We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, nice grounds and horrible wine studio” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Schloss Johannisberg

Schloss Johannisberg
Schlossallee, 65366 Geisenheim, Hesse, Germany
+49 (0) 6722-7009-0
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 attractions in Geisenheim
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing view, nice grounds and horrible wine studio”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I wish that I could rate the Restaurant, location and wine studio individually as separately they were all very different experiences. The short version is that the staff at the wine studio were cold, snobby and unhelpful, the restaurant has amazing view, good food, average value and staff. The location itself is 100% worth the visit.

The break down.

A)The wine Studio. I have never felt so unwelcome as a customer. Usual wine studios are an opportunity to show case the wine. They’re staffed by people who love wine, love sharing that experience with others and take pride in exhibiting the nuances of their product. Not here! We made a very special effort to fit this wine studio in our tour of the Rheingau and it cost us in time at least 2 other visits as things worked out. Had this been my only stop at the winery I would have been livid and awarded only one star. First the man staffing the wine studio waited a good 10 min before greeting us. Its not that he didn’t see us, he made eye contact, didn’t advise us he would be a moment but continued a phone call, did some paperwork and even briefly went to do something behind the counter before even acknowledging us. After we were finally received, I asked if we might taste some of the wines. He very rudely told us we could taste wine before we bought it! Insinuating not to be looking for a free hand out of a few sips of wine. I would say it was lost in translation but speaking both German and English I can firmly state it was just him being pompous. I’ll spare you the details but the rest of our encounter was much of the same. Cold and unhelpful. Getting anything out of him was like pulling teeth, in both languages.I learned more from the labels than from the staff here.

B) The Restaurant. For the view alone I would forgive much, overlooking the Rhine, vineyard and country side, it’s a priceless view. The food itself was quite good (particularly the Duck and Tuna Tartar on a bed of fresh asparagus). The prices are fairly high but about what I would have expected given the atmosphere and prestige of the winery. The wine is priced as it would be in a restaurant so don’t expect show room prices just because the name on the menu matches the house. The staff were o.k. Nothing exceptional, we had some errors with our order but effort was there. Really a fantastic view though.

C)Grounds. IF time allows the grounds themselves are worth the visit if your close, and worth allowing some extra time if your planning on A or B anyways. Stroll around the gothic church, enjoy a moment on a bench commanding a fine view of the river and vineyards and stroll around the building.

In summary, I’m happy I went. Beautiful place in general, the restaurant with its fine views and good food, in spite of the price tag make for a wonderful place to spend some time but expect nothing out of the wine studio so don’t visit if that is your sole intention or unless your part of an organized tour.

N.B. Cab fair from Train station is under 10 Euro. On a nice day, depending on your time it’s a nice walk back. The first half is scenic and you get a view up to the Schloss from below some of the vineyards. There are some nice smaller wineries along the way. The later half is fine but merely getting you from here to there. Allow approx 30min.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great place for a lunch with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

the grounds are gorgeous to explore; the restaurant had a great view of the Rhine and the vineyards. The tasting room wasn't what we were used to, so we didn't taste any.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingen am Rhein, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“always nice, always good food and service is friendly, too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Käfers system - gastromomically without failing - same owner as the Wiesbaden Kurhaus. Same food, too. Bauernente is a favourite to many, but you couldn't go wrong for anything else, good for a cuppo' and cake, too

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thessaloniki,kardia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“incredible view, nice restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I was visited the restaurant on Valentines Day 2012 with a very big company of nearly 70 people.
The most beautiful thing was the view from above . and the vineyards that spread all over your eye sight.
The food was acceptable in general opinion but not exquisit., wines are better.
Service was efficient.
Overall the place is really worth the visit and the view is really better than the food .

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
752 reviews 752 reviews
649 attraction reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
560 helpful votes 560 helpful votes
“Castel annex restaurant / wine shop / winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

It is a castle, annex winery / wineshop / restaurant. The food is great (for Germany at a higher end, but main dish fish available around 23 Euro), the wine tastes yummie, waitreses are very friendly. We drank their wine and it tasted so good that we bought 6 botles as well. When the shop is closed one can by from the restaurant cellar at shop prices. One can have a stroll around the vineyards, and the view from the restaurant is scenic. Former Monastery on the Johannisberg (former “Bishopmountain”). 1100 creation of the first Benedictine monastery on the Bishop's Hill, present "Winery schloss Johannisberg". In the hart of the underground cellar the "Bibliotheca subterranea", the famous treasure of the castle with precious wine rarities from different centuries. Anno 1106 has Archbishop Ruthardt of Mainz a monastery built on his grounds. Originally consecrated to the Holy Nicholas, but a bit later to John the Baptist. Probably a small settlement existed before the monastery was founded. In a charter of of Louis of the Pious anno 817 the place is referred to as "Elisa". The monastery at the Johannisberg was initially linked to the Mainz Abbey St. Alban. It already experienced its heyday in the first two centuries of its existence. The monks ensured wine- and incense scents. Subsequently they had to ordeal the horrors of the peasant war (1525) and devastation of the monastery continued 1552 as Margrave of Albrecht Aleibiades added to its destruction. A new start in 1716 when the Elector-Abbot of Fulda bought the complex and had a large three-wing castle built. This fact resulted in the discovery of Spätlese: in 1775 the courier, who had to pick up the permission for the official start of the harvest in Fulda, was a few weeks late, the grapes hung rotting on the vines. It is thanks to the courageous cellar master that the grapes were harvested, inspite of the fact that they were “spoilt” , thus became Spätlese a new style of wine. The Johannisberg Winery, which was in spiritual hands, came into worldly possession in 1802 when it was secularised by Emperor Napoleon and the domain came into the hands of Prince William V of Orange Nassau. Later in joint management by Austria, Prussia and Russia. In 1816 it was given as a reward for his services in the Congress of Vienna to Clemens Wenzel Lothar Fürst von Metternich, State Chancellor of the Austrian Emperor. Up to today wine tithes need to be paid to the Austrian emperors House or their successors in title. 1858 Pressing of the first Eiswein. WW II: damaged and burnt out by an emergency jettison of bombs on 12 August 1942. Reconstruction of the Castle and the Castle Church in 1945-1964 by Princess Tatiana and her husband Paul Alfonso Prince von Metternich, she resided at the castle until her death in 2006. In 1971 Schloss Johannisberg got an exclusive position by the wine law.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schloss Johannisberg also viewed

 
Eltville am Rhein, Hesse
 

Been to Schloss Johannisberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schloss Johannisberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Schloss Johannisberg to your Saves list