We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Urban Villa

Save Saved
You added The Urban Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Urban Villa
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Hacienda Los Canasteros 5 | Carretera de Ojen, 29610 Ojen, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ojen B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The awe inspiring location of this small hotel is only one of the amazing experiences of staying there.
The accommodation is unique and excelled all expectations. The ambiance, food, service and facilities were excellent.
I have stayed in many hotels and self catering villas in and around Marbella over the last 20+ years and have never been more comfortable than my stay at the Urban Villa last week.
I will definitely be staying there the next time I visit Marbella.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique .....follow the description on the web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheUV, Owner at The Urban Villa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Big thank you for your amazing review, it always makes us feel good when reading such great reviews. We are always so enthusiastic to ensure our guests have the best stay ever but after reading your review it just gives us an even bigger push and are even more enthusiastic & working even harder!
We agree with you & are so fortunate to have such a privilaged location with "awe inspiring views" above Marbella where you can see the coastline of Africa & Gibraltar. It is true, all the beds are definately so comfortable.
Shame you won't be able to stay over Christmas as we have all sorts of nice surprises installed & house decorated in the festive mood.
Enjoy the UK & have a great trip back to America.
See you both soon.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
37
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Urban Villa truly is a little gem in the hills above Marbella - everything you could want from a small boutique establishment The Urban Villa offers complete relaxation(!), yet is still only a few minutes drive from Marbella Town. We arrived with the intention of staying 1 night ... 5 nights later we regretfully left!! Having finally risen from our magnificent 4 poster bed, most of our days were spent on the sunloungers on our private balcony! In the evenings we ventured to our favourite restaurants and also experienced 'Casanis' in the heart of Marbella Old Town (on recommendation from Linda, the owner of The Urban Villa) - similarly we cant recommend this restaurant strongly enough now!! One of the evenings we opted to stay 'in' and had a light dinner on our balcony with a drop of vino - dining in the outdoor air as the sun set, you can't beat it! We were then invited by Linda to join her for a g & t on the terrace off the main sitting room - a wonderful evening of stories & adventures & in such a picturesque setting! As a couple that like to literally put their feet up & switch off on holiday, The Urban Villa IS the spot in which to do so!! We can't recommend The Urban Villa strongly enough! Best of luck Linda in your new venture - the perfect host & as guests, assured a truly memorable stay! Looking forward to returning very soon! x

Room Tip: The King Suite - top floor of this beautiful traditional villa to yourselves with private balcony of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walvis Bay, Namibia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Urban Villa has amazing sights and we even managed to see the rock of Gibraltar so clearly due to the clear skies and the evenings were so special with the lights from over the sea in Morroco. Staying in the King Suite was so special and was such a great feeling just sunbathing on the private terrace, so picturesque with views of the cliff on one side & Marbella below. Breakfast was one of our favourite moment, chilling out on the terrace. Even though the villa is so peaceful it was only a short drive to places to eat and the host recommended some great places we would never have found alone. Luckily the owner emailed us a map to find the place as it is not on the beaten track. Overall a special place where we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheUV, Owner at The Urban Villa, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, we always put in a lot of work to ensure that all guests have a wonderful stay as it is very important to us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay & hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to The Urban Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in Deluxe Urban Suite for 10 days in 7-17th of August,2012. A perfect boutique hotel, with amazing views on mountains and sea and relaxed atmosphere all around the place.
BUT! Before booking we read a lot of positive reviews on hospitality of the owners, perfect service and home-alike attitude. Unfortunately, Michaela and Michael run out of the business just before our arrival, so Villa now has ner owners. Frankly speaking, we expected a little bit more hospitality:
1) The breakfast is awful, each day the same meal; moreover, each time we had to wait for it around 20 minutes (even if in the evening we asked to do it up to 9 a.m. we got it nearly at 9.30). As we had a car and planned a lot of trips all over Andalusia it was actually a problem. Moreover, we were always offered eggs just after we have finished the meal, not in the beginning - ???
Fresh juices were served only twice during the stay; other times we got juice out of the bottles.
2) In the middle of our stay some friends of Linda arrived in the middle of the night and became so noisy, that my father had to told them to keep silence (that was about 2 p.m.). It's not appropriate for such kind of Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheUV, Owner at The Urban Villa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on The Urban Villa as we take all clients comments very seriously.
We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our breakfasts, but appreciate your input. We have taken your comments on board and recently sourced a varied range of local produce which is served fresh daily, and are able to provide breakfasts to suit all ages, diets and cultures. We can also provide, on request, a breakfast buffet at no extra charge, for clients needing an early start for flights or day trips. This can be served at any time during the night or early morning, and is already proving to be very popular.

The noise issue has been taken very seriously, the Urban Villa prides itself on providing a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere, for all its guests. It transpires that the problem you encountered during your stay was an isolated and unfortunate incident, and not something which will be tolerated in future, by the management or staff . Please accept our sincere apologies.

We endeavor to be flexible, open to new suggestions and amenable where possible adding special extra touches, as our goal is to ensure that all guests have the best stay possible in The Urban Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stunning house, beautiful views, perfect location... we went home and re booked for later in the year immediately! Recommend that you have a car or taxi's back and forth could get expensive. The rooms are lovely and all with spectacular views. The King Suite...wow! Breakfast is spot on and the owners are on hand but never intrusive. A less than 10 min drive and you're in bustling central Marbella but its a lovely feeling to get back to the villa in the evening...so peaceful. Loved the sound of cockerels and birds in the morning and the views of Africa across the sea. The house has been decorated to such a high standard and feels so homely. I just can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: I wouldn't be disappointed with any of the rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olhao, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We were amazed by this lovely "boutique villa". Not only by the fantastic location (right on the mountain, great views of Marbella and even Gibraltar and Africa), but mostly by the simplicity and confort of the accomodations, and specially by the kindness and the atention to every details of the hosts. On request, they provide champagne on the room and they prepare a great dinner, served right on your private terrace with a cozy and inspiring ambiance... Breakfast also great. Unfortunately the weather was bad, so the pool was not an option. This was the only downside, nothing to do with the hotel itself. Strongly recommend it for a peaceful vacation in Marbella, avoidind the crowds, but especially for a romantic escape.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The Urban Villa is a beautiful guest house sitting on a mountain with an awesome view of Marbella and the sea. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. They actually sent us directions on how to get to the hotel beforehand because they know sometimes there are problems with the GPS on how to get there which I thought was a nice touch. The room was spacious and I loved the collection of DVD's and magazines, the shared kitchen, and the lounge area. The breakfast was good and plenty in the morning as well.
I wish it was warmer to enjoy the pool but the pool area was very nicely maintained and with a great view as well. It was a nice and comfortable place to relax. The only thing is that it is quite far (15min driving) from the center of Marbella but we did see people take a taxi to the villa if you want a night out. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Urban Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urban Villa

Address: Hacienda Los Canasteros 5 | Carretera de Ojen, 29610 Ojen, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ojen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ojen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Urban Villa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Urban Villa - Marbella's hidden secret!The Urban Villa is an abode recommended among friends... An idyllic Boutique Villa Hotel with four stunning suites above the city of Marbella. This luxury residence, or as it is called these days 'Boutique Casa' is a haven of peace and yet so close to the famous beaches, golf courses, exclusive Puerta Banus marina & the exciting Andalusian lifestyle only minutes away... Each suite is uniquely furnished with a great sense of creativity combining traditional style with an artistic modern twist, creating a cool contemporary chic atmosphere and magical ambiance. Each suit has individual special features, such as a large private Finnish sauna, Jacuzzi with amazing views, large old fireplace, huge panoramic terraces & even a romantic canopy bed under rustic old wood beams. This privileged private location with breathtaking views of the coastline, Africa and Gibraltar Rock, really make this bed and breakfast stand out from all others!Staying at The Urban Villa is as inspiring as it is comfortable! For those intrigued, we welcome you to come and discover this hidden oasis. The Urban Villa - Boutique Hotel - Marbella ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Urban Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Urban Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.