We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Carabasse - An All Round Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Carabasse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Carabasse to your Saves list
La Carabasse
Avenue de la Mediterranee, 34450 Vias, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Vias
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“La Carabasse - An All Round Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We visited at the end of July with our 2 boys aged 10 and 5. The campsite was busier than we expected but it's facilities and location were superb. The swimming pool is great for all levels of swimming but get there early if you want a sun lounger! Kids clubs were great fun but Thomas aged 10 was a little disappointed that there were no English children when we were there. The local beaches are great and we spent most of our time there, best to cycle if you can as the roads are so busy. There are so many wonderful places and attractions to visit I can't tell you them all but here are a few - Europark, Aqualand, Perpignan, Argeles sur Mer, Beziers, Vias Saturday Market and many more. We kayaked from Roqubrun which was fantastic and would highly recommend it. The weather was amazing, not too hot and the caravans have lots of shade so they stay cool. Have fun!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariepierrevias, Guest Relations Manager at La Carabasse, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hello,

Thank you very much for the nice comments about our park. We are glad you had a good holiday.

Hope to see you again next year.

Best regards

Marie Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    117
    52
    28
    9
See reviews for
241
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My family and I have just returned from la carabasse, all I can say it was fab. The caravan was really spacious and clean. The site was was really good. The kids loved the swimming pool and the entertainment the best.

All the staff were really good and helpful, even when you had any problems they were sorted out right away.

The shop on site is expensive, so like everyone else said go to the supermarkets in vias.

We didn't want to leave, but we are coming back next year.

Thank you so much for a fab holiday

The Jones Family xxx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariepierrevias, Guest Relations Manager at La Carabasse, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hello,

So nice to see that you had a fab time with us. We will be pleased to welcome you again next year.

best regards

Marie Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We returned from our 2 nd stay at this site about 6 weeks ago and I just can't wait to return. We travelled at the end of May beginning of June this year and the same time of year last year. We love La Carabasse. I can't praise it enough the staff are fantastic. They make you feel very welcome from the minute you arrive. They would do anything to help you and they speak fantastic English and have good humour.
I have 3 children aged 2, 4 and 6 they loved every minute of the holiday. My eldest went to The Pirate Club which he loved and used to beg us to let him go everyday. The children's entertainment team were again fantastic this year and they made sure the children were having a great time from morning until night. They never looked fed up even performing all of the Siblu songs over and over. My children still sing the songs and remember the dance moves now (and my husband does too!!).
We were at La Carabasse for the Jubilee and they put on afternoon entertainment, fun and games and decorated the bar area. The staff work such long hours and do an incredible job and they look like they thoroughly enjoy it.
The pool area is fantastic and the lifeguards are alert and stick to rules enforced. You are not allowed inflatables in the main pools only the toddlers paddling pool. The pools are heated and can therefore be used on cooler days. There is daily entertainment in the pools area such as aqua aerobics,polo and sundancing.
There is a nice walk straight to the beach through a gate at the back of the park. There is a Lida Price (Ithink that's what it was called!) about 15 minutes walk from the site ( on a busy road) which is much cheaper than the on site shop it is 7euros each way if you did not want to walk. There is an Intermarche which is a bit of a further walk but I would not bother as it is more expensive and not worth the extra walk or few euros more in a taxi. It is bigger but just more of the same things really. The staff in reception will order taxis either way for you. We just used the onsite site shop for bread in the morning and milk.
Opposite the site is the local vinyard the wine is great and very cheap you can just keep paying to get your bottle refilled.
We only ate out about 3 times and never got further than the La Carabasse restaurant as the food was superb and they were very family friendly.
We had an excellence 3 bedroom with air conditioning and decking. The same standard that we stayed in last year. The caravans were of a very high standard. They were both very modern and exceptionally clean and very well equiped.
We were disappointed on our last day when we enquired about availability for next year we were told that the park is not opening until sometime in June next year. Which means they will miss out on lots of UK holidaymakers visiting in the half term holiday. So Marie if you are reading this please can you open as usual so the Hollis family can come again!!!! Thanks!!!
Overall a very enjoyable holiday which I would highly recommend :)

