We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment in overall hotel experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hameau des Baux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hameau des Baux to your Saves list
Hameau des Baux
Chemin de Bourgeac, 13520 Paradou, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Paradou
Park City, Utah
1 review
“Disappointment in overall hotel experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Suites were large and comfortable - i.e. nice sitting area, mini refrig., ok patio, but the overall experience was not at all 4star as the hotel claims to be. Grounds maintenance and upkeep were nonexistent; minimally staffed hotel, breakfast for 20Euros pp was very overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    25
    11
    12
    5
See reviews for
18
47
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oberrieden, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We privatised the hotel Le Hameau des Baux end of June 2012 for our wedding and it was an unforgettable experience.

The hotel in Le Paradou is very nicely located between olive trees, limestone and lavender just a couple of minutes away from Les Baux de Provence and Mausanne. There are 20 different rooms/suites each individually styled in typical provencal fashion - only 5 rooms are in the main building and the rest are located in the beautiful surrounding cluster of buildings. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Each room, individually designed, has flatscreen tv, air-conditioning, safe, minibar and free wifi. Most of the rooms have a view to the olive garden and a nice little terrace which invites you to enjoy the inroom breakfast.

The Hotel is cosy and casual, no white dressed butler or anything like that who could potentially make you feel uncomfortable. The hotel has a very nice terrasse overlooking the breathtaking landscape - just perfect to enjoy the breakfast buffet, a snack or dinner. It also offers a tennis court and a very beautiful pool area with sun beds to relax - perfect to cool off from the warm and beautiful weather of the Provence.

The staff is very friendly and they did whatever they could to make our wishes come true and make our wedding as unforgettable as it is. Once again a very warm thank you to all of the team members - we deeply appreciate all your efforts to make this dream come true. We and all of our guest experienced an unforgettable weekend!

My wife and I will keep this weekend in our heart and we certainly will come back to this lovely place soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Rooms are nice enough, if expensive (it is possible to find 5 star accomodation for these prices, instead of 4). The kitchen is a disgrace though, there's no other word for it. I've seen it described as 'inedible' on TripAdvisor and I'm afraid I have to agree. Apparently when the hotel first started, they had a decent cook, but he must have left this year.
The menu offers a choice between a chef's menu (three courses, no choice) and a kind of 'tapas' menu. The tapas cost 3 euros each, and there is some "encouragement" to opt for a menu of 12 of these. One needn't worry about overeating, though: our appetite disappeared completely after the first plate of tapas. They were uninspired, not fresh and just not any good.
Apart from lacking all traces of culinary talent, the chef is also dishonest. The wine card shows a "Domaine Hauvette" 2005 red at 53 euros. A "fair" price, given retail price of this wine at approximately 25 euros. When it was brought to our table, the label said "Domaine Hauvette Le Roucas 2007". Not only is it a different year than advertised, Le Roucas also an entirely different wine, the entry level red wine from Hauvette which sells in retail for about 13 euros.
I told the waiter that either they should lower the price to around 30 euros, or they should take it away. The answer from the kitchen was: the chef doesn't see the problem, this is the Hauvette we've always had (I'm sure with 400 percent profit margin, the chef has no problem with this little scam). They had the gall to suggest switching the wine to the cuvée 'Dolia' of Hauvette (95 €!). I said no thanks and ordered them to take the wine away.
Needless to say we opted out of their overpriced breakfasts for the remainder of our stay - at a few hundred meters in Maussane there's the "Café de la Fontaine" which serves a beautiful breakfast, incidentally.
Two days later when checking the bill, I noticed they had tacked on "2 verres de vin rouge" at 6 € each - a little 'up yours' from the chef for not buying in to his little racket, I suppose. In sum: rooms okay, just try to avoid any additional transactions with these thieves.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The property and rooms are very beautiful, a recreation of a Provencal village but the service , restaurant and price do not correspond at all! I had a much better time at a two star Hotel de Provence in Tarrascon. The restaurant service was the worst I ever had, after spending all day outdoors I was looking forward to a nice dinner. I waited for one hour before I was even offered a glass of water! The only reason I stayed was because the nearest village cafe was not within walking distance and it was 9:00pm and my fiance was sick in bed. I complained twice and was told that the waiter was new, no apologies at all or compensation and at least the very least,the manager should have been doing her job, there were only three other tables! The meal was bad, inedible and expensive. It is a pity that the service was so bad because the property and the room were very charming but four stars means a very high level of service and this was not the case. The toiletries in the bathroom were very limited and miserly. For kind service, a full bottle of and a nice room with a terasse and salon, I recommed Hotel de Provence, Tarrascon, two stars and five star service!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Lovely location with great rooms. Food was good and in contrast to the other reviews below we found the service attentive but not intrusive. All in all a very relaxing and lovely hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great hotel, lovely setting in the middle of an olive grove. Friendly service and very large rooms.

We loved the food at the restaurant and were impressed with the view from terrace. Paradou is such a lovely small town and it is very close to St Remy and Les Baux.

Room Tip: We stayed at Le Moulin (the one on the left of the property), which is set over two levels and huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notting Hill, London, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here twice. This is a true French country hotel with charme. Staying here feels like staying at a friend's house. It is relaxed without the five star stuffiness you find at Ousteau de Baumanier in nearby Baux. True, the service is much more relaxed but I find this to be a good thing. We will return!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hameau des Baux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hameau des Baux

Address: Chemin de Bourgeac, 13520 Paradou, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Paradou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Paradou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHANGEMENT DE PROPRIETAIRE Au coeur de 5 hectares, l'hotel Le Hameau des Baux est situe entre Avignon et Arles, tout proche des Baux et de Saint-Remy de Provence, au pied du Parc Naturel des Alpilles. Nous avons repris l'etablissement au mois d'avril 2014. Nous mettons tout en oeuvre pour transformer ce village au charme authentique en un vrai lieu de vie ou chacun aura la liberte de son parcours. Du petit dejeuner tardif au diner pris sur la place, vous pourrez flaner entre un comptoir de produits choisis, une boutique d'antiquites XXeme (tous nos meubles des annees 50 a 90, repartis dans l'hotel et meme dans certaines chambres, sont a vendre), une galerie ou peintres, plasticiens et ceramistes vous proposent leurs oeuvres. Soucieux d'un developpement en harmonie avec l'environnement local, nous avons imagine un guide touristique et des circuits specifiques et des evenements culturels federateurs. Nous proposons a la location une flotte de cabriolets de collection pour se balader en pleine nature ou de village en village. Sur les annees a venir, Le Hameau des Baux devrait vivre une veritable metamorphose avec l'ouverture de nouvelles suites, l'extension de nos espaces, la creation de nouvelles villas privatisables, l'ouverture d'un restaurant bien-etre et d'un spa d'exception ouvert sur la pinede. Nous souhaitons faire evoluer le projet vers une veritable modernite et imaginer de nouvelles experiences a vivre. Notre etablissement est ferme depuis le 15 septembre. Nous vous accueillerons des le joli mois de mai pour tout l'ete 2015. Nous profitons de cette fermeture pour continuer la transformation du Hameau des Baux et ameliorer nos services et votre confort. A bientot pour de nouvelles experiences, tres belle hibernation a tous(tes). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hameau des Baux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hameau Des Baux Hotel Paradou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hameau des Baux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.