We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Theroniere - English translation should read: 'A wonerful little slice of heaven!'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Theroniere

La Theroniere
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Theroniere to your Saves list
La Theroniere
Route De Therone | Lot Valley, 46220 Prayssac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Prayssac B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“La Theroniere - English translation should read: 'A wonerful little slice of heaven!'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed with Tony and Karen in November over my birthday. We were house hunting and called them at the last minute to try to stay locally to our next day of appointments.
They simply could not have been more accommodating. We arrived quite late in the afternoon and were welcomed with a lovely cup of tea and biscuits while Tony collected our bags from the car. We were treated to a delightful dinner with wine and great conversation with Tony ( a true raconteur). Both Tony and Karen made us feel perfectly at ease from the first moment of welcoming us to their beautiful home.
Our breakfasts were more delicious, satisfying and healthy than anything we may prepare for ourselves and presented in such a charming manner.
Tony and Karen laid on a lovely supper for us on my birthday including a special dessert from the local patissier - what a treat.
We would not hesitate to stay here again - indeed we will probably go out our way in order to do so. We would certainly recommend it to anyone.
You could not ask for anything more from your hosts or their home.
Tony and Karen,
Thank you both for your wonderful hospitality.
Ian and Barbie

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This charming property in the beautiful countryside of the Lot Valley was a truly wonderful experience. Tony and Karen were most excellent hosts who made us feel at home from the very first night -when we arrived quite late!

The breakfasts that Tony created every morning were very good fare indeed, with bread brought to our table fresh every morning from the village, care of the resident Citroen 2CV.

We were fascinated by the stories told by Tony of his exciting past and he was patient enough to listen to some of ours.

The house, originally owned by a french Ambassador, is beautiful and set in large grounds, with vineyards on it's borders. Karen and Tony looked for some time before finding the property and the wait was certainly worth it!

We stayed in a double room and had the use of a twin room also, with views over the grounds. We also had the use of our own little kitchen, fully kitted out where we could prepare food and eat if we chose.

In all, nothing was too much trouble - we were made to feel very special and both Tony and Karen did everything possible to make our stay a most memorable and delightful experience and we were sorry to leave.

Thank you Karen and Tony for a wonderful experience and hope to see you both the next time we are in the Lot Valley.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at La Theroniere again this September, it was our second visit and we were struck again by how lovely it is. Karen and Tony are excellent hosts and greet you with a warm welcome and a cup of tea! The property is situated in one of the loveliest regions of France, Karen and Tony's attention to detail and lovely home make it a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A truly wonderful place to stay - fantastic accommodation, stunning grounds, a lovely pool and the hosts Tony & Karen couldn't do enough for you. We had 5 nights here - breakfasts on the terrace and 2 evening meals in the garden which were all excellent.

Tony's knowledge of the local area is immense - he recommends places to visit during the day and will also book dinner for you in local restaurants.

The very comfortable rooms are like mini gites with your own kitchen area where you can make a simple meal - it's like home from home.

I am reluctantly giving out this information in case the place becomes too popular and I'm unable to book next time I want to go. We shall definitely be back !!

Room Tip: We stayed in Fleur de Lys - excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were recommended La Theroniere by a French friend who said 'the English really know how to do things with class!'. He was correct! The little hotel has four amazing little apartments, each tastfully decorated in its own unique way and it is immaculately presented with the softest white towels ever!!
The owners are a delightfully entertaining and knowledgeable English couple who do things 'with style'; breakfast included fresh cherries picked from the beautiful garden and set on a starched white tablecloth with real silverware. The coffee was strong and authentically French and the fresh croissants were to die for! A very enjoyable experience.
The heated pool was a welcomed diversion at the end of the day; we swam and drank the local wine, again with a handful of cherries picked straight from the tree! if you want peace and tranquility in this magnificent area of France stay here!

Room Tip: All the rooms are on two levels, the lower level being for cooking and sitting - it is ideal for sel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on September 20, 2012 and had a very pleasant stay. The owners were very accommodating and we had a very large pleasant room with bath over what was once a shed. The property is in a beautiful area surrounded by hills and vineyards and makes a great place to go for a stroll. Breakfast was served on a covered patio (lower part of the shed) and was most pleasant. Very good value. Nearby Prayssac has a great Friday market not to be missed. We had dinner at a very pleasant and good value restaurant called Le Pigeonnier on the other side of the river from nearby Puy Levesque.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Booked a room here in July 2010 only to be told that our booking had been cancelled a few days before we were due to arrive. No explanation provided - it could have been legitimate but I suspect it was because they received a longer booking.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Theroniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Theroniere

Address: Route De Therone | Lot Valley, 46220 Prayssac, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Lot > Prayssac
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Prayssac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Theroniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Theroniere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.