We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castel Brando

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Castel Brando to your Saves list
Castel Brando
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route du Cap Erbalunga | Bastia, 20222 Brando, Corsica, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brando
London UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A super gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here last week in May. We had a privilege room in the new annexe with a large balcony looking out across the smaller of the 2 swimming pools. It rained virtually non stop for the first 2 days and we both suffered from food poisoning on the 3rd day so when I say this was a fantastic place you get some idea of just how good it was. We've rarely found a place where it is so easy to just relax and do nothing. (Though there does seem to a be a lot you could do nearby, walking, diving etc and a visit to Basti is well worth while )

The hotel is right in the centre of the small village of Erbulanga and the main building is an (I think) C19th house which has had further rooms built on in nicely landscaped grounds. It is hard to remember that this is a 3* hotel because it feels much more like a 5*. Maybe this is what prompted some of the negative comment in some other reviews. The room was large, very clean, light airy and comfortable. A good buffet breakfast - cereals, croissants, Corsican ham and cheese is served on the terrace or in the conservatory (which can get a bit full) in bad weather. There is a tempting looking mini spa. Across the road and you are within a few metres of the harbour, and a stroll along the beach. The buildings are not poshed up and it is not really pretty pretty but the effect is serene and enchanting. The perfect place to stand and stare. There are a few shops and many restaurants, which should make up for the lack of a restaurant in the hotel. Unfortunately we found them all disappointing - maybe it was because we were off season, as a few get good reviews elsewhere but the food was standard tourist food in all we tried except for a magnificent pizza in the St Antoine just up the road from the hotel. Even Il Pirate a 1* foodie place was more style than substance.

But what really make this hotel is the staff - consistently helpful, friendly, pleasant and nothing seems to be too much trouble. When the internet went down due to a storm one offered me the loan of her i-phone to try the 3 G service. There is a reassuring feel of a well managed business, building confidence that things will run well.

To pick up on some of the negative comments here. I thought the pool area was very attractive, chairs and surrounding area cleaned daily and service available but not pushy. The newest annexe is near a school and you can hear children playing in their break periods, when you are on the balcony. You can also hear a church clock chiming - but the hotel is in the centre of a village its not a resort and we rather liked the happy voices. There was an intermittent slight drainy smell in the bathroom when it rained (we were rm 41 but this was easily rectified by closing the plug/trap on the sink for a few minutes.

There was just one negative - the bath was amazingly narrow - don't try it unless you are a size 10 or below

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    105
    22
    5
    0
See reviews for
49
200
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We were dismayed to read the negative reports on Trip advisor of this lovely hotel. There were a few niggles, but overall our impression was very favourable. We had a Privilege room in the newest annexe with private balcony overlooking the quiet pool - spacious and spotlessly clean. No smells, not dated, and a really comfortable bed with linen changed daily. The breakfasts were filling and delicious, exactly what one would expect from a hotel of this class in France, with bread, pastries, eggs, ham and cheese, jams and honey, all sorts of teas and coffees too, and when the weather was fine could be taken on the shady terrace under the palm trees, at tables decked with snowy white cloths. When it rained we ate in the conservatory, which was a tiny bit cramped but still delightful.
There are two pools - one heated and larger, one unheated and smaller and therefore quieter, but both pools had comfortable loungers and umbrellas if the sun was too much. There was also a jacuzzi, but we didn't try that. The areas around the pools were always spotlessly clean, and the full-time gardener kept the flowers and shrubs in good order. The layout of the hotel - three/four separate buildings linked with paved walkways and steps - meant that it alwas seemed very private.
The village itself is just across the road, full of restaurants and cafes serving local food, and with a delightful harbour. There's not much to do in the immediate area, but if you hire a car and don't mind hairpin bends, the local coastal scenery is spectacular. and it's unusual to find a hotel in such a village location with a spacious secure car park, locked at night.
Our only small niggles were: the noise from the two small schools next to the hotel, and the lack of a proper bar/lunch service. Otherwise all was perfect. The chiming of the church bells and some neighbourhood geese just added to the character.