Room Tip: We had an excellence 3 bedroom with air conditioning and decking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariepierrevias, Guest Relations Manager at La Carabasse, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Hello,

So pleasant to read very nice comments about us. We are really glad that your holiday was fantastic.
To respond to your demand the parc will be open the 15th of March for our owners of mobile home but I can not take siblu advance bookings before june as I have explained to you. If you really want to come before you can book directly through our owners of mobile home.
Contact me if you want around march 2013 and maybe I will be able to help you to find a private renting.

All the staff thank you for your comments and wish you a happy summer.

Best regards

Marie Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My Husband and I had the best time ever. It was just the two of us so please don't be put off if you are a couple with no children or you are a group of friends going away. There are lots of people/groups of all ages and may things to do. Everyone is so friendly and nice, the staff really do make you feel very welcome and relaxed. We will be going back next year and are VERY excited about it. The local Mexican restaurant is well worth a visit!

Room Tip: Taxis are very expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at La Carabasse, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for the nice comments about our park. We are pleased that you had such a good time with us.

We are looking forward to seeing you next year

Have a good summer.

Marie Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My family (wife two children aged 3 and 5) came here solely on the Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. However, our mistake was not to take on board the detail of each review...and it cost us!
When "they say" don't buy from the resort supermarket "they" really mean it! It is unbelievably pricey. Make sure you buy things from the Hypermarket in Vias or even the local supermarche in Vias Plage as it is quite literally 50% cheaper.
If you can hire a car, do it, as local taxis will take your breath away.
This is a place to fly/drive to for the best value. Get a Ryanair flight and hire a car from the airport and you'll be fine.
The resort itself is great. Very clean, well looked after and policed by the staff to make sure that everyone conforms to the rules (no one gets in to the pool if they haven't paid!).
The caravan was practically new, very clean and well placed near to the pool area; not good if you hate Eurodisco thumping 80s dance music starting at 10.30 in the morning when you're having breakfast, but great with two small kids and not at all far to walk to get everywhere.
In the morning there are children's clubs;"Pirates" from 10 to 12 for 5-9 year olds and "Bubbles"for 1-4 year olds, but parents must stay with the Bubbles. The staff are very good, very professional and clearly enjoy what they are doing. This is a good time for parents to take some time out and sort out the day or prepare lunch etc.
During the day the main pool area is the place to go. Lots of shallow pools for the kids ( paddling pool, up to the knees of a 3 year old ) and slides that 3 year olds can negotiate. The beaches are a short stroll away, very clean and not heavily populated(in June anyway!) and ideal for a young family.
The local restaurants are good ( and I separately reviewed some of them) but Dads, you get no change from €50 even if you eat alone, with wine, and allow your kids to pick from your plate!
From a food point of view, buy from the Intermarche in Agde and create a spread on the Terrace of the caravan...even better if you can buy some wine from many of the Domains in the area....don't forget to take a plastic 1litre bottle and buy local wine at €1.50 a litre, or push out the boat and buy a bottle for €3 and up ( that would easily cost £10 or more in the UK)
All in all an ideal young family holiday for parents with kids from 1- 15 years old and we highly recommend it.
I could go on for hours about hiring bikes, cycling along very French canals, eating local cheese and almost everything Postcard, but I won't. I'll just end by saying that Tripadvisor got us here and I'm glad it did. Most excellent!

Room Tip: Keep away from the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at La Carabasse, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Hello,

Thank you very much for the nice comments written about our staff and park. We are always glade when people have a good time with us.

