We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Podere Il Fornacino

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Luce
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Agriturismo Podere Il Fornacino
Save Saved
You added Agriturismo Podere Il Fornacino to your Saves list
Via del Commercio Nord, 11, 56040 Santa Luce, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Santa Luce B&B and Inns
Santa Luce, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The real deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I am currently writing from the agriturismo! We had the fantastic oportunity of staying here for a week just before easter & i can't let everyone know how happy i am to have chosen this agriturismo. The hosts are really nice, helpful & corteous...they will go out of their way to show you around, tell you anecdotes of little pieces of interesting information. The location is breathtaking: really traditional 'tuscan' hills, emerald green valleys, medieval very picturesque village of Santa Luce. It's a part of Tuscany i think hasn't really been discovered by mass tourism so it's quiet, stunning and authentic...it really has nothing to do with the Sienese hills, S. Gimignano & hyped up tuscan attractions. We have been able to visit loads of places too from Pisa, Lucca & Volterra to the rugged coastal scenery which is really nearby. So i would definately reccomed it as a base if you don't want to be in the middle of things but still have easy access to a lot. The farm is really well kept & the animals seem more like an extension of the family! Lora & Marco, being as really young couple are really easy to talk to & have been really good with our kids: letting them milk, pet the animals & explaining how farm life works. They are really passionate about what they do & this is reflected in everything from the beautiful rooms & all the tiny details, to the well kept garden & especially in the food they cook for their guests.
I would say one of the BEST things about our stay at Podere Il Fornacino. What amazed me is that every day we have eaten here the menu has been completely different: loads of little courses to taste different tipical italian recepies and using everything they produce theirselves on the smallholding. The quality of the food has been excellent and the presentation of every course is breathtaking. At the end of each meal we have been so full we have almost needed to be rolled out of the reastaurant!
We are staying in Suite degli Innamorati & it's just beautiful. It's really unpretentious but could be considered 5 star: wood fireplace in the room with a constant supply of firewood they cut themselves in the wood, a jacuzzi bath for evening chill out & just alround beautiful furniture, paintings & bed linen.
Our kids don't want to leave & we don't want our holiday to end either, but no worries as we will definately be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novosibirsk, Novosibirsk, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We've been there in April 2012. The weather was much colder than expected. For Russians it is pity not to have the bedroom heating in night hours, but it is only one disappointment. Everything else was just perfect. Our daughter is still asking us every week to come back to Lora and Marco house. The place is really quiet, calm, beatiful. The old style house with all those furniture, fabrics, dishes.... The nice food, very entertaining for kids farm, and incredible dooogs..... So, Lora, Marco, my respect and saluti cordiali from my family!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

It was our first experience in Italy, the three of us, including a two year old, started in the beautiful city of Pisa, then stayed for one and a half weeks at Agriturismo Podere Il Fornacino. Set in the Tuscan countryside the views and surroundings are breathtaking, evenings can be spent sitting by the pool overlooking a valley whilst watching the sun set. The garden is full of flowers and herbs, smelling of Rosemary during the hot summer days.

We stayed in the Delle Rose Suite, a ground floor suite comprising of a bedroom, bathroom and sitting room. Outside was a little private terrace with a wooden table where we enjoyed a few dinners watching the fireflies. The rooms themselves are beautifully decorated with a fantastic attention to detail, from the hand printed towels and bedlinen to the furniture and pictures on the walls.

From the moment we arrived Marco and Lora made us feel welcome. They are not only inspiring people, running the farm, looking after their animals and olive trees, but also extremely attentive towards their guests. Even knowing they had to get up early in the mornings they still found time to have a little chat with us in the evenings.

Our two year old loved all the animals and we had to visit them every morning to say ‘hello’ in chicken, goat, donkey and duck!

Words cannot describe the gastronomic delight of Marco's cooking. It was so good that we chose to stay at the farm for most evening meals excited to know what he would create. The food is a blend of traditional Tuscan recipes and contemporary techniques using a lot of their own or locally sourced produce, from hand made goats cheese, jams and chutney's to 'enorme' fish!

It’s definitely not our last visited and we’d strongly recommend it anyone. It’s a fantastic base for exploring Tuscany, in easy reach of the main towns and cities but off the main tourist trail.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent there a week in June, it was great for my 1 year old baby!
We really appreciated the place, The relax and also what we could eat, especially breakfast with a lot of choice of homemade products!

