We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ski chalet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Madeleine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Allues
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Madeleine
Save
You added Chalet Madeleine to your Saves list
Route du Villard, 73550 Les Allues, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Montrose, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent ski chalet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just back from a week at Chalet Madeline; it was everything that Steve & Anna promised, very comfortable & relaxed, chalet very well appointed & they are fun hosts. Shuttles from & to airport & to ski slopes all included. Food superb, highly recommended & I look forward to going back there. Brian L. Scotland

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have just returned from a short break at the lovely Chalet Madeleine and it did not dissapoint. Anna's cooking is amazing, we were so gutted to be leaving the day before the French Onion Soup and the Tarteflet was served. Steve and Anna are both brilliant hosts, with a wealth of local knowledge and a great sense of humour and nothing is too much trouble for them. The Chalet itself is lovely and clean and warm and welcoming with everything you need for your mountain escape. Anna & Steve will look after you with a 5* service. This was our second time at Chalet Madeleine and I don't believe it will be our last. Thank you both for making another memorable trip so special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hosts, very helpful with local info on runs, mountain restaurants etc. Nothing too much trouble for them. Anna's cooking skills fabulous! All meals superb. Chalet very clean, lovely views all round.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

From the minute Anna picked us up at the airport and we arrived at Chalet Madeline we knew we were going to have a good time - what we didn't realise was quite how much! The chalet is extremely clean and comfortable and Anna and Steve are great hosts - they are such a mine of information. We were so very well looked after with excellent food and company (Steve's tales are very entertaining) and we did not want for anything. Our bedroom on the top floor was spacious and very comfortable. We shared a bathroom and in an ideal world would have preferred our own (hence the room rating). That said sharing was a small price to pay for all the other great things about Chalet Madeline. This chalet was by far and away the best we've stayed in and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just arrived back from a skiing holiday at Chalet Madeleine (2nd Feb 2013). Steve and Anna are brilliant hosts, from the moment they picked our party of 5 up from the airport we were made to feel welcome. Can't praise Steve and Anna enough, their chalet is 5 * luxury with a homely and relaxed feel. They are a very hard working team, every aspect of our holiday had been thought through to make it an enjoyable experience for all their guests. Anna's cooking is exceptional and the apres ski cake is delicious (thanks Anna, even after 5 days hard skiing I still managed to gain 3lbs!) and with 10 years experience of French living, Steve and Anna's knowledge of the mountain meant we got to experience all the best runs and lunch stops, whatever the weather through at us. If you want to enjoy the vast ski area of the 3 Valleys, enjoy being pampered and making new friends, then this is the place for you. No wonder Steve and Anna have sooooo many repeat guests - I will definitely be one of them!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is the fifth time in four years that I have stayed here. The chalet is run by an English couple who provide an excellent base for skiing in the winter or cycling in the summer. The quality of the welcome, accommodation and food is only matched by the skiing opportunities. Incroyable!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife & I met Steve & Anna on a cycling holiday in Spain, a bit of a bus mans holiday for Steve, but during the week, as we got to know a bit about them & what they offered for cycling holidays in France the seeds of a future cycling holiday were well & truly planted !
The result was that we decided to book a week doing the Classic Climbs of the Alps & have to say it was absolutely fantastic.
Steve & Anna are perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble. Anna is an excellent cook & is does the support vehicle job so well its like having your own soigneur. Steve is an excellent guide offering encouragement to riders of all abilities throughout the week to ensure everyone gets the most out of the wonderful routes that are ridden in this beautiful area.
I've been fortunate to have cycled in quite few different places in Europe but this is without doubt The Best !
Note; they also do skiing holidays which are also fantastic !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Madeleine

Address: Route du Villard, 73550 Les Allues, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Les Allues
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely chalet situated in the charming village of Les Allues, Meribel. Owner run, Chalet Madeleine is set on 3 levels and consists of 5 spacious bedrooms, 3 toilets & bathrooms, a comfortable lounge with TV, Xbox, Wii, DVD's and IPod Docking Station. The chalet is also fitted with free broadband Internet access. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Madeleine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.