We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Akena City

Save Saved
You added Hotel Akena City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 1 more site!
Hotel Akena City
Zone commerciale Rocade nord, 59230 Saint-Amand-les-Eaux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellant !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Quiet, Clean, Modern, Friendly, very friendly, great welcome, warm, good breakfast until 11am !!

check out at midday !!! I always hestitate to say "Excellant value for money" because that might mean that you get what you pay for but really here you get much more than you pay for

We went for a walk in the forest at the back (3 minutes drive) in the morning before breakfast, loads of trails for jogging and MTB

Need a car !! but then so do you for the other main hotel in St Amand (Palisino ??)

Unless you like very basic food, ignore the advice to go to the Champs Elysée restaurant !! I wonder if it is a family / friend relationship with the lady at the reception. Unfortuneatly there isn't any really good food places in St Amand except the other hotel 500m from Akena - the Palisino. Here you will find restaurants from all the tastes of the world.

Ah yes, one thing. The "fastbooking" site did not make it clear that breakfast is NOT included in the price. but it was only 7 euros for a buffet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a decent place to stay and you don't need walking access to the town this place is great. If you are without a car then consider staying closer to town center. The hotel manager was awesome and very helpful. The hotel was perfectly nice.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

This is a brand new hotel (I think) on the edges of a shopping centre. We only paid 40 euro for a room, so we did not have huge expectations and we were very pleasantly surprised.
The room was relatively small but it was decorated in a contemporary and very tasteful manner. Unlike most budget hotels, the fittings, furniture, TV, etc were good quality. I have stayed in 4 star hotels that were worse. Everything was spotlessly clean.
Staff were very helpful and polite. Because we were travelling with a 6 months old baby, they gave us a beautiful portable cot to use in our room.
We struggled a little to find the hotel (too new for our sat nav, I think) but that aside, a great experience. We would certainly go back again and we will try other Akena hotels next time we are in France.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed here while my daughter attended a summer ballet course. We were bowled over by the friendliness we encountered at a budget hotel. When a taxi was not available when we were going to the station, the manageress drove us herself.
Delicious breakfasts, nothing too much trouble.
Thank you, Hotel Akena!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Akena City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akena City

Address: Zone commerciale Rocade nord, 59230 Saint-Amand-les-Eaux, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Saint-Amand-les-Eaux
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Saint-Amand-les-Eaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Akena City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Akena City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.