We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Impressions were quickly spoilt” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Curry Lounge

The Curry Lounge
2 Upper Ettingshall Road,, Bilston WV14 9QZ , England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Bilston
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First Impressions were quickly spoilt”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have been looking for a decent Indian takeaway for ages, and following numerous recommendations we tried The Curry Lounge, Bilston.

The good points
The naan beard was perfect, soft and delicious.
The sauce on both our chicken Balti and chicken Korma was really tasty, best we have ever had.

The bad points
The chicken was tough as old boots, couldn't cut some pieces with a steak knife!! Had the consistency of chicken which had been cooked some days ago and then just thrown in the sauce, it hadn't been marinated in the sauce...

Use The Curry Lougne with caution...

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    7
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Another great takeaway. Delivered in good time and amazing food. We have eaten all over Wolverhampton and used to regularly drive 20 minutes to pick a curry up from Penn Tandoori or Masala but since discovering Curry Lounge we no longer do. I enjoy trying something different every time so i take advantage of their combination dishes, changing the two dishes each time . This week i had a vegetable and paneer jalfrazi (which isnt on the menu_) and chana battata both were wonderful, my partner had butter chicken but asked for it to be madras hot which was really nice too. We also asked for a larger rice which was also provided. I havent actually eaten inside the restaurant but after 5 great takeaways we will be very soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

The best indian restaurant in the west midlands words cant describe how nice and cheap this place is absolutely brilliant.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley West Mids
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The food from here is very good. We have takeaways delivered both to home and when at work doing shifts, everyone agrees that the food is topclass.
I have also been inside the restaurant, it is clean and welcoming.
The staff are very attentive.
Well done keep up the good work.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
497 helpful votes 497 helpful votes
“Good Price/ Quality Ratio.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Curry Lounge, which has had something of a makeover, is located in a former pub, The White Horse. The first impression gained from the outside is very unflattering, but it's a lot nicer inside. The price/quality ratio is good, particularly if visiting on Wednesdays and Sundays, when fixed price menus are on offer at £7.95, £8.95 and £9.95. I had a four course meal from the £8.95 menu, and my wife ate from the £7.95 menu. We had a popadom each and pickles as appetizers. Lime pickle was available on request, and the fresh onion was indeed fresh. Starters were a mixed kebab for me, and some lamb tikka for my wife. For our mains, I had an excellent chicken jalfrezi, and my wife enjoyed her chicken karahi. We had a rice and a nan between us. Ice cream was available for dessert, which we declined. Service was polite and prompt- first class.

All in all, this was a good value meal for under £20 in total. The Curry Lounge does not serve alcohol, but for a £1 corkage fee, you can bring your own wine, and, presumably, beer. We would have preferred an option to have had a side dish instead of a dessert- perhaps the management might consider this. The restaurant looks tatty from the outside, and the makeover has certainly been done on the cheap- this is evident upon a closer inspection of the decor. The toilets are clean but basic. However, our reservations are but minor ones, and this place compares favourably with local competitors such as Cafe Champagne, because you don't have to fret about what might be happening to your car while you eat, and the appetizers are far better.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curry Lounge also viewed

Bilston, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Bilston, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to The Curry Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Curry Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.