We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Food and Hospitality to match” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie Saint Louis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostellerie Saint Louis to your Saves list
Hostellerie Saint Louis
47 Rue de l'Eglise, 59470 Bollezeele, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bollezeele
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Gourmet Food and Hospitality to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were looking for an overnight stop not too far from Calais and found this charming hotel/restaurant circa 30-40 minutes from the ferry. The other reviews I read here are quite right in that the rooms are a little dated, but spotlessly clean. The food is quite outstanding - in particular I would mention the king prawns in a bisque which is probably one of my most memorable food moments. The only criticism is that the wine list was aimed at the more expensive end of the market, but the house wine at Eur 19 a bottle was very acceptable. Definitely going back to work our way through the menu!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    71
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
162
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

we stayed 1 night during the Remembrance Day weekend , the hotel was a very nice sight in the rain lashed gloom of the saturday evening . The reception staff were good , and the room very comfortable , although the chintzy decor irritated my minimalist wife , but i reminded her that we are staying just 1 night and not moving in .
The outstanding feature of this hotel is the food , it is way above 3 star , and I cannot recommend it too highly , the dining room service is also very good .
The hotel was packed with Brits when we stayed , and the couple on a neighbouring table in the restaurant turned out to be living about 5 miles from us at home , small world isn't it ?
We didn't try breakfast as we had no room to fit it in after last nights dinner .
The superior room we booked was spacious with a nice size bathroom , and you can get BBC 1 & 2 on the TV , although the hours time difference meant that our dinner clashed with 'Strictly' .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughton Astley
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here frequently. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms (and beds) comfortable, the cuisine outstanding. Do walk up into the town and visit the church and local bar for a taste of Flandres, the patisserie is pretty good too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is our fifth visit and the standard of comfort and service remains excellent. If anything we felt the food had improved a little and was even better value for money. We also liked the revamped garden and the fountain, which brightens up the front of the house.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We arrived at the Hostellerie on a dark and windy night, having driven along some hairy backroads (did manage to get a little lost!). The outside looked lovely. Floodlit, with a fountain running outside, it just looked inviting.
However, our welcome was not quite so good - everyone was rushing around getting ready for dinner service and the girl we spoke to was rather hurried and not the most friendlest I have met. She showed us to our room, with us running after her.
The rooms, as others have said, are not the most luxurious. They are neat and clean and contain most things you need. However, it should be noted that there are blankets instead of duvets on the beds - the first time I have found this in France. We were frozen when we arrived but soon waarmed up with the very efficient wall heater turned up.
We had sent an e-mail in advance to reserve a place in the restaurant to eat. And what a meal we had! It was fabulous! The husband and wife team were very friendly, pleasant and helpful. We had a superb three course meal, plus amuse bouche, for 35 euros. That included beef fillet! Very good value and beautifully cooked.
We slept well, despite the blankets. In fact we nearly overslept and missed breakfast! Luckily we made it in time. Breakfast was good, with a good choice of foods. I would have liked to have seen more than one type of bread, though, as I love crusty French breads. That aside, we had a good meal, and plenty of it.
We then went back to our room to collect our bag before checking out.
We will definately be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at this Hostellerie for 4 nights on a trip in France and cannot rate it highly enough. Our welcome was friendly and thorough and we were shown to a very comfortable room with all the facilities we needed. It was clean and fresh and very well maintained.
Later that evening we were treated to the first of four outstanding meals in the restaurant. The food was exceptional, very well prepared by the Owner/Chef M. Phillipe who is a magician of the kitchen and produces amazing flavour combinations. The meal was made better by a very expansive wine list but it was completed by the staff who were friendly, professional and amazing in the way the treated their guests. They obviously followed the example of the owner, Mme Bea, who assisted in the service in the restaurant but also found time to visit every table and speak to the diners in a variety of languages. A truly memorable stay in a beautiful setting with an amazing group of people.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are good because they are all in this venue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Fascinating 18th Century Building in a lovely small French Town on the edge of rural Flanders- spotlessly clean throughout run by husband and wife team Phillipe (Head Chef) and Bea Dubreque (Maitre d' & Front of House) - Backed up in the restaurant by a second to none team of fantastic waitresses for which nothing was too much trouble. We stayed for three nights in one of the Superior Rooms and found it cosy and in keeping with an older building giving atmosphere and nicely decorated. The bathroom was a little small for my liking but adequate.
Continental Breakfasts good and dinner just such a Gastronomic Delight - my wife required some vegetarian menu choices which were no problem to this accomplished kitchen.Value excellent. An enjoyable relaxing break.

Room Tip: Consider a Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostellerie Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Saint Louis

Address: 47 Rue de l'Eglise, 59470 Bollezeele, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Bollezeele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bollezeele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hostellerie Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Saint Louis Bollezeele
Hostellerie Saint Louis Hotel Bollezeele
Hostellerie St Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie Saint Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.