We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clos des Sens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clos des Sens to your Saves list
Clos des Sens
13, rue Jean Mermoz, 74940 Annecy-le-Vieux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Annecy-le-Vieux
Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Everything we expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

While its a bit of a journey to get to Clos de Sens, its well worth the effort. The service, presentation and flavors we're fantastic. We enjoyed everything from the amuse bouche to the multiple desserts... and the service was top notch. Definitely on our list of places to return to while visiting Annecy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    19
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
82
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We had a lovely stay in Annecy and in large part it was due to Clos des Sens. My girlfriend and I arrived in Geneva and after a few days moved via bus to Annecy. The trip takes a couple of hours, but takes you through the beautiful French / Swiss mountain scenery.

We had booked a room in Clos des Sens and from the moment we arrived we were impressed by the room (I believe they're all the same). The room was very romantic, it had a bathtub in the middle of the room, the bed was comfy, there was a coffee machine with complementary nespresso, a Ipod docking station and best of all a balcony with a beautiful view of the lake. The room oozes coziness and is perfect for a for a romantic get away!

The breakfast is fairly simple and consists of bread, cheese, milk and fruit. If you don't fancy that, there is a great supermarket 5 mins from the hotel, where you can get great foie gras, terrine, etc that we took back to our room for nibbling.

The old town if about 15-20mins walk from the hotel and around the hotel there are a few other great restaurants. However, I have to say that our tasting meal at Clos des Sens was one of the best meals we've ever had. Both my girlfriend and myself consider ourselves foodies and we've eating is some of the best restaurants (3 Michelin stars and Grandes Tables du Monde) in the world. In our opinion Clos des Sens is up there with the best. Unfortunately the weather was a bit grey when we were there, so we couldn't have dinner outside (the restaurant has a lovely wooden outside seating area covered by low hanging trees), but that didn't spoil the fun.

We loved our stay at Clos des Sens so much, that we're planning our next trip year.

Thanks for the experience Clos des Sens and keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Rooms are all more or less the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

We absolutely loved our stay in this hotel. They only have 3 rooms overlooking Annecy.

Our room was spacious, very comfortable and nicely decorated in a modern Alpine style and conveniently located above the restaurant.

The restaurant is rated 2 Michelin stars and fully deserves it and we were delighted by the degustation menu. The atmosphere of restaurant was pleasant and not pretentious.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

As a repeat visitors to Annecy my wife and I wanted something that was different to the 'classic' French feel (by which I mean antique furnishings, tucked into a packed city centre, and generally a little small).
In short, Clos des Sens is an ideal fit for those want something modern, tasteful and relaxed!
The hotel itself (the restaurant I will come to), is lovely. It is not big on services, no phones in rooms, laundry etc... but that is not the point - the emphasis is on cosy relaxation. The plasma tv, slate bathroom and tasteful art are a testiment to elegant modernity. The views are stunning and the rooms fabulous; a spa and fireplace in the bedroom is novel and great for those seeking a romantic getaway.
The staff are friendly and thoughtful... we were given a small package to take for our breakfast when we had an early flight and could not partake in breakfast itself.
The restaurant is outstanding... hardly the traditional tourist fare which dominates the town centre, emphasis on local ingredients but using modern techniques (foams etc). Everything a two Michelin star restaurant should be, without the sense of imposing formality.
It is a long way from the town centre, and the restaurant is an important element of the experience. If you just want to see the old town and the lake, this is not the ideal hotel/restaurant for you, although the views these rooms afford cannot be achieved without leaving the dense old town centre.
Yet for foodies and those seeking a refreshingly different French hotel Clos des Sens is a wonderful experience and I would reccomend it heartily to anyone. It is on the expensive side, but well worth it.

  • Liked — Room design and features, restaurant, views
  • Disliked — Distance from town centre
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

As a "hotel", is a perfect match to the simply stunning and delicious food from the restaurant. We stayed for 3 days for our wedding anniversary, and loved very minute.

We stayed in Room 3" on the top floor. Priviate balcony overlooking the city and lake, large jacuzzi tub in middle of room, and a very nice "rain shower" in the bathroom. I recommend it as a 'hotel' on it's own, even if you ignore the fact that you've got a a 2 Michellin star restaurant one floor below you.

But whatever you do, do *not* ignore the food! We stayed 3 days at Clos des Sens, and ate there for 2 dinners, 1 lunch, and 2 breakfasts. It was the best food experience of my life. For the quality and service you get, I found the prices actually to be a bargain, both for for the dining and the room.

Clos des Sens simply cannot be recommended highly enough for the total experience at these prices.

  • Liked — Romantic getaway
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2006

Clos des Sens is mostly known as an innovative, Michelin-starred restaurant whose chef, Laurent Petit, works wonders. However, they also have four rooms upstairs for those who wish to spend the night. We did and are very happy that we did. Our room had a modern décor in a red theme with dark wood finishes. The view out over the city was fabulous, especially during sunset. The bathroom had a large rain shower, and nice toiletries. And to top it off, a good-sized Jacuzzi was situated near the window in our bedroom. As nice as the room was, the reason you go to Clos des Sens is the restaurant, where we had, hands down, the single best meal of our lives. Go for the full tasting menu, and despite the price (over 100 euros per person), you will not regret it. And, after filling yourself to the limit, just take the elevator up one story and collapse on your bed or soak in your private hot tub. As a bonus, Annecy just happens to be one of the most picturesque towns in all of France.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clos des Sens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clos des Sens

Address: 13, rue Jean Mermoz, 74940 Annecy-le-Vieux, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy-le-Vieux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Annecy-le-Vieux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Clos des Sens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clos Des Sens Annecy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clos des Sens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.