We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Carabasse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Carabasse to your Saves list
La Carabasse
Avenue de la Mediterranee, 34450 Vias, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Vias
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mostly great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Good large site. Staff mostly very friendly and helpful. Don't buy in shop on site as too expensive. Turn right out of gate towards Vias and shop in Leader Price. Drinks and ice creams also very expensive on site. Cynically, there are not enough white sunbeds but they will rent you a blue one for 2 Euros a day but even these run out. Overall had a great holiday here and the kids enjoyed the clubs. Would recommend a visit to Lac du Salagou (40 mins north) and the Gorges de l'Heric (1 hour northwest).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariepierrevias, Responsable relations clients at La Carabasse, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your comments. It's nice to see that you have had nice holidays at la carabasse.

Best regards

Marie Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    115
    52
    28
    9
See reviews for
239
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The kids clubs are a great way for the kids to make friends and gives us a couple hours of peace!
My girls especially like Iris and Helen who work at the kids club.
The pool is clean and well maintained, always able to get sun beds. Fun slides, good evening entertainment for the kids and adults.
Expensive ice creams but otherwise a great family holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariepierrevias, Responsable relations clients at La Carabasse, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hello

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at la carabasse. Thank you for your nice comments.

We will be happy to welcome you again.

Best regards

Marie Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Recently went for a 2-week stay in July with my 2 teenage children. The Manageress Marie Durrand was really helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived, along with all the staff throughout the 2-weeks. Accommodation was clean and to a good standard. The pool area was clean and supervised well by the lifeguards. The sandy beach nearby was great, as was swimming in the sea. Plenty of places to eat nearby, along with the on-site takeaway pizzas which went down a treat. We flew from Luton to Beziers airport which is only several miles away, then took a taxi to the site (allow 25 euros). It worked well for us. Overall, a very good holiday!

Room Tip: Choose a mobile home with air-con, and not close to the entertainment which goes on till late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariepierrevias, Responsable relations clients at La Carabasse, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for the really nice comments about us. It has been a pleasure to have you on holidays at la carabasse.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards

Marie-Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We are just back after 2 weeks in la Carabasse, This is definitley the best of all the Siblu sites, Very clean, good entertainment, great location, friendly staff and fab pools and beach club. We travelled with three other families, kids from 19 to 8 all had a ball. There is lots to do in the area and great cycling paths. the L'Atoll resturant on site is good value with lovelyOwner, very friendly. This was my 5th time on park and myself and two other families have already booked for next year. We flew to carcassone and it was only an hours drive to site no prob at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariepierrevias, Responsable relations clients at La Carabasse, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hello

Thank you very much for the nice comments about our village. We are really glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. All the staff will be pleased of your feed back.
We will be delighted to welcome you again at la carabasse.
Have a great summer.

Best regards.

Marie Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I loved this site and visited as a couple in June 2013. As always with Siblu (our 5th visit to Siblu various sites) the accommodation was clean and up to a good standard (stayed in Excellence booked direct with Siblu). The on site facilities, i.e. swimming pool area, restaurant, and take-away are up to a good standard and clean. We did not attend any of the entertainment so can not comment on this.

Cycling is great around here. If you visit the tourist office just up the road you can pick-up cycling route maps, that have numbered routes. These numbers are well marked out with directions as you cycle along. The routes are a good mixture of surfaces and scenes, with parts on un-busy roads, gravel, paths, through fields etc. Some routes take you through vineyards and through picture postcard feilds and scenery like a french painting. We always take our bikes and I would say these were the best rides for variety and scenery.

Also visited the local town 'Cap De Agde' which was a lot larger than I imagined, a bit like a mini Monaco. This is a lovely port only 10 minutes drive away where you can take boat trips or a mini train tour around the port. We did this and a local boat trip around the port stops although you can take longer boat trips to various places. The port has waterside cafe's / restaurants where you can just relax and let the world go by. If we had known there was so much to do here we would have visited earlier and more often.

All in all we thoughourly enjoyed our stay and will definately return. What else can you ask for, fantastic campsite, location and a week of unbroken sunshine.

We drove all the way down from Calais which took 10 half hours due to a couple of delays. Its a long trip by car but well worth it in the end.

Room Tip: Your need aircon - visit cap de agde
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariepierrevias, Responsable relations clients at La Carabasse, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hello

So nice to read nice comments about our us. Thank you from all the teams of la carabasse.
We will be delighted to welcome you again.

Best regards

Marie Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

June 15 to 29th 2013- Good location with easy access from Montpelier airport. Site is well laid out & very clean. We were in a mobile home just past reception lucky for us as the night entertainment goes on late (past 11.30pm) if you have small kids. The shop opening hours is a joke, it's closed more than its open especially annoying at lunchtime. Swimming pool area is good but the baby pool should have a slide in it especially as on our 12th day there they decided to put in a height restriction on the slide for toddlers going down with adults. So for 11 days my son just under a meter in height was fine but on 12th day he could no longer use it. Try explaining that to a determined 2 1/2 year old,
It was getting busy just as we were leaving so good luck finding a sun chair late in the day...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariepierrevias, Responsable relations clients at La Carabasse, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your comments about us. We hope you had a good time. We will be happy to welcome you again.
Have a nice summer
Regards
Marie-Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just arrived back from a two week holiday at La Carabasse. This was our third holiday at this site and we will certainly be going again. The staff at reception are not only polite but seem to really enjoy their work and were always happy. A special mention here to Mariete, who remembered us from our holiday last year and treated us like old friends.The lifeguards at the pool were very vigilant and did not tolerate any misbehaving. Also, the pool area is checked several times a day by security to make sure that everyone there, is entitled to be there.The main pool is huge and there was no shortage of sun loungers but we were there in June. July and August might be a different story. The music at the pool was not too loud unless you are in front of one of the speakers and it was easy listening music, not hard rock.Our mobile home was spotless and this year it had its own washing machine which was really good but I understand is a rare luxury. Vias Plage has plenty of restaurants and the usual seaside type shops. The beach is excellent. It is possible to walk in to Vias Ville ( about a 20 minute walk ) but part of the walk is on quite a dangerous road in places, with no proper footpath. Best to drive in if you can.We are still happy with La Carabasse and hope to return next year.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariepierrevias, Responsable relations clients at La Carabasse, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hello
Thank you very for your very pleasant comments about our staff. We will let them know about the nice compliments.
We all like our job very much and we are happy to have happy holiday makers.
We will be delighted to welcome you again next year.

Have a great summer

Regards
Marie-Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Carabasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carabasse

Address: Avenue de la Mediterranee, 34450 Vias, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Vias
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Vias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lively family holiday parc with a giant pool, 4-lane water slide and lifeguards, three free children’s clubs and packed with sports activities. The Mediterranean sea and beaches plus the resort of Vias Plage are close by. La Carabasse has tennis courts, multi-sports pitches with football coaching, a restaurant, takeaway, two bars, a beach club and an outside stage for evening entertainment. Spacious, modern holiday homes, some with terraces, provide the accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Carabasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Carabasse Hotel Vias

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carabasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.