We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star Inn is clean & functional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord to your Saves list
Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rathausplatz 8, 85716 Unterschleissheim, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Mercure Hotel Muenchen Unterschleissheim)   |  
Hotel amenities
Borough London
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Star Inn is clean & functional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at the Star Inn as it is only about 5 km from the Allianz Arena as I was attending a Champions League game and is only about 100m from Unterschleissheim S-bahn so, really convenient for Munich Airport.

The hotel is very clean with large rooms in comparison to most hotels in this category. The continental breakfast was perfectly decent. Conveniently there are a number of bars and shops surrounding the hotel.

In summary if your looking for a purely functional hotel for under €100 per night, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
9
2
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I rarely stay in small hotels so my opinion may be a bit too harsh.

Hotel is decently located if you like to commute to the Center of Munich - next to S-Bahn station. Because of this it has some drawbacks too. Those who are having shallow sleep, they will be unrested next day if they were accommodated in a room faced to the S-Bahn tracks.

Staff does not even pretend that are being kind. There is no courtesy, you are being asked offhand about payment upfront. You won't be even asked whether you would prefer non-smoking room, you will get what is available. It was a bit shocking to me... I thought this may happen a middle of nowhere but not in Central Europe...

Rooms are very modest and cramped, however very clean and warm. That is not always obvious in small hotels like this one. Equipment was limited to old fashioned TV with only German channels and a small fridge. There wasn't even a clock or a radio available. Lighting was dim (to dark to read for me) even when one use a small lamp above bed.

I was positively surprised by a buffet breakfast. Everybody can find something good to eat. Everything looked and tasted fresh and appetizing.

Price/Value ratio was not very good, next time I will look for another stay in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Unterschleissheim hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Not a lot to shout about but good sized rooms, good continental breakfast and located close to EADS Cassidian so no taxi required and close to the S Bahn for Munich city.

Front desk rather offhand and I was asked to pay for everything at check in.
WiFi is an extra cost.
I have tried 3 hotels now in the area and prefer the Victor and the Alarun to the Star.

Room Tip: First floor walkable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I use this hotel whenever I go on business to Unterschleißheim as I can walk to our office and the hotel is very close to the station with a direct line to Munich Airport, about 15mins, its much better than driving or taking a taxi. The hotel only 'does' bed and breakfast, but that is not a problem as next door is a very good place to eat - greek. It can be hot in the summer (no air con) and noisy as the rooms at the front overlook two bars, but the rooms are of a high standard.

Room Tip: You have a choice of noise - railway at the back bars at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I spent four nights at the Star Inn during a conference nearby.
Things I liked about the hotel:

It was adjacent the station in Unterschleissheim which is on the S-bahn route from the airport. This made it easy to get to and to depart.
Though next to the station, the trains were not noisy (my room faced away from the tracks). I heard the train whir in and whir out only because I kept my window open. More distracting were loud voices when people left the bar across the plaza, but that was random and only because my window was open.
The price seemed good for that area.
My room was clean.
The staff were friendly and helpful
The breakfast buffet (an extra 11 euro each day) was good. It included a variety of fresh breads and a few pastries, muesli, sliced and whole fruit, a variety of cheese, a variety of cold meat, hard boiled eggs, one hot dish, a variety of coffees (from an espresso/capuccino machine, a variety of teas, a variety of jams and yogurts, as well as milk and cold cereals.

Things I didn't like.
My room was small, though it had a basic bed, bath/shower, desk, flat-screen tv with CNN in English.
The bath/shower was a small, curved tub that was uniquely high. It made getting in tricky and getting out dangerous. It was a big step down and the curved, wet tub could be slippery.
The gym had only 1 treadmill, 1 bike, and 1 elliptical. No weights or other equipment.
Wireless Internet cost another 8 euro per day.
The spartan room had no clock or radio.
The room had minimal lighting.

Room Tip: I don't know if it is noisy on the train track side. But to be safe, you probably are better of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The hotel is nice. Is clean, has a good breakfast and stuff is helpful. The calefaction was too high and I had to undress when I arrived to the room.
The equipment of the room was correct but really basic without any nice detail like a notebook and better if you bring your own soap cause I´m quite sure the one in the toilet was dishwasher.

Anyway, the cleaning was the best thing. It´s anice hotel for spending a couple of nights but maybe not the best choice for a week stance like I was. The neiborhood is dead after 7 pm so better if you bring with you something to entertein yourselve. There is no possibility of having dinner in the hotel and there wewrn´t too many restaurants in the neiborhood. There is a supermarket really close but since you have nothing to cook is not really useful.

No free internet. Even when you pay for it, it doesn´t work really good. I have to flight to Munich quite offen but I prefer to stay in a hotel in the city instead of here in Unterschleißheim.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

The hotel was nice and clean. I've stayed there twice, while on a business trip. Breakfast was very good. Location was very convenient for the purpose of my trip, though it was right next to rail and therefore if you get the room with window overlooking the rail, you won't get much sleep at night. I was also given a smoking room though I asked for a non-smoking one as they said the were no other rooms available at this time. So make sure you contact them in advance about this. Since my room was stinking with cigarettes and overlooking rail I could open the window to get some air but then the noise from passing trains was unbearable.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord

Address: Rathausplatz 8, 85716 Unterschleissheim, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Mercure Hotel Muenchen Unterschleissheim)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Unterschleissheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Unterschleissh...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome!!!The Star Inn Hotel is located on a peaceful site halfway between the Munich city center and the airport. Only 200 m away by foot is the S Bahn Line S1, which takes you comfortably and stress-free into the city (20 km) and to the airport (15 km). This favorable transit location is also the perfect starting point from which to visit the many attractions in and around Munich: The Flugwerft Air Museum, Oberschleissheim Palace, the Olympic Rowing Regatta, and the shooting sports facility. The comfortable leisure area of our hotel, with its sauna and fitness-room, is also available at no extra charge, as are the hotel parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.