We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience for Style , comfort & scenic views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Urban Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Urban Villa to your Saves list
The Urban Villa
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Hacienda Los Canasteros 5 | Carretera de Ojen, 29610 Ojen, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Ojen B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
1 review
“Excellent experience for Style , comfort & scenic views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had an unforgetable good experience of staying at the property staying with our teenage sons. The property is located on a hill top with breath taking views , owners take extra care of guests due to less no. of rooms , the rooms are done up gracefully and have a kitchenette attached , buffet breakfasts are efficiently served on the terrace. Beach / town area are a mere ten minute drive.
What else one can ask for - we will be back soon.
Shefali & Sanjeev , India.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
46
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pavia, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

My girlfriend and I had a romantic getaway at the Urban Villa in late June and we were so pleased with everything that we will definitely be going back. Michael and Michaela are not just excellent hosts, amazingly friendly, helpful and just damn right nice, they made our stay unforgettable always helping with anything we needed and we never felt like anything was too much. Spectacular views doubled with sublime service, small touches like flowers and candles set a peaceful and therapeutic ambience ideal for anyone looking to slip into cloud 9 for a while! Must have a car if you're looking to stay there but again speak to Michael and he'll get you the cheapest deal you can find! Away from pretentious parts of Marbella and close enough to go to see the simply delightful parts of Old Town, ONLY IF you can drag yourself away from the several balconies and extensive panoramic views that the Urban Villa has to offer you! My thoughts, sit back relax and forget about the world......... M&M well done, you get 12/10 from myself and the mrs, can't wait to come again!

Room Tip: Romance suite is sublime, we could have never left!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

This place is a real find and makes a fantastic for couples, groups of friends or families wanting a getaway that's removed from the hustle and bustle of the beachfront of Marbella.

+ves
Large comfortable rooms, lots of nice details and lovely toiletries.
Amazing views of the mountains and sea
Every suite has a terrace and the breakfast terrace is just lovely
Lovely furnishings and decorations
Friendly owners who are there when you need them but give guests plenty of space
Handy shared kitchen (but not the gorgeous one picture on the website!)
Short drive to the Old Town and a also major shopping center for when you want to stock up on supplies or get some retail therapy
Quiet and very comfortable

-ves
Up in the hills means there's nowhere to go on foot and you'll need a car if you want to get around. We stayed for a long weekend and made do with taxis when we wanted to go out.
The main access to the pool is via one of the suites so unless you are staying in this room use the other entrance. (Note to hosts, please don't show guests who aren't staying in this room through the room to the pool area).
The pool is the same size as a regular domestic swimming pool but with the beautiful landscaping only comfortably sits around 3 people around it.
No secure gate around the pool to prevent children gaining access

All in all a fantastic place which I hope to visit again and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I have just spent a long weekend with 4 other friends. It was fantastic. Our hots were so welcoming and hospitable. It felt like there was nothing that they would not help us with. And we tested it out by forgetting our keys and coming home at 3am!!! Nothing but charm. Breakfast was delicious. The setting of the house high on a hill is wonderful. One downside is that taxis do have trouble finding the place so you need to know where you are going!

With kitchen facilities, lounge and terrace areas and the most comfortable of beds, you could easily spend all your time there watching the city below. The pool gets full sun all day so is perfect for spending the day. The surround around the pool is a little lacking on space so you would not want more than 4-5 of you sitting there. We were lucky the other guests chose not to use it at the same time.

I would highly recommend this place to groups, couples or families. But think about renting a car if you are wanting to get around a lot as it is not in walking distance to anything!

Room Tip: Ask for the larger suites first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Urban Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urban Villa

Address: Hacienda Los Canasteros 5 | Carretera de Ojen, 29610 Ojen, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ojen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ojen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Urban Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Urban Villa - Marbella's hidden secret!The Urban Villa is an abode recommended among friends... An idyllic Boutique Villa Hotel with four stunning suites above the city of Marbella. This luxury residence, or as it is called these days 'Boutique Casa' is a haven of peace and yet so close to the famous beaches, golf courses, exclusive Puerta Banus marina & the exciting Andalusian lifestyle only minutes away... Each suite is uniquely furnished with a great sense of creativity combining traditional style with an artistic modern twist, creating a cool contemporary chic atmosphere and magical ambiance. Each suit has individual special features, such as a large private Finnish sauna, Jacuzzi with amazing views, large old fireplace, huge panoramic terraces & even a romantic canopy bed under rustic old wood beams. This privileged private location with breathtaking views of the coastline, Africa and Gibraltar Rock, really make this bed and breakfast stand out from all others!Staying at The Urban Villa is as inspiring as it is comfortable! For those intrigued, we welcome you to come and discover this hidden oasis. The Urban Villa - Boutique Hotel - Marbella ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Urban Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Urban Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.