We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clos des Guyons Sauvignon gite

This property has multiple rentals:
The main courtyard at Le Clos des Guyons
The main courtyard at Le Clos des Guyons
The main courtyard at Le Clos des Guyons
The courtyard in front of our holiday gites
Sundecking around pool
Entrance to the gites
A perfect day in the sunny courtyard
Le Puy-Notre-Dame
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carol F
West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Wine Tours and tasting of Loire Wines makes this holiday accommodation simply perfection......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Stepping into Le Clos des Guyons makes us smile as we are greeted by our hosts, Sheila and Brian...
We love everything about being here ...our hosts who make everything so special, the accommodation and surroundings which are fabulous, the lovely local restaurant, pottering around the local sites, meeting our 'gite' neighbours, chilling in the evening, obviously the Wine Tours and Tasting of Loire Wines with our expert host Brian - whilst the vineyards
continue to just take your breath away.  The weather was fabulous so it was a real effort to
leave the beautiful patio and pool area. if you want a relaxed, happy holiday then look no further than Le Clos des Guyons-it will be a decision that will provide you with many memorable moments of this magic place...
Our holiday was quite simply PERFECT...
"Le Clos des Guyons" is certainly the BEST place to stay in the Loire..."

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything...
Liked least: Having to return home...
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
kg_webby
Woolgoolga, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“All you could ask for in Loire wine country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Very useable gite with all that was needed for a 3 week stay. Walking distance to the town's amenities (patisserie, hairdresser, bar & restuarants, & vin caves etc). Fairly short drive to Saumur & other larger places, chateaux, monasteries etc. Brian & Shelia are excellent hosts, very friendly & knowledgable, speak excellent French & have a huge knowledge of wines in general but local wines in particular. They are happy to organise anything from a local wine tasting to a night out at a resturant.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The hosts helpful attitude
Liked least: Wifi will not penetrate thick stone walls
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
David V
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Brian and Sheila are the perfect hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We found Le Clos to be everything we wanted at the end of a five week busy trip through Europe. The gite was comfortable and spacious, the area with rolling vineyards and old,quaint houses, the twelfth century church and the easy access to neighbouring villages such as Montreuil Bellay, Argentay, Fontaine etc. Brian and Sheila were always ready to help and Brian's wine tasting was easily the best we have ever experienced.
We miss it already and plan to go back.
Carolyn and David, Melbourne, Australia.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The area
Liked least: Requiring a car to get there
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Alexandra...
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We traveled to Le Puy Notre Dame with another couple. Our gite at Le Clos des Guyons was perfect for our needs and had all the facilities to cook for the four of us after the delights of shopping in French markets both large and small. The kitchen was large and comfortable and full of character. Fun to sit aroud and pass the wine and cheese. The two bed rooms, each with it's own bathroom, were very comfortable and immaculately clean. Fresh white bed linens etc. Lots of hot water. The two living areas, one for TV the other for quite relaxation, were very comfortable and attractivly furnished.

Brian & Sheila, our hosts were charming and helpful. We arrived with our friends and enjoyed the marvelous October special dinner in ther "almost baronial" dining room. Sheila said that Brian did most of the cooking but there was an obvious feminine touch with he table setting with candles and flowers. The meal was full of variety and was complimented by local wines and cheeses. We also had the company of our "downstairs" neighbours. A delightful couple from Australia.

The afternoon with Brian and Shelia at a local winery which we walked to was full of information, fun and a generous quantity of wine. Red, white, rose and sparkling. Just as well we did not have to drive back to our gite!

The village was much bigger than I had anticipated and chock full of history and charm. A bakery just up the lane, two restaurants, a bar/post office, a little grocery market. Lots of fun exploring. Several near by towns and villages have markets and great atmosphere. Brian & Shelia will advise you.

We have visited France on many occasions and and to different regions. This was the first to The Loire Valley and is now my favourite for all the reasons listed above. This comes after some pretty tough competition!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The general ambience of the gite and villlage
Liked least: Could only stay one week
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Cjelliot
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful, wine-filled week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Brian and Sheila were such friendly and welcoming hosts, and the property is in a great location on the edge of a wine-producing village, and a short drive to the nearby chateaux of the Loire. There's a little bakery 5 mins up the road so you can have fresh French bread and croissants every morning, and spend your days cycling round the local vineyards, or alternatively, being shown around a vineyard by Brian, who knows a thing or two about the local wines. The Sauvignon apartment that we stayed in felt really authentically French, with beautiful wooden beams, and there had been so much thought that went into making the place as homely as possible. A wonderful place, and we would jump at the chance to go back. Thank you Brian and Sheila for such a fantastic week; we have some wonderful memories.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location and the wines
Liked least: The hangovers
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Catherine...
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Welcoming, comfortable and clean gite in an interesting part of France with fantastic weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We found Le Clos des Guyons to be a welcoming, relaxing gite with all the facilities that we required as a family of four, plus a beautifully clean swimming pool, much enjoyed by our two sons , 13 and 9 years, on hot days, and a table tennis table which provided many hours of entertainment.

Our hosts were very helpful, ensuring that we were happy and had all that we needed, including the welcome surprise of apperitifs on arrival which also gave us the chance to meet our neighbours on the ground floor. Brian's tour of one of the local vineyards (within walking distance) was an informative and entertaining afternoon and a good introduction to wines of the region.

Le Puy Notre Dame is a fascinating historic village with an epicerie, boulangerie and restaurant, as well as a beautiful large church. It is an ideal place to stay to visit vineyards, chateaux, the nearby conservation zoo with an amazing aviary, and the many underground caves.

We found that even after a fortnight, there were still many more activities and places that we could have explored. Quiet lanes and gentle hills make it ideal for cycling and the nearby river Loire and Thouet provide access to canoeing, which was great fun!

All in all a very relaxing holiday in the sunshine, with lots to do, and a lovely environment to return to in the evenings.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Relaxing holiday, experiencing French life
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
TMO64
Warner Robins
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things about Les Clos Des Guyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

This was one of our best gite experiences in France. Brian and Sheila are marvelous hosts and went above and beyond to make our stay quite marvelous. The gites are charming and equipped with everything one could want. The Boulangerie was so close, we could almost smell the baguettes baking from our window. Le Puy is a Petite Cite of Character and flowers were everywhere. It is easily explored on foot. It was an excellent value for the money and we look forward to going back again!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Overall charm and hospitality
Liked least: Wifi signal was weak on the second floor gite
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$79
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Brian or Sheila B
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Apr 2013
Response Rate: 100 %
Calendar Updated: 120 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing