We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were little bit suprised in the begining, but finally we were satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta La Lupa

Save Saved
You added Tenuta La Lupa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tenuta La Lupa
Via Roma, 110 | Le Badie, 56040 Castellina Marittima, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We were little bit suprised in the begining, but finally we were satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Maybe, it was because we arrived in the begining of the season, but it looked, nobody wasn´t waiting for us at check-in. We came at 05:00 p.m. and nobody was there. After a while, receptionist arrived and checked us in. At the end we were alone in the hotel overnight. The room was nice decorated, clean bathroom, nice surroundings around the hotel. Breakfast was poor, but it was because, nobody was there except us. Finally, we were pleased to be there and had a romantic evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    38
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
68
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Regensburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

we (2 ladies + 1 dog) booked the hotel because of the location, the price and especially the offered "American breakfast" - which consisted of an Italian breakfast with additional cornflakes and hard boild eggs (scrambled eggs would have costed extra!) - and the "Spa/Wellness treatments" - which we were told would be "next door" but were however somewhere in a nearby village. Our room was small, no balcony and directly at the staircase which was quite loud (felt as if people walked over your head). Upon arrival we were not welcomed with warm words but with all the house rules. The chef cooks excellent but do book the half-board in advance or you will be charged € 9,- more for the same dinner or have to pay the regular restaurant price which is even more. Location is very good for short trips in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio Z, Direttore at Tenuta La Lupa, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Guest,
we remember very well about your stay and your compliments before you left, honestly all these critical points are absolutely unexpected, because probably it was better to discuss any problem directly with you here.
Anyway, we first want to thank you for leaving your complaint because it will be useful for us to avoid doing the same mistakes with the next guests.
Let’s start from Breakfast, you probably forgot that our Breakfast is composed of: croissants, three different kinds of homemade cakes, ( crostata, chocolate cake and apple pie), six or seven different kinds of yogurt, cereals, marmalade, honey, butter, Nutella, fette biscottate , biscuits, fresh fruits, and 4 different kinds of fruit juices and of course boiled eggs. Then, on request and free of charge, we also serve ham and cheese. For scrambled eggs (3 per portion and made at the moment ) there is an extra charge of only 3 €. We are sorry.

Wellness: this is really a surprise because we don’t talk about wellness in our web site and we remember that in your reservation you asked about wellness and massage pricelist but we promptly replied that our hotel is not a Wellness Hotel and Spa and we could send you in a Beauty Center in the nearby. We also mentioned Rosignano ( which is 5 km far from us) if you check the mail.
Regarding your room, it was a standard room as you booked from our on line reservation system and, as we clearly describe on the web site, the room is about 14 sq mt including bathroom and without terrace or balcony; when you booked your room there was also the superior room available with balcony for 20 € more per day, but you took a special offer on the standard room and you got exactly what you bought.
Restaurant. We warmly thank you for compliments and we need to explain that the half board ( available on line for only 15 € more per person per day) was a special package for 7 days in sale. When you phoned us before doing the on line reservation we explained it to you very well.
Then, from the moment that you booked the breakfast only, you lost the special 7 days package in half board treatment, that’s the reason why the cost of the half board ”just for some days” as you asked was
24 € instead of 15 €.

We are really sorry if our welcome was not very warm as you wished, we will do our best to improve our check in for the next times, but we have to list our rules to each guest because of course we have some rules and time tables and this procedure is necessary to avoid any problem.

By the way, we thank you again for your stay and wish you all the best.

Fabio & Vincenza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay in Tenuta la Lupa: quite and picturesque Tuscan province, excellent food and wine, amazing travel opportunities (just make sure you have a car!).
The hotel is family-managed: Fabio (also a chef of the restaurant), Vincenza and Fabio's parents, all the hosts were very friendly and ready to help. Special thanks for arranging a small birthday party for our daughter - a nice birthday cake with candles and 'happy birthday' song in Italian from all guests in the restaurant made her absolutely happy!
The hotel has its own swimming pool, very large and clean and, what was also pleasant, far not so overcrowded as the beach. The closest beach (famous Spiaggi Biance) is approx. 10 km, there is regular bus communication, but definitely the car is
a must to enjoy the hotel surroundings. We have visited the neaby Castellina Marittima, Rosignano Marittima and Castiglioncello, amazing medieval towns of Volterra and San Gimigniano are within 50 and 80 km respectively. The same distance is to Pisa and Lucca. Just make sure you choose proper routes - you will not be able to fully enjoy Tuscany hills with all their olive trees, vineyards and cypresses from a highway. To summarize, Tenuta la Lupa is a very good place to see and enjoy Tuscany in its heart

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms with their own entrance from the yard/garden are the best in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is very fine. We are take it because it is so nice and wunderful. The Romms are clean and big. The Pool is so nice and the vegetation around this area is the best we ever seen. The owner was very helpful and friendly. We also must say that the restaurant is so good that we eat nowhere else, we enjoy every day the best thinks from the toscany kitchen. Mr.Zucchelli make the best job we ever seen. At last we say: we came down this year to have a good time.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

A wonderful Hotel to escape the busy life.

The rooms are decorated in the traditional Tuscan way, simple but complete.
Well maintained rooms with Shower, Toilet, Bidet, Air conditioning and TV.
The breakfast is complete.
This hotel is easily accessible by freeway and is conveniently located in relation to the surrounding larger cities and surrounding beaches.
The pools are well maintained and are lovely cool, enough sun beds with umbrellas but also lawn with shade trees. Possibility of lunch at pool.
The restaurant in this hotel is of excellent quality, pure Tuscan cuisine with a wine that fits these dishes. Friendly owner and good English speaking staff, who did everything to give you a feeling of home on vacation to.
Guests are mostly Italian.

For us a great week and definitely recommended.

Astrid and Peter.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larvik
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Clean, relaxing, beautiful country hotel. Exellent service, good restaurant, an elegant poolarea, silent surroundings. This hotel has everything you need for relaxing, lazy days. It`s location is pefect for trips to the beaches or into Tuscany. We want to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Great food and wine, very nice rooms, fantastic outdoor swimming pool and last but non least excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenuta La Lupa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta La Lupa

Address: Via Roma, 110 | Le Badie, 56040 Castellina Marittima, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Castellina Marittima
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castellina Marittima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a Vacation in complete relax Tenuta La Lupa Country Hotel! The atmosphere of country farm with the services and attentions of Superior hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tenuta La Lupa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta La Lupa Italy/Castellina Marittima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenuta La Lupa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.