We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in magnificent countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ludinmuhle

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ludinmuhle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ludinmuhle
Brettental 31, 79348 Freiamt, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Freiamt
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A real gem in magnificent countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This is an absolutely delightful hotel, magnificently situated. I have stayed on a number of occasions over the past 6 years as it is a convenient stopover between the UK and my home in Switzerland. during that time, there have been constant upgrades and improvements from the dedicated management. The service is charming and the food outstanding value. The rooms range from small and dull ones overlooking the car park to huge ones simply decorated, with views down the valley. There are indoor and outdoor pools and a well equipped wellness. My only "disappointment" is that the wifi is poor at best. Since there is no 3G reception in the valley, this really needs to be upgraded.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great rooms, great pools and saunas, wonderful service and excellent food - what more would anyone want? We've stayed here twice now (2 adults and 2 teenage children) - always paid for by parents inviting the family for a reunion - and always enjoyed our stay. Mind you, prices are steep - but I would still consider what's on offer being 'value for money'. As other reviewers have observed, the Ludinmuehle offers what must be the world's best breakfast buffet - worth an overnight stay itself if you can turn it into a brunch-like experience. We'll return for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We can just fully agree with the comments here: A wonderful spa hotel that is perfect for a couple or family retreat. Highlight is certainly the location, the impeccably maintained amenities (we loved the outdoor pool), the super-friendly staff, and the great breakfast-buffet. While not cheap, it is very well worth the money, and we loved the many little extras you get - from the chocolate on the pillow, to the free cake or vitamin drink at the pool. Only note: Do not expect a hip and modern environment, the atmosphere is appropriately rural and traditional, the audience tends to be older. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: A room in the "spa wing" seems to be most reccommendable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

My friend and I decided to treat ourselves to an overnight stay at this lovely hotel in the Black Forest. I would highly recommend it. The location is beautiful and the service, facility and especially the food exceeded our expectations. My friend and I each had a massage and she had a facial treatment. The spa services are reasonably priced. Most of the staff speak a little English although we were the only non-German speaking guests. This would be an excellent stopover for anyone touring through this part of Germany or wanting to stay for a longer holiday. Make sure to take a hike though the nearby countryside if you have time...the views are spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ludinmuhle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ludinmuhle

Address: Brettental 31, 79348 Freiamt, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiamt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Freiamt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Ludinmuhle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ludinmuhle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.