We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old site is better. You cannot touch the Tarsier anymore.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tarsier Conservation Area

Tarsier Conservation Area
Loay Interior Rd, Loboc 6316, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Attractions in Loboc
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Manila
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The old site is better. You cannot touch the Tarsier anymore.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Last time I was here, it was in a small place and you can hold the tarsier. Now you're not allowed to touch them anymore, I guess because they are now endangered. The place now is not senior citizen friendly because you have to climb up now to see the tarsiers.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    115
    35
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The smallest primates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Other than chocolate hills, this place is a must-visit. A grown-up tarsier is only 6 inches big and it is interesting to see how these little primates attached itself tightly to each particular spot, making it their own home.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cute little things!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We stopped of here on the way to chocolate hills. It is definitely worth a visit. It was raining when we arrive , but they do provide you with umbrellas. The guides were knowledgable about the tarsier, each one has a name. You only see about eleven, and they are very shy, but soooo cute! 60 pesos entrance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

It is in Loboc. I ride a motorbike up to Chocolate mountains and visit it on the way up. A very properly managed conservation area. I pay a modest entrance fee and went up to view. There are conservation people on certain points where they will point to you the Tarsiers. The Tarsiers are mainly sleeping in the daylight so they will ask you to be quiet and no flash on camera. It is nice to view the Tarsiers close up, especially when they open their eyes!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Shy little ones..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

For a first timer, i was really looking forward to see the famous tarsiers of bohol. Since they are nocturnal, they just hang on to the branches like statues, not moving at all. Anyway I was not dismayed. Just to see them with my own eyes already satisfies me. Another must see if you visit bohol...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarsier Conservation Area also viewed

Bohol Island, Bohol Province
 
Tagbilaran City, Bohol Island
Loboc, Bohol Island
 

Been to Tarsier Conservation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarsier Conservation Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.