We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique location, highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa d'Acquarone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villa d'Acquarone to your Saves list
Villa d'Acquarone
Via Pasubio 5, 37036 San Martino Buon Albergo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A unique location, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed at the Villa for three nights while en route from Venice to Lake Como and we were delighted with our choice. Magnificent building, furnishings and grounds with a terrific staff comprising Camilla, Angelo and Andra who could not have been more helpful and welcoming, and who obviously take great pride in the villa, it's history and surroundings.
With only six bedrooms it is a very quiet and peaceful location but within easy reach of Verona and Vicenza if you can tear yourself away from the beautiful pool and elegant surroundings. Don't let the fact that this is not a full scale hotel put you off, Camilla and Andra can organise lunch if required - we had an excellent lunch by the pool at short notice - and there are some great restaurants nearby or in Verona which Camilla can recommend (be sure to try Il Busolo, 15 minutes away).
We stayed in the Moresca bedroom which was very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My husband and I spend two nights in Villa D'Aquarone to celebrate our baby moon, two weeks before the birth. It has been amazing to sleep in such a magic place where nature meets Italian history and culture. The villa is very close to Verona so it was great to take the car and explore the city when we were looking for shopping, art and entrainment. At the same time it is a very intimate place and even in early April, when the sun is shy and the pool is not accessible you can enjoy wonderful walks and runs around the villa's park. I was amazed by the delicious breakfast and well by the hospitality of the staff. In addition the orange room where we were staying in, was a perfect space for a couple who really wants to live a dream night. Spacious, detailed oriented and full of charm. We will love to come back and we suggest this place to anyone who appreciate nature, art and a true family feeling. It was a perfect escape from all that is way too modern, way to stereotyped and mass-hospitality oriented. Excellent!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Fleix, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

What a wonderful find. Set in over 300 hectares of grapes and forest is this little gem. The staff Camilla and Angelo can help you with almost anything, and often do. Their suggestions for restaurants were prefect - we even tried a donkey dish at one of the local places. The room was palatial, with frescos on the ceilings, a sumptuous oversized bathroom and views over the estate and surrounding village area. Visit the chapel - it's wonderful. We stayed 2 nights and it was a great base to visit Verona, particular with good directions regarding parking from Camilla. It was a great choice.

Room Tip: Our suite - Arancia had a stairwell close by. Some noise created by the use of others may affect you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Villa two nights. It was an amazing experience. The Villa is a jewel close to Verona. It stands impressive in the middle os a vast domais. Forest, vineyards, alleys leading you to the main gates. Inside you can visit all the grand halls and rooms of the Villa. We were lucky as no one else was at the Villa while we were there. The swimming-pool is a must when the hit is on you. If you travel with children you cannot avoid a fresh break during the day. You can also go on a small bike tour around the estate.

We stayed in the Giala suite, overloking the park and the swimming pool. High ceilings with frescoes, library, ball room, a beautifull chapel, a huge ball room, everything a unique experience to your senses. The staff very helpful. Ince in Verona don't bother looking for a hotel. Stay at the Villa d'Acquarone

For dinning, try the restaurant Sapore.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Spent an enchanting five nights at Villa D'Acquarone in July with my family of five.

The magic begins at the exterior gates to the property, which swing open and welcome you to the world of the landed nobility. Up a cypress lined road, surrounded by Valpolicella vineyards and orchards that cover the sunny hillsides one reaches the Villa perched on the hill, whose gates have been opened to welcome you to the estate, its lovely grounds, gardens and over 125 acres of park. Angelo, the porter/grounds keeper and night watchman is at the door to assist you to the property manager Camilla who offers a warm and friendly welcome to the Villa. The warmth and casual charm of the staff sets the tone of this property, whose beauty and elegance is authentic and unmatched. This is not a hotel, but an aristocratic home. We have been fortunate to stay at dozens of Relais & Chateau properties, historic properties and stately homes in the UK, but Villa D'Acquarone's offer to its guest is unique, our home is yours.

The rooms are stunning in their decor, size and elegance. The pool area, gardens and views are spectacular. The salons, ballroom and library are elegantly decorated with family treasures. One can only imagine the parties held by the Counts D'Acquarone and the prior owners in these surroundings.

We planned on using our time here to explore the Veneto and did visit Verona for a night of opera and a second visit to see sights and have dinner, also visited Lake Garda, Padova and Vincenza, which are nearby. Visited the Allegrini and the town of Soave to learn more about the region's wines. But, we spent more time chilling at the Villa, because it was hard to leave such an enchanting place.

Camilla and her staff will help you in way they can with reservations and recommendations. The Villa serves breakfast and can arrange for simple catered lunches for those who want to "chill by the pool" as my young adult children said they needed to do.

During your stay, you may meet one of the owners, Zeno D'Acquarone, who is a businessman with many irons in the fire. You will thank him for opening his family's home to yours as we did. You may also find yourself wondering how you are going to convince your party, in my case my wife and offspring, to leave one of the most charmingly elegant and luxurious places in Italy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

What a wonderful place! We arrived late afternoon and after getting a bit lost, we were relieved to find the gates of the estate. The grounds are beautiful as is the villa. You will truly feel cared for here at Villa d'Acquarone. Camilla was there to great us along with the houseman Angelo who will buzz you in late at nihgt. They explain everything to you. The villa is grand and inviting and your family will feel like royaty staying amongst its treasures. Our family likes to stay at interesting places and this is one of the few places that actually looks like the website. Rent the mountain bikes for a morning or afternoon and explore the grounds as we did. Sit by the beautiful pool. Enra will serve you a simple but tasty breakfast in the morning and can arrange for a wonderful lunch if you so desire. She is a wonderful young woman who is a delight to be around. Dont be afraid of the distance to Verona. It is an easy and quick 10 minute drive and there was little or no traffic. Tourists must park in specified areas and not dirve int he city but we didnt find this to be a problem and Camilla gave us a map and advised all the places to see and where to park. Their restaurant recommendations were spot on. You will enjoy the gorgeous frescos on the ceilings of the bedrooms, the marble staircase and floors, the library with books and the ballroom with piano. We will be back!

Room Tip: we traveled with our 15 year old son. We had adjoining rooms, one queen room and he had a 2 twins s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

For 3 nights in mid-June we had a wonderful stay in this gorgeous and historic villa just a short distance from Verona. We stayed in the 'Nobiliare Arancio' room that overlooks the garden and pool that was elegantly decorated with a beautiful ceiling fresco. The property is perched up on a small hill overlooking vineyards and the town of San Martino Buon. We enjoyed great service from Camilla the hotel manager and would definitely come back. The villa and its grounds are maintained to high standards. A big benefit is that it has a well appointed small gym, unusual for Villa's.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa d'Acquarone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Acquarone

Address: Via Pasubio 5, 37036 San Martino Buon Albergo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > San Martino Buon Albergo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in San Martino Buon Albergo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa d’Acquarone: a magical step back in time to the 17th century. Minutes from Verona, the sprawling estate has evolved, with a striking fusion of Neoclassical, Moorish, Romanesque and Neo-Gothic elements. Owned by the d’Acquarone family for over a century, Counts Zeno and Vittore maintain this extremely private haven with swimming pool, 100-acre park, chapel, library, ballroom and aviary. Noble rooms feature frescos, precious carpets, period furniture, marble bathrooms; plasma TV and wi-fi offer contemporary comfort, and all have stunning views of the vast park. Villa d’Acquarone is a perfect solution for select events in a unique and exclusive location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your Villa d'Acquarone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa D'Acquarone Province Of Verona/San Martino Buon Albergo, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa d'Acquarone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.