We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine hotel with excellent conference facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Monarch Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Monarch Hotel to your Saves list
The Monarch Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaiser-Augustus-Strasse 36, 93333 Bad Goegging, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bad Goegging
Neuss, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A fine hotel with excellent conference facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed here in February for a conference. The hotel staff were very friendly and the facilites excellent. My room was well appointed and most comfortable. The food was very good (buffet) taking into consideration the numbers being catered for.
I can recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure - the leisure facilities are also very good although I had little time to enjoy them.

Room Tip: I can imagine that when travelling privately one would not want to visit when a large conference is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    38
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
27
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is truly an excellent hotel - staff, rooms, food -everything about this hotel is outstanding. It is also a great place to relax. Quiet and lot of places to go walking, but at the same time there is easy access to get to bigger ciites. This hotel is now on my list for future visits.

Room Tip: Rooms are big with good sleeping beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I discovered this hotel by mistake - when my flight got cancelled and Lufthansa booked me in here. And was quite impressed: apart from the fact that the hotel is far away from the Munich airport, the hotel experience was very good, with enjoyable meals (buffee). The room was very big, we even had a sofa, a big desk and plenty of room around the double bed. The bathroom was also nice and clean, pretty big - and utilated appropriately.
I particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffee, where I could find pretty much everything one could wish for at breakfast time - and also the kindness of the service staff was noticeable.
Good value for the money; the hotel is accessible by car, wouldn't recommend relying on public transportation (if any).

Room Tip: choose a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I stayed for a week at The Monarch while attending a conference. The bedroom was very comfortable, even if the furniture was a little dated, and many of the rooms have balconies. There is a flat screen television in each room and there is also a desk, and a spacious area with a couch and coffee table which I found to be a good area to do work in.

While I enjoyed my stay here overall, there were a few things that could have been improved. The single room I stayed in had a shower but no bath. I also found the pillow on the bed to be extremely uncomfortable and flat, and when I went to reception to ask for a second pillow, they told me that they had none spare! WIFI internet access was also very expensive. It was about €20 for ten hours of access, or about €35 for unlimited access for 30 days. I thought there should have been a better deal on internet access for conference attendees at least! And although there is one computer in the hotel lobby that has free internet access, it is often busy! Finally, the rooms keys are big and bulky - perhaps swipe card room keys would be better!

The food in the restaurant (served as a buffet) was very nice though, especially the delicious mousses for dessert! The spa area was also great, with an outdoor pool as well as an indoor pool with bubbles and massage jets.

While Bad Gogging is a very quiet place, there are many walking/running/cycling trails surrounding the village, and the countryside in the area is very pretty! The Monarch is also situated right next door to the "Limes-Thermes" Roman baths, which seem to be worth a visit!

I would recommend The Monarch hotel as a conference destination or as somewhere to use as a base for exploring the surrounding area. The hotel is comfortable, the staff are excellent and the food is delicious!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are on the same floor as the conference centre and restaurants, which is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gioia del Colle, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I have been in Monarch in January 2012. the Hotel is really big, probably too much. You can get lost in rstaurants that are also corridors to get to the rooms. Rooms have really strange forniture. a little bit old, but also not beautiful. Internet is not included, you need to pay additional service for that. Bathroom is a little bit little, towels and soap are not enough.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munchen
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

The hotel is really big and is not the latest state-of-the-art design hotel, but rather a bit the style of the eightees (outdated). Nevertheless this hotel offers you full comfort, is very well maintained, excellent service and very friendly staff.
We got an upgrade on the executive floor and got a really spacious room with sitting corner, balcony, storage room etc. The food is good and the price of the drinks are okay as well. The pool inside and outside are really nice with plenty of chairs. The sauna and steambath are too small compared to the available space this hotel is having. Since not so much people were using these facilities it wasn't a big problem. All by all we had a very good time in and outside the hotel. A more spacious sauna erea and nicer bar would be worth a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011 via mobile

Expensive hotel in a remote location with nothing to offer!! Horrible food!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMonarchHotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Dear guest,


it was a pleasure for us having you here at „The Monarch Hotel“. Thank you very much for taking your time to write us about the things you did not like while visiting our house. We are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with our service and apologize for the inconvenience caused. Your criticism is appreciated, because dialogues with our guests help us to optimize our standards.

To our regret you did not enjoy our evening buffet, most oft our guests praise the variety of food, we are very sorry that we did not meet your personal expectations.

We would be happy to see you again one day as a guest at “The Monarch Hotel” and promise to do the utmost to make your stay a most comfortable one.

Best regards
The Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bad Goegging hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monarch Hotel

Address: Kaiser-Augustus-Strasse 36, 93333 Bad Goegging, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Bad Goegging
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bad Goegging
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Monarch Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monarch Hotel is conveniently situated in central Bavaria within easy reach of Munich, Regensburg and Ingolstadt. The International Munich Airport is only 45 minutes away. The hotel offers 310 comfortable rooms and suites, different restaurants, a hotelbar, a recreation- and wellness area with thermal indoor- and outdoor pool, sauna, steam bath and an infrared cabin. The state of the art Convention Center offers a space of 2500 sqm for conferences and events. All rooms provide modern technical equipment and air condition.WLAN high-speed internet connection is available throughout the hotel (fees apply).Garage parking is offered at a surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Monarch Hotel Germany/Bad Goegging

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Monarch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.