We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Macon Sud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Macon Sud to your Saves list
Ibis Macon Sud
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   371 Rue du Maconnais, 71680 Creches-sur-Saone, Macon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here only one night on a long trip, and I regret we didn't stay at this property longer. Everything about this hotel was well-run and well-done. The staff were professional, courteous, and efficient, the rooms were immaculate and well-appointed, the breakfast was the best I ate in France, and the property accessible and easy to find.

As far as location, the hotel is in the part of town with the supermarket and big-box stores, so you can see that as a plus or a minus depending on whether you want a quick getaway or a picturesque location.

My only small complaint was the soap/shampoo. It's in a dispenser bottle. One hangs in the shower, the other next to the sink. In the land of wonderful soaps, you would think that this French hotel would provide something nicer than this. Yes, it gets you clean, but it was rather uninspiring when everything else was so nice.

If my travels take me back to Macon, I will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    191
    36
    3
    2
See reviews for
96
145
20
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed here as part of a group of 27 on the night of 23 April 2013. No complaints about the quality or cleanliness of the rooms but the dinner we were served was the worst that has ever been placed before me in any hotel and accounts for my low rating. We took our places at the tables at 7.30pm but by 8.30 all we had had was a half filled bowl of extremely diluted, tepid vegetable soup. Most of us had finished the soup before bread was brought and only a brave few who asked for butter got any. I do not blame the young man who was given the task of manning the bar before the meal and of singlehandedly serving us and clearing the tables between each course. Then came the main course: a leg of what was alleged to be duck with a couple of spoonfuls of butter beans. It tasted awful and we sent most of it back uneaten. Finally the desert: an ungenerous serving of fruit salad. I cannot conceive how a chef with any pride in his work could have the effrontery to serve guests such an appalling meal. Next morning the breakfast was OK, apart from the runny scrambled egg.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vallulu, Gérant at Ibis Macon Sud, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
We have seen only yesterday your comments regarding your stay on 23rd of April 2013.
Please accept our apologizes regarding the quality of the evening meal.
For information, for the accommodation of the group, we provide several choices for the starter, the main course and the dessert and the agency make a choice for all the guests of the group.
If you do not like the meal, you could have asked to the waitress to change your meal.
We are just surprised that the guide of the group or another guest complain about the quality of the evening meal.
We hope to welcome you a next time providing you a better meal.

Yours sincerely.

Bruno MONDAN,
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Rooms clean and every thing works.bravo. Restaurant good choice of food not enormous but that's not abad thing. Very correct prices. Not all ibis hotels like this . Not bad at all .thank you hope breakfast is as good

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is very nice It is nicely decorated and spotless clean, rooms are big with lot of place to store our stuff ( i even found a place for my suit)
The staff is really nice kind and service oriented : a real pleasure
The breakfast was very tasty with Cheese pastries good breads marmelade and ......yummy 
The pool looked nice
Free Private secured parking

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Although the general quality of the room was what I expected from Ibis, the price for 1 night
was a lot higher than for example those of the surrounding hotels.
What I had not anticipated was the tiny cramped room which made it a not too pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Everything I expect from an Ibis Hotel, ideal for our overnight stay travelling from Nice to Zeebrugge. Excellent Hot and Cold buffet at a reasonable price. Comfortable bed, clean room, good shower. Free parking, five minutes from the Autoroute. No frills but good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Room is OK and the bathpod is practical but too simple to score too highly; indeed the shower is pathetic. However the clean room and quiet (but charmless) location means that the hotel offers precisely what it says on the can. The restaurant should be avoided.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Macon Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Macon Sud

Address: 371 Rue du Maconnais, 71680 Creches-sur-Saone, Macon, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Saone-et-Loire > Macon > Creches-sur-Saone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Creches-sur-Saone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Macon Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Macon Sud is located in Creches sur Saone, 5 minutes from Macon Loche TGV station and 8 km from the centre of Macon on a wine trail that takes in vineyards producing Maconnais and Beaujolais wines. The hotel offers 80 airconditioned rooms, including three for guests with limited mobility, as well as three meeting rooms for your conferences and seminars, a restaurant, a 24 hour bar with terrace, a pool and a free secure car park. WiFi wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Macon Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Macon Sud France/Creches-Sur-Saone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Macon Sud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.