We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a charming city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada del Angel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Posada del Angel to your Saves list
La Posada del Angel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   C/ Mesones 21, 29610 Ojen, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ojen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a charming city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at La Posada Del Angel in May 2013. We were on our way from Madrid to Malaga to Gibraltar and we needed a place to stay for one night. I fell in love with the pictures of Ojen and La Posada Del Angel online and I knew we had to stay there. And it did not disappoint! I only wish we'd had a few more days to spend there.

We were met by the owner in his golf cart down in the free town parking lot at the bottom of the hill. He was very friendly and helpful and spoke wonderful English. He drove us up to the hotel and helped us unload our bags and check in. We were given a room upgrade for free because there was extra availability for the night. He was also very knowledgeable about the town and was able to give recommendations on where to eat dinner.

The hotel is under new management (it was purchased in the last 2 years) and the current owners have been renovating and improving most everything. It even has a POOL now! The inner courtyard has a beautiful lemon tree and tables to sit at and eat breakfast under or relax. All rooms are accessed via stairs in this inner courtyard to various wings of the hotel. Just a lovely, lovely place. Every bit as beautiful as in the pictures!

Our room was quite nice. It had a double bed (two singles pushed together, as is common in Europe), a desk, sitting chairs, a bureau, and quite a large bathroom. Overall the room was very spacious (by European standards) and decorated very nicely.

Breakfast was included in our stay, and we ate it indoors as the weather was slightly chilly the morning we were there. The owner brought us a basket of breads, along with meats and cheeses and jam, as well as a bowl of fresh melon fruits and juice. It was a nice, substantial breakfast that filled us up.

When we checked out, the owner loaded our suitcases into his cart and drove us back down to the parking lot through the narrow streets of the town. Such a thrill! I would have liked to borrow his cart for an afternoon to explore.

Overall, La Posada Del Angel was a lovely, lovely hotel in a picturesque town. The resort hotels down near the coast are a dime a dozen. If you want to experience a true Spanish villa, stay in Ojen! You will not regret it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devon uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

A wonderful find, my wife and I were looking for a peaceful break in a warm and sunny spot where we did NOT need a car and could sample local bars and restaurants within easy reach. Marbella did not seem an obvious choice but we were attracted by reviews to this small town nestled in the hills some 15 kms inland.
The hotel is in the centre of the town, a pretty mix of narrow streets white houses with terracotta tiled roofs and a wonderful small plaza with a church dating back to the town's moorish roots. The fountain there has supplied fresh water for the residents for hundreds of years. Numerous small bars and cages surround the square, serving tapas, coffee or alcohol. Most evenings the tables are occupied by the local friendly residents and there seem to be only a few tourists who are made to feel very welcome. Do not expect to hear much English and we found our very limited Spanish stretched to its utmost limits.
The hotel is hidden up one of the narrow streets running off the plaza and has been lovingly restored by its current owners , Ton and. Helga, our friendly hosts who have made the move to Spain from their Dutch homeland. They made us feel very welcome and never made us feel rushed, nothing was too much bother. You cannot get a car to the hotel but Ton will collect you from the carpark on the edge of the village in his electric golf buggy, we managed to get our taxi to
drop us off in the plaza and literally had to walk about 30 metres.
The hotel has been created by converting five houses and consists of 17 rooms surrounding a small peaceful courtyard filled with flowers and wall fountains. The rooms have been tastefully furnished with antiques which have a distinctly Moroccan flavour , ours was large with a good sized on suite bathroom and a small terrace overlooking the central courtyard. You do not get views but a short walk around the town soon provides wonderful views down the valley to Marbella and the blue Mediterranean sparkling in the distance.
Breakfast ( the only meal available) is taken in the courtyard , weather permitting, and is good value both for the quality and quantity. There is a lovely swimming pool cleverly worked into the limited space available which is indoors with a glass wall which retracts, opening onto a small patio area. They have a serve yourself bar which contains a small selection soft drinks, spirits, wine and beer.
All in all a wonderful few days, definitely not for someone looking for a lively nightlife and limited enjoyment for younger children, but perfect for anyone looking to recharge their batteries remote from the hurly burly of modern life.
Ojen is also a good spot to centre a walking holiday, buses and taxis link to the busier coastal strip area .

