We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful oldie worldie pub.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough Inn Restaurant

The Plough Inn Restaurant
Nr. Moreton-in-Marsh, Stretton on Fosse GL569QX, England
01608 661053
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue, Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Woodbridge Town
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful oldie worldie pub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed in the Cotswold Nr. Broadway for the weekend so booked a table for saturday night as been here before. I had oven cooked cod wrapping in bacon with leek and cream sauce which was absolutely lovely, my husband had pork with mustard sauce which was equally as good. A great pub with a really friendly atmosphere and wonderful food, can't wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saravol, Owner at The Plough Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hello,
Thanks very much for your lovely comments, I am extremely happy you enjoyed your meal and hope you will return
Thanks again
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    8
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lovely village inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good food, good beer and good service. Everything you'd want in a local village pub. Shame I live 150 miles away, or I'd be a regular.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saravol, Owner at The Plough Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hello. Thanks very much for your lovely review. Maybe you could move to Stretton?!!!
Hope you'll visit us again when you're in the area
Thanks again
Sara n JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Possibly the best Sunday lunch I've had away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Sunday before last four of us went for a drive in the Cotswolds and arrived in Stretton by chance. How lucky were we, Sunday roast was pork and it is quite possibly the best Sunday lunch I've ever had away from home - the crackling was superb and the pork very tender and tasty. Good roast potatoes and smashing veg cooked just enough. At £12:50 a head it was good value. The pub itself is comfortable and has a lot of old style charm. Hope we get the chance to eat here again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saravol, Owner at The Plough Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are really chuffed that you enjoyed it so much.
Thanks again and hope You visit us again
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely little pub with great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Came here tonight, following a recommendation from a friend who lives in Stretton (and looking at reviews on here).

To sum it up - yep, the food's a tad on the pricey side (but worth every penny), good choice of real ales and the service was great.

It's a small, traditional English pub, and if you're a tourist in the area well worth a visit - it has a lovely atmosphere.

I live a few miles away but for some reason hadn't been before. I'll be coming again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saravol, Owner at The Plough Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Hello, thank you very much for your lovely review, very glad to hear you will be coming back, thanks again
Sara n jp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What a Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Recently stayed in Stretton-on-Fosse and this pub was just down the road. The locals were really friendly as soon as we walked in and the bar staff made us feel very welcombe.The food was excellent although some may think it a little pricey but we thought it really good value. It was one of the best pubs we have eaten in.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Plough Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Well, how very kind. Thank you so much, it absolutely makes my day if a customer is happy. It really is good to know. Hope you return soon.
Thanks again
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Inn Restaurant also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh
 
Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh
Todenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Plough Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.