We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Friendly Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Leuah Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Don Det
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mama Leuah Guesthouse
500m South From French Pier (Taka Pan) | Sunrise Side, Don Det, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Friendly Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We didn't actually stay at this guest house but at one further down the road. However, we did eat breakfast here everyday for the two weeks we were on Don Det. The restaurant is fantastic because of the delicious food and the friendly service of the German man and his wife running it! Definitely try the schnitzel or the burgers!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
36
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

After one night on the other side of the island we came here for better accomodation and calm, and this was one of the best decisions of our trip. The bungalows are plain but cater for all your needs for a genuine 4000 island experience: shower, private bathroom, mosquito nets, your own terrace and lots of quiet space around the bungalow. There is a garden on the river bank with banks to read a book in the sun. We took a bathe in the Mekong. The family of the hostess is living next door and are more than happy to help you with anything: we repaired a bike together. The restaurant is so good you needn't look for other options. The place is all smiles and relaxation: just great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Mama Leuah's is situated right on the river and a little way away from the 'main street' in Don Det, making it very quiet and peaceful. The bungalows are basic but come equipped with fans and mosquito nets and, most importantly, hammocks on the verandah. The restaurant is great (though regularly full!) and the staff are only too happy to organise tickets or provide some advice. Our highlight of Si Phan Don.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This place is exceptional because of the warmth, quality and honesty it provides on an island where places appear to vary considerably from these values - even places far more expensive. First - the wonderful veranda/restaurant which Lutz keeps in tip-top condition and food to match, time and again. Prices are very reasonable for the quality. Secondly, the accommodation - yes, it's cabin and not sealed but in a way that gives charm not discomfort; the fan works, the bed is large and comfortable and the mosquito net is of a type that allows one to sit up on any point of the bed. And, importantly for Don Det, the hammocks are good quality. When my hat and guidebook were stolen from the immediately adjacent guesthouse (going south) after we had to rent a bicycle from them, Lutz personally went round to try to find it. Enough said. Great place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at this gh for 4 night. We had a cabin with bathroom and our son take the shared one. At first: the 4 stars. When this GH was any where else on the pancake trail i would give it 1 or 2 stars. But it is on 4000 island. And on Don det. And on Don det (and don Khone) there are not much decent options. So we were looking for a cabin on the Mekong. It must be (reasonable) clean. Mama leuah offers that. The basic cabins are 3x3 meters and come with seperate bathroom for 50.000 kip or shared bathroom (2 on 1) for 40.000 kip. The cabin has a double bed with very thin mattress. There is a good mozzy net. And you will need that because the cabin is made of wood and the planking has a lot of spaces in between. So insect can come easily in the cabin. Be prepared to find gecko's, ants, beatles and spiders in the cabin.
The bathroom comes with an asian toilet and a cold water shower. Nothing more and nothing less. On the balcony you will find two hammocks and the beautiful mekong riverside. You can swim in the river or just relax with a good book or both :)
So the cabins are very basic. But we have seen some people who looked at a lot of places on the island and return to mama Leuah. All the cabins are basic on the whole island but this oplace have just some extra. 1 of the extra's is the food Lutz and his wife prepares.
Everything fresh and tasty. Good coffee and shakes. We ate every meal at mama Leuah. The food on the island is more expensive then elswere in Laos and at mama leuah you pay even a little bit more. But it is worth it.
My son and i take the kayak trip to see some nice places and rapids (200.000 kip). It is 1 day and includes brakfast and lunch. The lunch is in cambodia (!). We have seen a lot of dolphins also at that place.
So in the end we will stay at mama leuah again if Lutz still manage the place. There are some things he needs to adept to make a stay even greater. Simply make some curtains (or door) between the bedroom and the bathroom for a start. Just a a lack these simple things is why i dont give 5 stars

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ao Nang, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Hands down the best food from Don Det to Vientiane and beyond. Luz and his lovely Lao wife are making this place a wonderful retreat on the sometimes busy island of Don Det. We stayed 4 nights and could have easily spent more lazy days at Mama leuah. Pineapple Lassi, organic Arabica coffee from the Bolaven Plateua, the creps are yummy, frenchtoast, big German muesli, fried curries or with sauce, green, red and yellow. Everything was cooked fresh to order and it tasted well nice. We will be back and eat the other half of the menu.
The bungalows are overlooking the Mekong with comfi hammocks. Inside there is a ok bed with a mosquito net ,some shelves and a Asia toilet, no hot water for showers, but this is no problem. there is no Internet there but within a 10min. walk you will come across a place with wifi.
I can mos def recommend Mama Leuah to anybody who is up for hammock time, eating, hammock time, eating, hammock time, eating...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Lao-German couple running this place are doing their best to make it a good option for a stay in the 4000 islands. The restaurant is very pleasant and the food more thant OK. The view from it and from the Mekong is superb. Located away from the busy northern end of Don Det, Mama Leuah is a charming guesthouse offering clean cabins with rather spartan bathrooms (squat toilets and cold shower). The right place for those who like it simple.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mama Leuah Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Leuah Guesthouse

Address: 500m South From French Pier (Taka Pan) | Sunrise Side, Don Det, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Don Det
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty lodging in Don Det
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the banks of the Mekong River, Mama Leuah offers clean and simple bungalows with ensuite, balcony and hammocks - perfect for enjoying the amazing sunrises! You can also relax in the restaurant while enjoying excellent asian and western dishes, great coffee, fresh fruit shakes or a tasty cocktail. If you're lucky, you might even get to witness a breathtaking moonrise! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Leuah Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mama Leuah Guesthouse to your Saves list