Room Tip: rooms 37 to 42 overlook the quiet pool and have lovely large private balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

The rooms are dated and there was a odor in the bathroom. The pool area was not tempting. Old chairs no service. The breakfest was on the terrace and the second day because of the weather in a kind of a refectory very unsociable. You have to take everything yourself and the tables are not dressed in, so you feel like in school again.
For the price of 13 euro pp you would like to have at least a cossy atmosphere. So in total 220 euro's pro night for a b&b without any sociability that is way to much. If I compare the beauty and the service with for example the lovely b&b La Dimora in Oletta are the wonderful b&b La Piatatella in Monticello, and not at least the dream of a Lodge Carpalone in Porto Vecchio than I must be honest and say that this is REALLY REALLY OVERPRICED

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The main structure with guest rooms (above the courtyard) is the place to stay in this hotel. There are three "grades" of rooms-- Superior, Charming and another name I can't recall. We stayed in all three types and I can definitely advise Charming is not worth the money. It boasts a terrace which is essentially a space outside of one's room that is used by other guests to get to their rooms. Not ideal and not properly advertised. The few Superior suites are where it's at.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckand
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The setting and surrounds of this hotel made it for us. Across the road was a little fishing village behind a sea wall, beautiful indeed. Plenty of restaurants and our hotel, tighht there.
.
The staff were pleasant, helpful and welcoming, until it was time to drag the luggage up four stairways. Being Sunday, there was no porter and the staff that were there were not offering help.
Our room was a good size and had everything we needed. Bathroom, on the small size but clean and ok. Toilet, in a cupboard, yes, not kidding. Worked however, and separate from bathroom.
We found out about the swimming pool when we were about to leave the hotel which was a shame, in a separate part of grounds and we didnt even see it.

Breakfast was good, helpstaff boiiling eggs for you, so rare and welcome. Outside sitting in a beautiful setting, unfortunately a wasp problem when we werre there but probably a passing problem.
Wi fi didnt work in room but staff happily set me up with my little laptop in a room down stairs where it worked perfectly.

car parking was good and convenient.

Would recommend this hotel but definately ask for ground floor if you have heavy baggage. Those stairs were a killer.

Room Tip: ground floor if you have heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

We loved it here on our honeymoon. Fantastic setting, the rooms weren't quite as good as the common areas and the surroundings. We had a superior room for 2 nights and a standardfor four nights . To be honest, not much in them in terms of size and I'd probably plumP for the standard one were we to go back. ErbAlunga itself is very pretty but restaurants all a bit pricey. We had two stand out
Saps one at the renowned pirate which was acebut at 200 euros should be and another at la table du marche in Bastia which was 80 euros and of very good quality indeed. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We found this hotel through the Lonely Planet Book where it was highly recommended. They weren't wrong. The hotel is beautiful and has 2 swimming pools. We had a room on the ground floor which had a small seating area by the second pool which was a lovely quiet spot. The maid service was excellent in terms of cleanliness and friendliness - I hope the staff are valued as they should be. Breakfast too was excellent and the courtyard area where this was served together with drinks throughout the day and evening was very pretty. The bar service too was excellent. The hotel is situated at the centre of a very pretty little fishing village which has several excellent restaurants and is well placed for touring the local area and beaches. It has a very nice looking spa which, unfortunately I didn't get to use this time. However, it is a hotel I would definitely wish to return to someday not too far away when I will use all the faciliites! I would highly recommend it for a very relaxing and comfortable break, particularly for couples.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castel Brando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Brando

Address: Route du Cap Erbalunga | Bastia, 20222 Brando, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Brando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castel Brando 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Castel Brando is a charming boutique hotel located in the splendid Cap Corse area of Corsica and built in a 19th century patrician mansion. With the Mediterranean sea only 100 meters away, the hotel is nestled into the charming village of Erbalunga. At your disposal, private parking, heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam bath and massages, tennis court, Internet point and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Castel Brando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Brando Erbalunga
Castel Brando Hotel Erbalunga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castel Brando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.