom, bathroom, 2nd bedroom/living room. I slept on the sofa bed in the living room, which was a bit uncomfortable because of the metal and had only half a cover (I never get why a hotel would give a blanket that doesn't cover the whole bed). I slept so so, also because in the morning outside light came in and some car noise.

Breakfast was very good. Enjoyed the selection of tasty food.

All in all, decent for a quick one night stay after a late flight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with two families, both with a three-bed room, one with an additional baby-bed.

Parking is free behind the hotel, we arrived late but still had no problems finding two parking stalls.

The young woman at check-in was pleasant and we found our rooms easily. Our room had a small hallway with a closet, to the left was the big, modern bathroom and an additional room with the toilet. This small hallway was nice because we could put the baby-bed there - and therefore had the baby sleep in a separate room ;-)
The main room had a lot of space despite the three beds (yes, no double-bed, only three singles!) and two desks (one with a mini-bar, one with the TV on top). English-speaking channels, free and good Wi-Fi. It was quiet, and we slept very well.

This was the cleanest hotel of our whole three-week trip, by the way! It was immaculate.

The only negative about the room was the hot-water boiler in the bathroom. It shut on when you turned the faucet all the way to the left, and a few seconds later it came out burning hot, but as soon as you turned it back towards the middle, it shut off and you got cold water again. It took me many tries until I kind of figured out how to keep it warm.

We did not check out the fitness and wellness areas, in case you are wondering.

We had a small meal the first evening, and it took a looong time until our food arrived although mainly appetizers. The waiters were rude.

The next morning, though, at breakfast, the same waiters appeared to be much friendlier - not the most outstandingly warm people, but kinder than the evening before. That brings me to the next subject, the breakfast.
The best breakfast buffet of our whole trip! Fantastic! They had pretty much everything you could wish for, even warm food like scrambled eggs, bacon, small crepes, and sausage links. And the best: a fully automated Espresso-machine where you could get your own coffee-drink (Latte Macchiatos, Lattes, Espressos etc.), despite having thermos with strong coffee on every table.

The second evening we asked for restaurant recommendations in the area. The lady at the front desk was very helpful and we ended up in an Italian restaurant, five minutes walking distance from the Golden Tulip. There are two Pizzerias, which are both equally recommended by the staff, both are in the same street. If you follow the directions, it is the first one that you come up on. I don't remember the name. The food was DELICIOUS!

To come to an end; we enjoyed our short stay at this hotel - thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed at the Olymp hotel on a business trip and the room was very average, but also very clean and newly decorated (allthough the wooden look is not my thing). I liked the good breakfast buffet which had a lot to choose from and also the service from staff in this hotel was very German, meaning very friendly and helpful. Wifi was free of charge and it is only a short ride to the Eching Commercial District and only 15 min to Munchen Airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We only got one night to stay at the Golden Tulip Hotel Olymp. We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Munich Airport (about 10 minutes away). It ended up being an excellent choice.

It has a Greek theme going on it, which we weren't expecting. The room numbering is a bit confusing as all rooms, no matter what floor it is on, start with a 1. The room itself and the hotel are both quite clean and comfortable. There is also a decent amount of parking in the rear of the hotel.

We also enjoyed the free Wi-Fi that was available in the room, unlike many hotels we saw in Germany. There is also a restaurant located directly in the hotel, which can be convenient, but it isn't a place we dined at for dinner. We did eat there though for the complimentary included breakfast and they offer a TON of food, which was nice.

The one negative we found was when checking in, the front desk clerk wasn't very friendly. It seemed like we were a burden to him and he'd rather be elsewhere. He was itching for us to just leave instead of giving us friendly answers to our questions such as "Where is our room located?", "Where should we park the car?", "Any suggestions for dinner within walking distance?". However, that was the only negative we found and we believe this is a good place to stay for a night before heading to the Munich Airport and flying home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a visit no 8 for me to this horel. I use this hotel always on my last few days in Munchen. The hotel is 10 minutes with my rented car from the air port. THere is a train station very near to the hotel, and I can visit the town center in half an hour with no need for parking. The rooms are very very good, and the breakfast is exelent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Olymp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Olymp Hotel

Address: Wielandstrasse 3, 85386 Eching, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Eching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Olymp Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden Tulip Olymp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Munich
Munich Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Olymp Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.