We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Bergerand's Au Relais de la Belle Etoile to your Saves list
Hotel Bergerand's Au Relais de la Belle Etoile
4 rue des Moulins, 89800 Chablis, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Chablis
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Quirky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The owner, Nicole de Merteuil, is a "character" - which means that the hotel has some distinct oddities - like a reception desk that is only staffed for four hours a day (they give you a code to get in at other times); that breakfast may be accompanied by quiet recorded lute music; that you will find a warning message in your bathroom that the hot water may take several minutes to run warm in this charming but faded old building; and that the restaurant that is advertised on the outside does not serve lunch or dinner. It also seems to mean that one's experience of the place depends on what Madame's mood happens to be. In the two days that we were there she was generally charming, but also showed a frosty side. The hotel's website - with the tell-tale URL ilovechablis.com - actually describes it as a guest house, and that is probably more accurate than "hotel", despite its size. This is fine if you want to be treated as the house guest of a quirky host, but we never felt really comfortable here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
3
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I wish that I'd had the experiences that my fellow travelers have shared about this hotel. I've traveled extensively in Europe and have lived overseas for the past 35 years, but this hotel was a disappointment. The rooms were charming and looked lovely, however after reading all of the descriptions, I was not expecting to find a hotel lacking in basic comfort...the bathroom wasn't clean, the room was cold and didn't seem to heat up, the owner must have had an off day when she greeted us...she was civil, but not warm. She did recommend a good restaurant, however, after we opted for "country" food rather than "Michelin 1-star" food, and we enjoyed our meal there. (the "Bistrot"). We wanted to stay in Chablis, and we did and enjoyed our stay in this small town, but if we were to return, we would definitely look for different lodgings!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

This hotel, right in the center of Chablis, near the green river and the old windmill, is simply delightful. Ask for the "Royal Suite," where I stayed for three days, in bliss, surrounded by old French blue walls, shining with sun, along with a red oriental rug, a "divan" and the most charming paintings on the walls, of lilies and medieval lads. The ceilings are high, the windows tall and open, and the overall feel is luxurious calm.

As a place to discover Chablis—a pretty village with old stone buildings, wooden shutters, winding narrow streets and just a couple thousand inhabitants (the excitement of the town, while I was there, was a young girl in her window blowing pink bubbles down to a suitor)—this hotel is great. I especially liked the warm welcome of the owner, Nicole, a Californian-French woman, who immediately makes you feel at home, in an intimate setting.

A treat is the breakfast: a spread of croissants and fresh bread, with two pitchers of real juice for each guest—and a silver jug of coffee to boot. A surprise was the boiler to make one's own egg a la coque, and cut off the lid with specially designed tweezers, very French.

I had not expected to enjoy my stay in Chablis so much—apart from the excellent wine: the Hotel Bergarand made it worthwhile and precious, and I would love to come back.

p.s. one other plus: exceptionally clean! The maid really does an amazing job! And the bed is really sumptuous, with firm mattress, many pillows, and one of the prettiest comforters I have seen in any hotel.

Room Tip: loved the Royal Suite; beautiful and full of sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Lovely hotel full of character and lots of personal touches. Owner speaks both french and english which is a great help and is most helpful and friendly.
Very clean , big comfortable bed. Bathroom had new shower with jets, great.
Good value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

You can feel at home here. This hotel has history and class. I will set the people below straight: when you add bathrooms to very old buildings, they cannot be large, c'est impossible. The rooms are comfortable and unique. The linen is clean and the bed is comfortable. The owner is lovely, she will make you feel at home, and make sure to stay for breakfast because it is truly French with North American graces. Take a bottle of Chablis from her cellar for the road.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Right in the centre of Chablis this is a good base for exploring the wine region. Plenty of free street parking and close to bars, restaurants and shops. The hotel itself is best described as charming if a tad rough around the edges. This cannot take away from what was a very comfortable room - although the tv, which was on a arm suspended from the wall, was the size of a laptop screen and very difficult to view anything on (I was watching the rugby world cup). In summary the 'style' of our room was what I imagine is the inspiration for the so called 'shabby chic' look. A price of euros 128, which did not include breakfast, was on the high side in terms of vfm.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

A very picturesque hotel, charming, but too many inconveniences and thus not value for money.
Beds too small; no water pressure, toilet did not flush paper and all the other things we usually drop in there; very noisy; thin curtains.
Nice lady owner, lovely location, good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bergerand's Au Relais de la Belle Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergerand's Au Relais de la Belle Etoile

Address: 4 rue des Moulins, 89800 Chablis, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Yonne > Chablis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Chablis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bergerand's Au Relais de la Belle Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bergerand's Au Relais de la Belle Etoile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.