We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Final wind down before flying home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Urban Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Urban Villa to your Saves list
The Urban Villa
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Hacienda Los Canasteros 5 | Carretera de Ojen, 29610 Ojen, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Ojen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Final wind down before flying home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A perfect place to relax. Beautifully decorated house with panoramic views of Marbella and the sea. Rooms comfortable and the deluxe suite with access to the pool was best for us with 2 kids. Lovely pool. admittedly a little small when you first see it but deep and warm with that amazing view once you are in it. The house is light and airy, there's not air-con but there's a refreshing breeze as you are so high up. Each suite feels private (we stayed in 2) with its own large balcony and lounge area. Its not a hotel but a very welcoming and stylish house with rooms and space that you wouldn't get in many top end places.

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe its worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    11
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
55
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Peacefull place to unwind,yet 5 mins to the bustle.We loved it and the relaxed ambience.
Linda and the food(we had dinner one night just the two of us on the terrace)was lovely.
The dog 'Cookie' was also so endearing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stumbled accross the Urban Villa whilst searching for a boutique type hotel in the Marbella area but away from the madding crowds. Urban Villa doesnt disappoint, set high above Mabella with stunning views yet within a 10 minute drive from Marbella Old Town (or eur 8 in a cab). We were due to stay in another hotel for a few days but we managed to change our booking and have another night in Urban Villa. Linda, the owner, is very friendly, incredibly helpful and runs a great boutique hotel. If you are planning a trip to the Marbella area and don't want to stay in one of those nasty faceless hotels in a concrete jungle but want peace and tranquility give this place a go - you'll love it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheUV, Owner at The Urban Villa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
It was lovely to see you both again in The Urban Villa and so soon. It is so great to read your complimentary comments, we really appreciate your feed back.
We would like also to say it is fabulous to have such lovely guests coming back again.
If you are planning on coming with your children next time, the perfect place we know you will thoroughly enjoy would be the Deluxe Urban Suite with private Sauna & direct access to the pool.
The Urban Villa Marbella is on facebook now if you would like to keep in touch & see what´s happening.
Looking forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed for a night but what a mistake this was! It is too short a time to be able to disconnect fully from everyday life, but it was fantastic. Linda was great with her knowledge of all things natural. All in all truly exceptional. Looking forward to return in a couple of weeks time.

Paula & Francis, Gibraltar

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheUV, Owner at The Urban Villa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
It was lovely meeting you both & big thank you for your fabulous review!
We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast conversation, we think we could have continued all day as it was so interesting!
We have introduced a few new breads to the breakfast buffet from the local bakery so when you are next over hopefully you´ll get chance to test them out, fig bread, chocolate & orange rye bread, olive bread, sunflower bread etc., and our neighbours are now supplying us with freshly picked oranges for the breakfast juice & home grown produce, they´re delicious!
Hope all goes well & that you are both feeling fine.
Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed in january for few nights and what I could say I really had a great time, Linda was very helpfull, service in the morning was very good,you have an open kitchen with drinks with plenty of options. if you want to relax and disconect from work it's the place to go, not far away from the mall center and few minutes drive form the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in the villa for four nights (relax suite) and we loved it. It was everything we hoped for and more.
The urban villa has been the pure definition of the word relaxing, the atmosphere around the house feels like home. we had a beautifull terrace to enjoy the sun and the pool was lovely as well.
Linda proves to be the perfect hostess. Everything from breakfast to dinner is managed according to the guests' wishes. We felt very welcome.
We would definately recommend this chique boutique hotel to anyone who is looking for a place to relax and to have daytrips from. 
Go and experience it! We would love to go back already, we are only home for a week...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheUV, Owner at The Urban Villa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thanks for your fantastic review but the pleasure was all ours!
We are already organising the villa for Christmas with Goose for the 24th & Turkey for the 25th December, so plenty of delicious food, pine christmas tree, bubbly, music & maybe even some dancing? Even the garden is getting into the swing of things as we are planting the beautiful red poinsettias all over, so if you manage to escape we are sure you will love it even more.....

It was lovely meeting you both & hopefully we will see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The awe inspiring location of this small hotel is only one of the amazing experiences of staying there.
The accommodation is unique and excelled all expectations. The ambiance, food, service and facilities were excellent.
I have stayed in many hotels and self catering villas in and around Marbella over the last 20+ years and have never been more comfortable than my stay at the Urban Villa last week.
I will definitely be staying there the next time I visit Marbella.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique .....follow the description on the web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheUV, Owner at The Urban Villa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Big thank you for your amazing review, it always makes us feel good when reading such great reviews. We are always so enthusiastic to ensure our guests have the best stay ever but after reading your review it just gives us an even bigger push and are even more enthusiastic & working even harder!
We agree with you & are so fortunate to have such a privilaged location with "awe inspiring views" above Marbella where you can see the coastline of Africa & Gibraltar. It is true, all the beds are definately so comfortable.
Shame you won't be able to stay over Christmas as we have all sorts of nice surprises installed & house decorated in the festive mood.
Enjoy the UK & have a great trip back to America.
See you both soon.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Urban Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urban Villa

Address: Hacienda Los Canasteros 5 | Carretera de Ojen, 29610 Ojen, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ojen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ojen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Urban Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Urban Villa - Marbella's hidden secret!The Urban Villa is an abode recommended among friends... An idyllic Boutique Villa Hotel with four stunning suites above the city of Marbella. This luxury residence, or as it is called these days 'Boutique Casa' is a haven of peace and yet so close to the famous beaches, golf courses, exclusive Puerta Banus marina & the exciting Andalusian lifestyle only minutes away... Each suite is uniquely furnished with a great sense of creativity combining traditional style with an artistic modern twist, creating a cool contemporary chic atmosphere and magical ambiance. Each suit has individual special features, such as a large private Finnish sauna, Jacuzzi with amazing views, large old fireplace, huge panoramic terraces & even a romantic canopy bed under rustic old wood beams. This privileged private location with breathtaking views of the coastline, Africa and Gibraltar Rock, really make this bed and breakfast stand out from all others!Staying at The Urban Villa is as inspiring as it is comfortable! For those intrigued, we welcome you to come and discover this hidden oasis. The Urban Villa - Boutique Hotel - Marbella ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Urban Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Urban Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.