We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arcea Hotel Mirador de la Franca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Arcea Hotel Mirador de la Franca to your Saves list
Arcea Hotel Mirador de la Franca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa de la Franca | Ribadedeva, 33590 La Franca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Franca
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Second trip to mirador de la Franca and not much changed in 9 years.
Great location on a fabulous beach. A typical family type Spanish hotel which maybe needs a bit of updating. That said, the staff were helpful and efficient especially the restaurant head waiter. The set menu was excellent and very reasonably priced. External appearance was a bit shabby and had the look of not really all that well maintained.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    25
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
17
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Beside what has to be one of the best beaches along the North Spanish coast. An immacualate white sand beach flanked by densley wooded hillsides and rocky outcrops offshore make this idylic spot (you could easily think you were in the tropics). Suitable for all ages. Excellent for families. The beach is clean, it is groomed and entry to the sea is shallow. This is the only hotel on the bay. Albeit there are 2 camp sites nearby and it is a locals favourite at weekends. Still there is plenty of room. Two restaurants beside the beach. Choose the beach bar furthest away. Food and service is top notch and inexpensive. The Hotel is old. It is clean, it is tidy. But don't expect any frills. A good 3*. Great staff and hospitality. F&B is OK, but it is not cheap and I would suggest driving out to restaurants in the evening. Few facilities and they fail to make the most of their location by not using the terrace for drinks. There is no lift in the hotel, so make sure you tell them in advance if you have mobility issues. Rooms are comfortable. But...are not air-conditioned, do not have hair dryers, nor safes (note Tea & Coffee trays do not exist in Spain). A great base for exploring the coastline and heading up the spectacular gorge to Potes and La Fuente in the Picos de Europa. A great hotel when the sun is shining, but could prove a bit too isolated in the winter.

Room Tip: As there are no balconies on any of the rooms then paying extra for a sea view is probably not worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Will always remember this hotel for location and accommodation - it had a lot of individuality. What let it down was the food, not the quality which was superb, but the quantity and price. Probably both at least double what you would normally expect for Asturias or Galicia.
We will return almost certainly, but next time avoid the menu del dia and have just one dish and share a salad.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is right on the beach, so ideal for beach-based activities. The sand is beautiful, the sea sheltered and clean. Hotel staff were helpful, the lounge is comfortable overlooking the beach. The restaurant food was excellent (we only had the menu-del-dia), but found the size of the meal to be a bit too much (4 courses). Note there is nowhere else to eat around here, apart from the separate cafe on the beachfront (and there is a campsite down the road with a small restaurant). We had a rear facing room, which had a balcony. The room was a little small, the bathroom fine, the beds comfortable. A bit stuffy at night though - no aircon. There is a tennis court (didn't use it), but the crazy golf is derelict. Altogether, the hotel felt a little "tired", some of the decor is fading and scuffed, but we enjoyed our stay. And yes, I would go back.

Room Tip: beach facing rooms have no balcony, rear facing ones do - take your choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have just come back from a week at this hotel and I must say its one of the best holidays we have had. I emailed them before we went to tell them it was our anniversary and to ask if they had any really special rooms. When we got there they had upgraded us to a terraced room leading onto the beach. To say it was lovely is an understatement, the beach was stunning, clean white sand and crystal clear sea it was absolutely stunning. The hotel staff were lovely and friendly and the room had everything you could ask for. The breakfast was great, the only draw back was the food in the restaurant. It was fine if you like fish but we found some lovely places to eat in Llanes and Ribadedella ( which has a great market on a Wednesday ). If you want a relaxing holiday away from the tourist places in Spain this is the place to go.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights during a golfing visit to northern Spain. Fellow guests included well-behaved bikers from UK on a rally. The hotel buildings are located right by a pristine cove/beach facing the sea. Had three good dinners in the evening. Decent breakfasts. Attentive staff. Quite a find if you're in this part of the world (about 90 minutes on a good road west of Santander). Recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Having just returned from this hotel I have to say that most of the reviews I've read are accurate but there are a few flaws that can spoil the experience a little.

The car park has some very deep drainage channels running through it that makes parking a vehicle rather awkward and uncomfortable. The room keys are very heavy and, in the days when many hotels use swipe cards, these are just cumbersome and not possible to carry around comfortably. The restaurant serves breakfast from 8.30 until 11.00 am and likewise dinner is served from 8.30 until 11.00 pm which for me and my wife was a bit too late. As the hotel is a bit remote it is not that easy to dine elsewhere either.

We went for breakfast one morning at 9.30 to find that there was very little food left as a bus party had stayed overnight and eaten early. Another day we asked for some sandwiches at five in the evening only to be told it wasn't possible despite a snack menu saying that they were available.

I don't want to sound like a moaner but these niggles, which for the most part could be easily resolved, did spoil our stay a little. Despite that the location of the hotel and the ambience makes up for a lot. Recommended but with some slight reservations.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arcea Hotel Mirador de la Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcea Hotel Mirador de la Franca

Address: Playa de la Franca | Ribadedeva, 33590 La Franca, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Ribadedeva Municipality > La Franca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Franca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcea Hotel Mirador de la Franca 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Arcea Hotel Mirador de la Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcea Hotel Mirador de la Franca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.