We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of our holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Residence to your Saves list
Hotel Residence
Avenue de la Cave 35, 34440 Nissan-lez-Enserune, France   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Best hotel of our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We spent a week cycling along the Canal du Midi and spent one night here.
From the minute we walked through the door, we were treated like royalty. After a difficult day (my friend lost her passport and money), it was just what we needed. The rooms were lovely. The dinner was Michelin standard. We all want to go back there one day.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We only stayed for one night in this enjoyable, comfortable hotel as part of our cycling journey along the Canal du Midi.

The quality of furnishings and fixtures was excellent for this grade of hotel. We did not eat dinner: a decision we later regretted as the alternative local restaurants were very limited and we did not want to cycle to another venue given that we had endured a hard, hot day's cycling.

We received a very friendly reception from all of the staff and enjoyed the terrace for breakfast. There's also a swimming pool adjacent to the terrace.

Our room was at the front of the hotel facing a narrow street, but we weren't disturbed by traffic in the night.

If our itinerary had allowed we would happily have spent a longer time here, and this time we would definitely have eaten in-house!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, consider booking a room to the rear of the hotel, although take into acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We stayed for two nights prior to a canal holiday on Canal du Midi.
Room perfectly adequate. Restaurant excellent with very professional and friendly service.
Breakfast was fine, but not up to same standard as dinner. But that is the best way round.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quarante, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Hotel Residence was our first stop in the region and we have since bought a home in the general area and eventually settled here permanently. We didn't exactly become personal friends with the owners but whenever we were in the neighborhood we would stop by. We recently returned after a lengthy absence and learned that the owners that we knew had sold out. Since we have not visited either the hotel or restaurant since learning of the sale, fair warning.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarbert, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife and I moved to Nissan in 2007. The day we received our house key was my fifthieth birthday, we stayed that night at the Residence and had a fantastic night dining by the pool terrace with great food, service, a friendly approach from the owners who joined us for a glass of trois tomates classique from local St Eugene vineyard. (magnificent red from the Languedoc) and welcomed us to our new home. We send our friends there when visiting as well as dining at every opportunity by the terrace '' Al fresco ''. This is a little gem, the quality of the food and presentation is stunning and the price is very fair. Don't miss out. Try for yourself you will not be disappointed. David and Maggie Watling. Nissan - Lez - Enserune.

Room Tip: Pool terrace view at first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

this was our second stay in the hotel though we have eaten here many times. we had to fortune to have our room upgraded and stayed in the main body of the hotel , which is stunning beautiful room with emperor sized bed very comfy indeed superbly clean room. looking out on the pool at rear of building. staff superbly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence

Address: Avenue de la Cave 35, 34440 Nissan-lez-Enserune, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Nissan-lez-Enserune
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nissan-lez-Enserune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence France/Nissan-Lez-Enserune

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.