We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but too expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Munchen Unterschleissheim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dolce Munchen Unterschleissheim to your Saves list
Dolce Munchen Unterschleissheim
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Andreas-Danzer-Weg 1, 85716 Unterschleissheim, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stay there for business trips and if I had to pay and not the company, I would stay in a hotel which deserves this costs. The rooms are good and the food is good standard, but the Hotel is outside Munich and the Munich city is without own car difficuld or expensive.

Room Tip: Choose any, there are all the same and there is no good viev
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    118
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
47
19
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Spent some days here on a course - good meeting rooms, restaurant and bar. IT works well and good location with respect to airport. Bedrooms are large and comfortable. One issue are the corridors which are a little featureless and dull!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolce_Munich, General Manager at Dolce Munchen Unterschleissheim, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for being our guest and thank you for taking the time to review Dolce Munich Unterschleissheim on Tripadvisor.com. I am delighted to read that you liked the facilities and enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your remark on the corridors.

With pleasure I passed your comment on to the team and we are looking forward to welcome you back in Dolce Munich Unterschleissheim soon.

Kind Regards,
Erik van den Bergh, General Manager Dolce Munich Unterschleissheim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel itself is a bit out of the way of munich, so this is probably the biggest downside of the hotel. Checking in I was impressed with how clean and efficient it all was. Room is spacious with a nice desk, a cool (see-trough) bathroom, kingsize comfy bed. The Ipod/Iphone radio in the room was a nice extra :). The internet is fast and free of charge and you have good connection in the hotel. The people that work here are very friendly and the hotel restaurant is of good quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night on Wed 7th May with a group.

Upon arriving at the Dolce you are greeted by a nice looking piece of architecture which promises a stay in a cool modern hotel.

The lobby area lives up to expectations and the staff are smartly dressed and efficient in processing your check in request. A modern bank of elevators quickly whisked us up to our rooms on various floors.

On first impression the rooms are modern and funky. There was a good view from the room on the 5th floor and the room was well appointed with a very large TV, King size bed, that looked like it could split into to large singles and nice desk and luggage set down areas. Room was very clean and the free wifi was good although limited by time and data.

The bathroom area was very cool with a glass 'see through' into the bedroom and a separate toilet and large shower.

The breakfast was served in a large modern restaurant area on the ground floor with a good selection but little in the way of a cooked full English style.

Checkout was fast and efficient and the hotel has extensive meeting room facilities on the first floor, or mezanine level which would suit both small and large groups.

Only issue with this hotel is possibly the location in relation to both the Airport and to the Munich centre city. A taxi ride from Munich cost some 50 Euro and took around 30 mins. It appears that the hotel would be around 20 mins from the Munich International airport also.

Recommended if you want to spend a few days in the area, especially if you have own transport such as a rental car and would like to spend a little more time hanging out in your room or the hotel facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolce_Munich, General Manager at Dolce Munchen Unterschleissheim, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

the “funky place” says thank you! It is great to read that you had such a good stay in our hotel. With pleasure I passed your feedback on to the staff and everybody was overwhelmed with your comments.

It was much appreciated that you liked the modern style of the hotel, the “cool” rooms, the meeting area and the efficiency of the team.

I hope that we all have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon and maybe for a bit longer to enjoy our wonderful wellness area.

Kind Regards,
Erik van den Bergh, General Manager Dolce Munich Unterschleissheim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is an excellent choice if you need a hotel near Munich Airport.This hotel is only about 15 minutes away by cab/car and offers great value at less than Euro150 per night - including breakfast.

I arrived at the same time as a large group(20 guests) checking into their rooms, but my check in was quick and efficient.

Rooms are clean and well appointed. I particularly liked the safe in the room which was ergonomic and built into a drawer of the writing desk. Unlike other German hotels, the Dolce offers free bottled water to guests in the rooms. Free water is offered in the lobby throughout the day, and there is a complimentary coffee machine in the lobby in the morning.

The complimentary breakfast offered plenty of choice. There was no one at the front of the breakfast hall "guarding" the breakfast buffet. Breakfast is part of the package for all guests at the hotel. As a result, there was never any queue getting into the breakfast hall.

I particularly enjoyed the spa at the hotel. There were 2 saunas and a steam room for one to 'sweat it out' after a day of meetings.

The location of the hotel is 5 minutes walk away from a range of shops, restaurants and a Mcdonalds. Just take a right turn as you leave the hotel. This is worth checking out if you are looking for a change outside of the usual room service menu of business hotels.

Perhaps the only thing that I would improve is to put a free weight set into the gym in the basement. There were 2 treadmills, an exercise bike, an elliptical, and 2-3 weight machines.

If you have found this review to be helpful, please indicate. Thanks for reading.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolce_Munich, General Manager at Dolce Munchen Unterschleissheim, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for the wonderful description of our hotel! I have shared your feedback with the team. We are very happy that you have had an overall comfortable stay with us and that you have enjoyed the Wellness Area, the Fitness and the room. The pictures are great, especially the view over the BallhausForum.

Thanks for the suggestion regarding the free weight set in the gym.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards
Erik van den Bergh, General Manager Dolce Munich Unterschleissheim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed here for a business meeting. We had previously stayed at a different Dolce hotel and that experience had been good. This hotel met that same level. The main "complaint" is the location. The area around the hotel was really boring.but we were here for meetings and that all worked out well.
The rooms were very clean and modern. All good. The bar and restaurants of the hotel were also very pleasant. Breakfast was great offering a wide selection.
Our main problem was with the wifi. It looked as if the large group we were with had too many people using the Internet and as a result nothing worked. During our whole stay they could not get that resolved. We also did not get the impression that they had a big urgency to solve this. Especially for a hotel that will see many business meetings this should be better.
But other than this the hotel was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolce_Munich, General Manager at Dolce Munchen Unterschleissheim, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read that you had an overall pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. I would like to apologize for the Internet Problems during your stay. We have updated our W-Lan Infrastructure and on your next stay with us there will be no more difficulties connecting to the WiFi.

I look forward to see you again.

Kind Regards
Erik van den Bergh, General Manager Dolce Munich Unterschleissheim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Dolce Hotel is set up for business conferences. The S-Bahn from downtown Munich takes you to Unterschleissheim station in 20-30 minutes, where you can then catch a bus (5 minutes) that will drop you directly in front of the Dolce Hotel. Otherwise a car is essential or a very expensive taxi ride. Taxi fare from the Munich airport is approx. EUR 40. The hotel is not recommended for a sightseeing trip to Munich....it is simply not convenient for that purpose.

The hotel itself is fine - modern, clean and with everything you might need (except a fridge in the bedroom). There is a decent bar and a couple of restaurants and breakfast was pretty good (quality and variety). The bedrooms are modern, new and spacious enough.

My major complaint is about the staff. They are young, poorly trained and poorly supervised and, frankly, were not responsive to the guests' needs - taxis were ordered but not properly allocated on arrival - the wifi functioned really poorly and there was little attempt to resolve guests' requests to rectify the problem. There is a business centre which I attempted to use but the guy was most unhelpful, was too busy doing something else (no idea what!) and forgot to give me the password/access code (which I think is pretty fundamental).

Decent facilities, geared to business conferences, but needs to improve its service and responsiveness to guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolce Munchen Unterschleissheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Munchen Unterschleissheim

Address: Andreas-Danzer-Weg 1, 85716 Unterschleissheim, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Unterschleissheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Unterschleissh...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Munchen Unterschleissheim 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dolce Munchen Unterschleissheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Munchen Unterschleissheim Hotel Unterschleissheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce Munchen Unterschleissheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.