We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in Provence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moulin de la Roque

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Noves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moulin de la Roque
Save
You added Moulin de la Roque to your Saves list
La Roque, 13550 Noves, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Nokomis
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfection in Provence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at Moulin in a beautiful apartment in the old mill building. Gaby welcomed us, even helped with our luggage after showing us around the fantastic property. The apartment was well appointed with two bedrooms, separate living and dining rooms and a well appointed kitchen. The master bedroom was airy with an opening skylight for good ventilation and cooling. There was a clothes washer and outside access to clothes lines for drying.

The property was gorgeous, with a large swimming pool, a private terrace for each unit, with its own grill and seating area. The views in all directions were spectacular. Located less than a half hour from Avignon Moulin was well situated for our plan to visit throughout the Provence.

Gaby assisted with directions and restaurant reservations, setting us up our first night, after having been traveling since the previous morning, with a local pizzeria that served a great grilled duck breast and frites- Pizzeria Rocas.

Out only regret was that with our busy itinerary traveling throughout the region we only got to use the pool once. If we have the opportunity to return to this area for another visit (there is still plenty to see) we will allow more time to enjoy the facility during the day.

Thanks to Gaby and Guy for being the perfect hosts.

Room Tip: A variety of choices including for larger groups - all the free standing apartments are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
77
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have now stayed with Guy and Gaby 3 times, and each time is better than before. We had 9 with us this time (6 adults and 3 children) and once again the 3 granddaughters were allowed the run of the grounds in complete safety while we had local wines and cheeses on the patio. The pool area is expansive with nice furnishings and a ping-pong table as well foosball so the adults can sun while the children play or swim.

Guy and Gaby are wonderful hosts and the Moulin a great venue. The village of Noves is very close by and has all of the necessary shopping for the stay. The town of St-Remy-de-Provence is a short drive and worth the time to see.

Room Tip: All of the various sized gites are suited to specific sized groups and the Owners can guide you as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful weeks in June at the Moulin de la Roque. The situation exceeded our expectations - beautiful facilities and grounds, delightfully welcoming and helpful hosts, fantastic location, and a charming Provencal town right there. All ages loved the beauty of the place. The kids (11 and 7) had a wonderful time swimming, playing badminton, petanque and jumping on the trampolines. They loved having the freedom to run and play without constant adult supervision.Young adults enjoyed the hiking trails above the property, and older folks loved strolling into town for daily croissants and baguettes. Each "villa" is situated in such a way to give everyone privacy, including separate patios for each house. Oh, and the landscaping is magnificent! Both grandchildren said, in slightly different ways, "I wish I could live here!" Me too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had been staying in Relais and Chateau properties for several days during this two week trip to France. We had a group of four couples and had stayed in Paris, Dijon, Lyon and Avignon as we worked our way toward Provence. We stayed at the villa, Les Cigales. The grounds are beautiful and they are adjacent to a state park for hiking. The villa was clean and up to date. Ate many meals we made ourselves and in local restaurants. The location was perfect to explore all of Provence and was barely 90 minutes from the Cote Azur. Guy and Gaby were great - providing suggested day trips and providing a tour of the property and the old mill. A wonderful week and we plan to return.

Room Tip: Les Cigales villa is the largest but these are other size options on the property. I think there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We typically stay in Relais Chateaux affiliated hotels when in Europe. Decided to go the villa route and stay in one place for a week this time, and worth every moment. Gaby and Guy are wonderful hosts, the villas are superb, and the grounds gorgeous.
They have done marvels with an old mill grounds full of history. One thing of joy superbly done is each villa having it's own patio totally secluded from the other villas. We spent many wonderful hours sitting, drinking wine, and enjoying perfect weather and friends.
It's a 5-10 min walk into a small village that is quaint but has what you need. And a perfect location for seeing the sights of southern France, many, many things are within an hr or so.
I highly recommend Moulin de la Roque, you will have a superb time without any regrets. You must get the tour and history of the site from Guy, that alone is worth the trip. It's a very special place, for them to have the vision of transforming this place into an experience they share with each of us is a treasure.
A special place with special people and worth sharing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in Les Cigales at Moulin de la Roque during the first week of June. The house was gorgeous, equipped with everything you could possibly need and a view to die for from the wisteria covered terrace. Guy and Gaby were the perfect hosts and couldn't have been more helpful. The whole complex was beautiful with a lovely pool area and great walks straight from the door up onto the cliffs above and beyond. One of the best bits of the day was the pretty 10 minute walk into Noves to collect croissants from one of the many bakeries in the early morning sunlight before long breakfasts on the terrace. Noves is perfectly located for exploring the many towns and attractions round about. We particularly enjoyed St-Remy-de-Provence, the market at Eygalieres, Les Baux de Provence (don't miss the Sound and Light Show in the old quarry - it's wonderful), Chateaurenards and the ancient town of Oppede-le-Vieux. Guy and Gaby have created a very special place here - we cannot recommend this place high enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I and her sister & husband stayed here in May for 7 nights in the 2nd floor Petite Moulin apartment which offered 2 bedrooms, a bathroom (with tub) and another offering a shower only. In addition there was the kitchen/dining area combined and a living room area. This apartment is quite spacious the kitchen table will seat 4 comfortably and there is enough room within to allow privacy if needed. There are french balconies off the living room and the "blue bedroom". In the other bedroom there is a set of patio doors leading to the back semi private balcony and there is a separate outside terrace area down beside the river for your outdoor barbeques. This villa is such a lovely place and we were fortunate to have met Gabby & Guy, their daughter and staff as well and they are all quite informative,friendly and helpful in giving directions etc. Of course beautiful Simba checked us out initially and is quite entertaining at times. During our time here we spent days bicycling or touring the local areas, picknicking, visiting wineries, canoeing by the Roman aqueduct, going to the local markets or walking into the hills behind. So much to do here! The A7 is quite close and I think its impossible to remain lost long as all roads seem to point to Avignon so if you follow those signs you'll find Noves which itself is a beautiful little town. The girls every morning early would hop on their bikes and ride into town to the bakerie for their goods before returning to start breakfast...perfectly safe and such a lovely area. The buildings and grounds in addition to the games rooms and pool are all perfectly maintained and clean. It is a peacful location and we would definately recommend you staying here. France is so beautiful and if travelling to this region again we will definately return to this villa..without a doubt.
Tramper

Room Tip: This apartment is quite comforable for 4 persons and is a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moulin de la Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin de la Roque

Address: La Roque, 13550 Noves, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Noves
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Noves
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOULIN DE LA ROQUE - Noves is a stunning historic twelve acre gated estate situated between Saint Remy de Provence and Avignon, in the heart of Provence, South of France. We are a charming hammeau (little village) with several farmhouses all renovated from historic buildings that once served the old mill. We are the owners, Baron Guy Fallon and Gaby and are passionate about Provence and our mill. We live in the manor house on the property and are here for you for whatever you may need. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moulin de la Roque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.