We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didn't keep what it promised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta La Lupa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tenuta La Lupa to your Saves list
Tenuta La Lupa
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Via Roma, 110 | Le Badie, 56040 Castellina Marittima, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“didn't keep what it promised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

we (2 ladies + 1 dog) booked the hotel because of the location, the price and especially the offered "American breakfast" - which consisted of an Italian breakfast with additional cornflakes and hard boild eggs (scrambled eggs would have costed extra!) - and the "Spa/Wellness treatments" - which we were told would be "next door" but were however somewhere in a nearby village. Our room was small, no balcony and directly at the staircase which was quite loud (felt as if people walked over your head). Upon arrival we were not welcomed with warm words but with all the house rules. The chef cooks excellent but do book the half-board in advance or you will be charged € 9,- more for the same dinner or have to pay the regular restaurant price which is even more. Location is very good for short trips in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio Z, Direttore at Tenuta La Lupa, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Guest,
we remember very well about your stay and your compliments before you left, honestly all these critical points are absolutely unexpected, because probably it was better to discuss any problem directly with you here.
Anyway, we first want to thank you for leaving your complaint because it will be useful for us to avoid doing the same mistakes with the next guests.
Let’s start from Breakfast, you probably forgot that our Breakfast is composed of: croissants, three different kinds of homemade cakes, ( crostata, chocolate cake and apple pie), six or seven different kinds of yogurt, cereals, marmalade, honey, butter, Nutella, fette biscottate , biscuits, fresh fruits, and 4 different kinds of fruit juices and of course boiled eggs. Then, on request and free of charge, we also serve ham and cheese. For scrambled eggs (3 per portion and made at the moment ) there is an extra charge of only 3 €. We are sorry.

Wellness: this is really a surprise because we don’t talk about wellness in our web site and we remember that in your reservation you asked about wellness and massage pricelist but we promptly replied that our hotel is not a Wellness Hotel and Spa and we could send you in a Beauty Center in the nearby. We also mentioned Rosignano ( which is 5 km far from us) if you check the mail.
Regarding your room, it was a standard room as you booked from our on line reservation system and, as we clearly describe on the web site, the room is about 14 sq mt including bathroom and without terrace or balcony; when you booked your room there was also the superior room available with balcony for 20 € more per day, but you took a special offer on the standard room and you got exactly what you bought.
Restaurant. We warmly thank you for compliments and we need to explain that the half board ( available on line for only 15 € more per person per day) was a special package for 7 days in sale. When you phoned us before doing the on line reservation we explained it to you very well.
Then, from the moment that you booked the breakfast only, you lost the special 7 days package in half board treatment, that’s the reason why the cost of the half board ”just for some days” as you asked was
24 € instead of 15 €.

We are really sorry if our welcome was not very warm as you wished, we will do our best to improve our check in for the next times, but we have to list our rules to each guest because of course we have some rules and time tables and this procedure is necessary to avoid any problem.

By the way, we thank you again for your stay and wish you all the best.

Fabio & Vincenza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay in Tenuta la Lupa: quite and picturesque Tuscan province, excellent food and wine, amazing travel opportunities (just make sure you have a car!).
The hotel is family-managed: Fabio (also a chef of the restaurant), Vincenza and Fabio's parents, all the hosts were very friendly and ready to help. Special thanks for arranging a small birthday party for our daughter - a nice birthday cake with candles and 'happy birthday' song in Italian from all guests in the restaurant made her absolutely happy!
The hotel has its own swimming pool, very large and clean and, what was also pleasant, far not so overcrowded as the beach. The closest beach (famous Spiaggi Biance) is approx. 10 km, there is regular bus communication, but definitely the car is
a must to enjoy the hotel surroundings. We have visited the neaby Castellina Marittima, Rosignano Marittima and Castiglioncello, amazing medieval towns of Volterra and San Gimigniano are within 50 and 80 km respectively. The same distance is to Pisa and Lucca. Just make sure you choose proper routes - you will not be able to fully enjoy Tuscany hills with all their olive trees, vineyards and cypresses from a highway. To summarize, Tenuta la Lupa is a very good place to see and enjoy Tuscany in its heart

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms with their own entrance from the yard/garden are the best in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivartia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

This hotel is very fine. We are take it because it is so nice and wunderful. The Romms are clean and big. The Pool is so nice and the vegetation around this area is the best we ever seen. The owner was very helpful and friendly. We also must say that the restaurant is so good that we eat nowhere else, we enjoy every day the best thinks from the toscany kitchen. Mr.Zucchelli make the best job we ever seen. At last we say: we came down this year to have a good time.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uerige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

A wonderful Hotel to escape the busy life.

The rooms are decorated in the traditional Tuscan way, simple but complete.
Well maintained rooms with Shower, Toilet, Bidet, Air conditioning and TV.
The breakfast is complete.
This hotel is easily accessible by freeway and is conveniently located in relation to the surrounding larger cities and surrounding beaches.
The pools are well maintained and are lovely cool, enough sun beds with umbrellas but also lawn with shade trees. Possibility of lunch at pool.
The restaurant in this hotel is of excellent quality, pure Tuscan cuisine with a wine that fits these dishes. Friendly owner and good English speaking staff, who did everything to give you a feeling of home on vacation to.
Guests are mostly Italian.

For us a great week and definitely recommended.

Astrid and Peter.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lupo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larvik
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Clean, relaxing, beautiful country hotel. Exellent service, good restaurant, an elegant poolarea, silent surroundings. This hotel has everything you need for relaxing, lazy days. It`s location is pefect for trips to the beaches or into Tuscany. We want to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blaast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Great food and wine, very nice rooms, fantastic outdoor swimming pool and last but non least excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IamTomBologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

exellent hotel with clean and pleasant rooms. comforting and relaxing environment.
personal very qualified and available. restaurant with kitchen of high-level.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fragranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castellina Marittima hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Il Poggetto
Hotel Ristorante Il Poggetto
#1 of 1 in Castellina Marittima
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B La Matassina
B&B La Matassina
#3 of 6 in Castellina Marittima
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Badie
Hotel Le Badie
#2 of 6 in Castellina Marittima
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta La Lupa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta La Lupa

Address: Via Roma, 110 | Le Badie, 56040 Castellina Marittima, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Castellina Marittima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Castellina Marittima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Tenuta La Lupa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a Vacation in complete relax Tenuta La Lupa Country Hotel! The atmosphere of country farm with the services and attentions of Superior hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tenuta La Lupa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta La Lupa Italy/Castellina Marittima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing