We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Fine, Restaurant Not” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Moulin de Cierzac Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Moulin de Cierzac Hotel to your Saves list
Le Moulin de Cierzac Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16, Route de Cognac, 17520 Cierzac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cierzac
York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hotel Fine, Restaurant Not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We arrived late as the town and road is poorly signed from Cognac (this is nothing new in France). Our room was a little dated but clean and fine for the price and the setting was very nice on the mill stream. As we had the windows closed we weren't too disturbed by the constant flow of traffic on the raised road but in summer it would be noisy.
As it was late (9 pm) we had no time to go out to find somewhere to eat so we foolishly agreed to eat in the restaurant when the owner asked us in the carpark if we wanted him to 'hold the chef' as it was late. We did feel a little hustled into this. The restaurant was chilly and the prices were far too high for very average food (€28 - 30 for a main course! with only a sprinkling of veg). We would have expected some Michelin stars and amazing food and environment for this price. My fish was cold and three little circles of cheese for €8 - who are you kidding? The cheaper end wine however was good and well priced so we took some solace in that. (Choose the Loire Sauvignon and have a starter only is my advice!) We declined the breakfast at €8 -12 each and went to a little snack place across the road where we had nice coffee and croissants for a total of €6. All I can say is Beware.

Room Tip: As far away from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
5
23
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The location could be great if all used waters were not ending into the garden... The building could be great if the facades were cleaned and repainted. Rooms would be great if the decoration and equipment was not 40 years old...
Nevertheless, dinner was good. But not more than that.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

The Moulin de Cierzac is exceptionally clean and welcoming, the host George Renault offers wonderful hospitality, we have now eaten here on several occasions and the food is of the most highest standard and should be the owner of at least two Michelin Stars.

There are also English versions of the menus,we recommend highly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaverton
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Hotel Moulin Cierzac offers simple, clean but comfortable rooms. The rooms are not modern, but they do offer a cozy charm that makes you feel like you are visiting a different time period.

Definitely give yourself time to have dinner. The food is fabulous and the service is exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEDFORD
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2006

This was another hotel booked from the Logis de France website. The hotel looks quite imposing from the outside, but alas, impressions can be deceptive. Our room, though large, looked as if it hadn't been redecorated since the 1950's The wallpaper was shabby, while in the bathroom things were worse, with loose tiles everywhere, huge gaps around the edges of the floor tiles and everything dusty and grimy.
Added to the general feel of neglect, the river Ne had dried up, leaving large pools of green stagnant water. The road that ran beside the hotel transpired to be noisy late into the night.
After such a despairing report, what could redeem this place? The restaurant! The food was superb! Delivered with flair and imagination! My tip is, stay somewhere else, but eat here!

  • Liked — THe exterior appearance.
  • Disliked — The general neglect.
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat here, but don't stay here.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Le Moulin de Cierzac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin de Cierzac Hotel

Address: 16, Route de Cognac, 17520 Cierzac, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente-Maritime > Cierzac
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cierzac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Moulin de Cierzac Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the way of your holiday to Spain or southwestern France, a few miles away from the Exit 36, Pons, in the middle of the country of Poitou Charentes, 15 minutes away from Cognac, this old watermill has been converted into a charming hotel with a refined restaurant. We will welcome you for one night or more, and you can park in our private car park your car as well as a trailer, and even store your bikes in a shelter. Open every evening in summer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Moulin de Cierzac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Moulin de Cierzac Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.