Hope to Go back there really soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

There is a saying... "To know a country you must eat a country"... well Lora and Marco certainly delivered the most fresh, organic, colourful, tasty, beautifully presented Tuscan dishes! Lora and Marco made our first visit to Tuscany unforgettable. Our room was spacious and beautifully presented... tiny details such as original paintings, pretty linen and robes and the amazing wardrobe, which had a carving of what looked like Mr Tumnus out of The Lion, the witch and the wardrobe!! The view of the medieval village from our room was a picture postcard and the grounds were immaculate. The location of the villa was a perfect, tranquil, hideaway for completely relaxing and soaking up the fabulous views. As wildlife lovers we were thrilled to see many birds including Hoopoe's, Montagu's Harrier's and a Golden Oriole. In the evening we were entertained by the light show given off by the Fireflies and delighted to watch a Hummingbird Moth visit the vast number of flowers. We particularly fell in love with the horses and the donkeys who were very happy to be stroked. One of the biggest Tibetan Monasteries was a short drive away, which was really interesting and welcoming, in a beautiful setting. We highly recommend staying with Lora and Marco and can honestly say it was one of the best holidays we've ever had! We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Marco, the owner and chef, is amazing, so you have to have at least a few meals on site and prepared by him. Lora, the other owner, is so sweet and a very welcoming and warm hostess. The rooms are not luxurious but instead comfortable; it is as if you were staying at your relative's villa. There is a beautiful pool with amazing views of Tuscany, and Lora and Marco are happy to show you around the property to interact with the animals and olive trees. The villa is in a great location, too. Close to Lucca, Siena, Pisa, the water. We also had our 11 month old daughter with us, and they provided us a cot/crib, and we were able to leave her sleeping in the room and eat dinner downstairs (it was so quiet and peaceful, we could've heard a mouse), and during the day she loved crawling around all the grassy areas and smelling the flowers and playing with the cats. A delightful stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We visited Lora and Marco's beautiful home in July this year and were bowled over by the quality and style of this unique place. We were biased as Lora is a former student and we had been invited to lunch while staying in a nearby part of Tuscany. We therefore did not get a chance to stay in the house but saw the stunning self- contained apartments they have created alongside their own living area in the farmhouse. we were particularly amazed by how stylish the whole place is...antique furnishings, interiors worthy of a designer magazine but including practical details such as DVDs, baby cot, tea ad coffee equipment. Lora has an incredible eye for decor and has done a beautiful job here.
In contrast to many so-called agriturismo in this region, the farm is a working one with goats, chickens, horses, geese. Our two boys were thrilled to sit on the tractors and help milk the goats, pick vegetables in the allotment and swim in the gorgeous pool overlooking the olive groves. Without doubt the highlight of our day here was the lunch prepared by Marco. Everything was homemade or homegrown...foccacia, mozzarella, goats cheese, pasta, melon...all delicious. Lora and Marco provide a huge breakfast for their guests and will cook other meals on request.
Il Fornacino has recently started taking bookings after 3 years of hard work and we strongly recommend it to anyone looking for a stunning, peaceful getaway in Tuscany. We will certainly be back.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Podere Il Fornacino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Podere Il Fornacino

Address: Via del Commercio Nord, 11, 56040 Santa Luce, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Santa Luce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Luce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house has been lovingly renovated with a perfect balance of both Tuscan tradition and modern architecture, by the Pizzoccheri family who also wished to preserve, as far as possibile, the relationship with the nature surrounding the property, with the land, with it’s produce and with animals in a small working farm which is lovingly tended to in a modern and ecologically friendly manner. As a guest you can get a taste of the tranquil Tuscan way of life and the culinary specialities which both the location and Marco and Lora’s diligence, including in the kitchen, are able to offer you. The house is surrounded by a large garden with lawns and many varieties of plants and trees. There is also an attractive swimming pool with stunning rural views. The surrounding area offers visitors many possibilities for walking and bird spotting. Nature lovers will appreciate the beautiful scenery and walks in the Mediterranean woods which grow on the hills above the village. The many islands of the Tuscan archipelago can be reached from Piombino and Livorno and the islands of Elba and Capraia are possible as a day trip. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Podere Il Fornacino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.