We will be happy to see you again at la carabasse

Have a great summer

Marie Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have just returned from our family holiday at La Carabasse and I am already excited about booking our next visit. We travelled with Ryanair from Bristol to Bezier and a really short drive from the airport to the holiday village. Reception were really nice and helpful on our arrival and arranged for someone to help with our luggage. We were in a great position on the park, just a short walk from the pool and entertainment. Noise wasn't a problem, our caravan was air conditioned so we didn't need to open windows etc. We had a three bed Excellence holiday home which was modern and spacious and very clean and the beds were very comfortable.
My little girl loved the evening entertainment and the pirate club. They were really great with the children and she cannot wait to go again. The pool was fantastic with three separate pools, one for the infants, one which was great for the smaller children and another one perfect for the older kids and adults. Plenty of sun beds and the water slides kept the children happy. Overall a great holiday and we cannot rate La Carabasse highly enough!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariepierrevias, Guest Relations Manager at La Carabasse, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hello

Thank you for the nice comments about our park. We are delighted that your holidays wer great.
Hope to see you next year.

Best regards.

Marie Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We flew with Ryanair from Bristol to Beziers airport, and spent 9 days at La Carabasse. We did not have a car, and given the weather was good this was fine. We arranged a transfer from the airport for 18 Euros with Noel (can be booked via la Carabasse reception), and the airport is 5 minutes from the site.

GOOD POINTS
+ The entertainment team were fantastic. My children are aged 7,6 and 2, and having been on many caravan holidays have never used the 'kids club' before. At La Carabasse we decided to try it out (4pm to 6pm), and it was great.
+ The entertainment team worked extremely hard. Special mention for Maxim, who seemed to start work at 10am, spend 10 hours looking after children, (enthusiastically doing the Pirate Club Dance 10+times per day), and then be a key part of the evening entertainment team. Also special mention for Julian and Daphne.
+ The beach was a 10 minute walk from the site, and it was quiet, with a shallow drop into the sea. The children loved it.
+ The swimming pool is outside (so presumably cold in early season). We went every day in the afternoon, and the pool was large, with 3 different sections and 2 slides. Very good.
+ There are 2 decent bars on site, and you can walk to 10+ bars and, 5 small supermarkets within 10 minutes from the site. The nearest decent size supermarket was Intermarche, which was c30 minute walk, or 7 Euro taxi ride.
+ The site is very clean and well maintained.
+ The 'adult' evening entertainment was good, and what it lacked in professionalism, it more than made up for with enthusiasm. Seeing Maxim do the Riverdance is worth the cost of the holiday alone.

POINTS TO BE AWARE OF
+ As the caravans are often privately owned, with Siblu acting as a booking agent, sorting problems can be difficult. It took us 3 days to get a fault with the shower fixed. You can rent direct from a number of owners.
+ If you have a young family check the location of your caravan before booking. We were lucky, but if you are within say 300 yards of the swimming pool area (where the evening entertainment is) it could be quite noisy in the evenings, until after 11pm.
+ Probably common with most of France, bar prices are quite expensive. There was a happy hour, (which I discovered by chance), but this is not well publicised.
+ Not sure what we would have done if there was bad weather.
+ The holidays are not cheap, and on the final day you have to have a sligthtly humiliating inspection to check your caravan is clean (including having mopped the floor, cleaned the bathroom etc), prior to having a 70 Euro deposit returned. In my view this is a bit over the top.

A great family holiday destination, and we are very strongly considering going back. Enthusiastic entertainment team, made it a special holiday for the children.

Room Tip: Check location - dont be too near the swimming pool due to the noise of the evening entertainment,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariepierrevias, Guest Relations Manager at La Carabasse, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hello,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.
We wil be happy to welcome you again next year.

Best regards

Marie Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Carabasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carabasse

Address: Avenue de la Mediterranee, 34450 Vias, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Vias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Vias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lively family holiday parc with a giant pool, 4-lane water slide and lifeguards, three free children's clubs and packed with sports activities. The Mediterranean sea and beaches plus the resort of Vias Plage are close by. La Carabasse has tennis courts, multi-sports pitches with football coaching, a restaurant, takeaway, two bars, a beach club and an outside stage for evening entertainment. Spacious, modern holiday homes, some with terraces, provide the accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Carabasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Carabasse Hotel Vias

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carabasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.