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor with a balcony , no lift so not suitable for people with mobility probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Its hard to know where to start so I'll just shoot off some thoughts and impressions randomly:

The owners/proprietors clear LOVE what they do and it shows in every little detail including how nicely the place is decorated and kept. You'll feel like part of the family the moment you walk through the door. The breakfast under the lemon tree, Joop the labrador, the romantic roof terrace, the handy fridge downstairs for midnight desires, the wonderful town of Ojen which isn't at all touristy (as one might fear), the proximity to fantastic hiking, the proximity to Marbella (15 minutes by car) .... even if you forced me I wouldn't be able to find a fault.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Wonderfull rooms, lovely patio, pleasant city and informal atmosphere! Having diner with the locals on the lovery square was great. What a diference compared to Marbella.
Roel & Jacomine - Rotterdam - The Netherlands

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Met on arrival in free village car park and whisked up hill with luggage in the owners electric buggy, great start! We had a room with balcony whilst views not great it was secluded a great place to sit in sun or shade and read. The room itself was well equipped clean and comfortable, TV had numerous dutch german and spanish channels although no english news channels. Ojen seems a typical small village a 15 euro taxi ride away from Marbella. Plenty of Bars to eat and drink around the village square and a village shop. Would not recommend driving around the very narrow streets! Hosts were great happy to provide info and in the process of improving facilities including a swimming pool which should be available next year. Overall would recommend as a great way to sample local life a world away from the hustle and bussle of the nearby resort towns. A day trip to Ronda is a must.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambleside
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Wow, Ton and Helga - you have one wonderful place there in Ojen! We arrived back in UK today after five amazing nights stay at La Posada del Angel All the lovely comments made by previous guests are the reason we chose to stay with you and we are so pleased that we did! As well as the superb weather - there was not a cloud in the sky for all five days (think we just missed the rain!) - we enjoyed lovely and relaxing breakfasts underneath the lemon tree in the pretty courtyard with freshly squeezed orange juice, cold meats and cheeses, fresh fruits and a selection of the freshest breads! We stayed together with our sister and her partner in two of the rooms with private terrace and were really happy - really comfortable beds, lovely Spanish style decor and air conditioning too! The free wi-fi was a real bonus, not to mention the glass of home made lemoncello on our return from the local bar in the evenings! Ojen is a lovely bustling white painted Spanish town with really friendly people - we especially liked Diego's Tapas Bar and the super generous measures of dark rum and coke!! Thank you Ton and Helga for your friendly welcome and great hospitality, and for the lifts to and from the towns car park with our bags - you helped to make or trip so memorable. We will most certainly return to stay with you. We are especially looking forward to completion of the swimming pool! We hope you enjoy the five day fiesta next week!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel is run by a very helpful Dutch couple who are still renovating the property. They are in the process of extending but this caused us no noise problems at all. All the rooms are furnished to a very high standard and there is a very arractive courtyard as well as a communal siting area where breakfast is served. despite the appaling weather Ton and his wife were always at hand to give advice and tips.
The hotel is righ in the middle of Ojen and parking is a real problem. There are only two parking spaces, one of which is used by the hotel. If coming from Marbella take the first road to your right marked Ojen. It will soon come into sight. At a roudabout turn right and you are soon in a large car park at the foot of the town. Park here. Walk up the road leaving the back right of the car park and bear right, after 60 meters there is a farmacy on your right. The hotel is about 50 metres up the very narrow road opposite the farmacy. Ton will go down in the buggy and collect your luggage from the car park.
Despite the deluge when we where there I would highly recommend this place. A real find.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have their own terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojen
4.0 mi away
La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel
10.9 mi away
Amanhavis Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 79 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
12.6 mi away
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
19.4 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 73 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Angel

Address: C/ Mesones 21, 29610 Ojen, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ojen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ojen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada del Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming place in traditional Andalusian-Moorish style with 15 rooms built around a flowered patio, situated close to the village-square of the mountain village Ojen , 10 minutes from Marbella. All rooms have a private bathroom and satellite TV, air-conditioning/heating, free WIFI, some have a private terrace. Four family suites have a kitchenette. It also has a heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Posada del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Angel Ojen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada del Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.