We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect over night stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Avenue du Lac, 01130 Nantua, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nantua
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Perfect over night stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our our way back to Paris from the Swiss alps we were looking for some where pretty stay. Nantua is definately a pretty little town in the Rhone Alps, As a family of four we took two adjoining rooms that woked perfectly.

The hotel is fine. Clean, neat and friendly, offering good value for money. Dinner is the restuarant was good, but I still struggle to understand why eating out in Europe is so expensive. Our waiter was fantastic, and kept our kids well entertained with his fun antics, which lt us really relax.

Nothing special, but nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    47
    38
    24
    12
See reviews for
30
47
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The hotel is ideally situated midway between Lyon and Geneva and very close to the autoroute A43 that goes towards Italy. The town of Nantua is old and a little rundown but takes advantage of a nice and picturesque lake. The accommodations are clean and practical but nothing special. The staff is friendly and ready to assist. Free parking is provided for the guests. What is remarkable and totally unexpected is the high quality of the restaurant. The quality and variety of the dishes proposed rivals almost any offered by much more famous establishment in Paris, Lyon or Strasbourg. The cost is relatively modest and is further mitigated by three fixed menus with prices ranging from €23 to €68. The wine list is extensive and affordable. I recommend their fish based main courses and for dessert, the” Declinaison de chocolat blanc, lait et noir”, a delicious symphony of sweets based on chocolate. Should I be in the neighborhood, I will certainly stop for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: For a lake view the price is higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raanana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Nantua is a sleepy town in April (The museum honoring the deportation of resistsance fighters,doesn't open until May ) and the houses look as if they have seen better days . The hotel is lakeside and easy to find . The lake is very tranquil with a few local fisherman Pleasant promanade to walk or sit on a bench .There is a moving monument to the resistance fighters and a group of Jewish children that were deported from here to Nazi concentration camps .
The hotel,which we picked out of the Logis de France brochure, is very comfortable . The restaurant is obvoiusly well known and popular (We didn't eat supper having taken a heavy lunch that day) but the menu looked tempting The lounge is comfortable with a view of the lake . Free wii fi . Reasonable buffet breakfast with good quality local cheeses-bought
Staff speak goodEnglish and were very helpful

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms (62 euro,) on the ground floor don't have a view of the lake. Bit dated in fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marly-le-Roi, France
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

After 8 hours in the car and a large portion of that stuck in traffic, we arrived after 11 pm. Having warned the owners of the hotel, they were gracious and directed us by phone to our two rooms, which were simple but could use some renovating. They were correctly priced at 62€ a room. The breakfast at 10€ per person (even for the kids) is overpriced for what is for the most part store bought cereals, yogurts, jams, ham and cheese, etc. However, the owner (Mrs.) was friendly and the view on a sunny morning over the lake is splendid!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We spent one night here in October on the way back from Italy. The hotel is modern and the rooms are spacious. The bathrooms are very fine indeed. We arrived on a cold rainy afternoon so the scenic location was not on show that day. We had a triple room, for around Euro 120 and it was spacious and well appointed. Like all modern places, it is a little bland and the service is invisible. We didn't try the restaurant for dinner or breakfast- it looked expensive. A good overnight spot after a big drive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 190 cities Reviews in 190 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed at this great place for one night on our drive back from Dijon to Geneva. The hotel has been renovated very recently and they have done a great job!! The rooms are beautiful and well appointed. We got a fantastic deal for half board which included dinner at the chef restaurant attached to the hotel. Dinner was excellent and very generous. The hotel is located on the eastern shore of Nantua Lake, with mountains on both sides - beautiful and relaxing. Highly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We received a warm welcome here; the hotel has obviously just been totally renovated, but an excellent job has been done. Our room was sizeable and looked over the lake; the bathroom was lovely and it was very comfortable. The restaurant was excellent; all three of us were very pleased with the food, if slightly overawed by the size of the portions, which were huge. The hotel was very cheap compared with other places where we have stayed, and the restaurant with its beautiful views over the lake was delightful. Thoroughly enjoyable - but I have to say, the town itself is eminently missable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere

Address: 13 Avenue du Lac, 01130 Nantua, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Nantua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nantua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Embarcadere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.