We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chateau du Breuil, 01390 Monthieux, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monthieux
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights. We got lucky and met mr. Ygg in the pro-shop who arranged golf-pro lessons and green fee package. The others were just as nice but he is from Canada so easy to speak English with him.
Two good 18 hole courses and a couple of training par 4 holes and putting and chipping area. Good driving range. Rather busy all week so at times we shared tee times to make 3 or 4 balls but every people we met was so friendly even when some could not speak much English.
Peaceful and beautiful surroundings and short drives to small towns with supermarket and restaurants. My parents don't play golf but had a great week nonetheless. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    34
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
34
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel sits in a middle of a golf course, in a beautiful countryside. Great if you plant to play golf, but also for hiking and exploring the mid of France. Not accessible without a car. The hotel has a good conferencing amenities and can be a good choice for a big meeting. There are plenty of parking places on the grounds.
The hotel restaurant, even if not with a very nice ambiente is in the Michelin guide and has excellent food and very helpful staff. Do not let put yourself off by the look of the dining room (looks like a converted conference room) and give the restaurant a chance. You will not regret!
The breakfast is one of the best one I had in Best Western in France and definitely worth it. This was the only hotel where you can make your fresh juice. The choice of other items is very similar to the standard Best Western buffet, just a tick better. There is also free wi-fi available in the rooms as well as the lobby.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked this hotel for a 1 night stay on our way to Paris from Nice and what a lovely surprise it was. Location is quiet, restful and tranquil. Rooms are tastefully decorated with very modern, well equipped bathrooms. The big surprise was the restaurant - our evening meal was superb. Food was presented like a Michelin rated restaurant and tasted amazing. Overall hotel facilities were great - beautiful extensive grounds and lovely swimming pool. Great place for couples or families.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haderslev, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

If you are looking for a great stay away from all of the noise and traffic you normally find at a hotel in a city centre, then try this one. It has a great restaurant, nice and clean rooms and a friendly staff. It also has a golf course, a swimming pool and some tennis courts - unfortunately, it was winter while I was there so I didn't get around to trying out the golf course... It did look beautiful though.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed for one night on our way home from Italy. The room was small and a bit dark but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was newly refurbished and of a high standard.
We got an excellent value half board deal and the food was better than in some of the 5* hotels we had stayed in in Italy. (Even the whole frogs in garlic starter proved to be tasty!)
There was a very nice swimming pool and lots of fluffy towels available which was an unexpected bonus after a long day sitting in a car.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

We stayed at this hotel 13.-16. May and played golf at all three courses. The courses were enjoyable, but especially the service at the hotel made us enjoy the long weekend.

The lady receptionist was the greatest. And food in the restaurant is best that we have had in three star hotels. It was better than we expected - we had the menu every night. Rooms are also clean and quite recently renovated, and funnyly located in an old, stone farm house. We were able to modify air conditioning ourselves according to our wishes.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Excellent hotel, quiet and peaceful, comfortable, spacious accommodation and good food. A great place for a one night stopover.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur

Address: Chateau du Breuil, 01390 Monthieux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Monthieux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monthieux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature paradise in the heart of the Dombes at 30 minutes north of Lyon, Hotel and Golf du Gouverneur welcomes you in the middle of its 233 hectares. 53 rooms including 8 suites and junior suites, 2 restaurants and terrace, 45 holes for golf enthusiasts, 10 meeting rooms and banquets for business or family events. A unique site in Rhône-Alpes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rhone-Alpes
Monthieux Best Western
BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel Du Gouverneur France/Monthieux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.