We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prize for worst hotel - Chateau de Quineville” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Quineville

Save Saved
You added Chateau de Quineville to your Saves list
Chateau de Quineville
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de Quineville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Rue de l'Eglise, 50310 Quineville, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Quineville
Overton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Prize for worst hotel - Chateau de Quineville”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

Booked for 2 nights and stayed for only one. Had room in Chateau, was excited when we pulled up as property looked stunning. Room OK but very small and furnished from the 1970's expensive at 123 Euro per night, gawdy clashing colour scheme and tiny bathroom. Bed sheets dirty and receptionist seemed suprised we wanted them changed. Dinner was another altogether horrible experience, dining room is kind of "granny chic" not our cup of tea but who cares as long as food was good - it wasn't, in fact inedible(we were hungry as had been in car all day and would of eaten nearly anything) - could not eat it so asked it to be removed from bill and we went out elsewhere for dinner. Went to check out the next day and food still on there, he refused to take the offending item off the bill -ended up having a shouting match with the "owner" (who remarkably forgot that he spoke perfect english the day before) Horrible, overpriced place where shabbiness allround is acceptable. Sadly the place seemed full as well but do yourself a favour and drive past this mutton dressed as lamb hotel.

  • Liked — Leaving it!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    6
    11
    6
See reviews for
8
14
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

The chateau is stunning and very peaceful and the service couldnt have been friendlier - and provided access for a wheelchair and a good disabled room.

The food was excellent 33 euros for set menu for dinner.
Good continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

Situated within a charming old chateau and its out buildngs this hotel is a pretty, quiet and charming little country hotel. The main chateau was converted in the mid 1970s and the rooms are too small and the bathrooms tiny. However, the rooms in the outbuidlngs and garden buidlings are newer, much bigger and nicer. The decor in each room is different and while not to my taste, a plesant enough country style. The gardens are lovely with a lake and a prettily situated outdoor pool. We stayed in a building at the bottom of the formal garden by the lake and it was very pleasant. The hotel seems to attract people from all over Europe who are touring Normandy and stay for few days before moving on.

There is a restaurant at the hotel which does seem busy. The food is reasonably good but quite expensive. Judging by greenhouses, geese and fish in the lake at least some of the food is home grown. There is a restaurant in the village which is okay for lunch but the menu is a bit limited. There isn't a lounge or room service as such at the hotel but when we asked for teas and coffees they either opened up the restaurant, brought us tea or coffee on a tray or ocasionally brought it over to our room. We were never told how much this cost an awaited our bill with some trepidation but it was fine.

The staff don't speak English so visitors do need to make the effort to speak French.

If you're expecting a five star country house hotel this isn't it. However, as a pleasant rural hotel for a few nights while touring Normandy it is is very nice.

  • Liked — Lovely building and gardens
  • Disliked — Rooms in main building are tiny
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2006

Wish i had seen the other review before staying here. While there were no major faults with the hotel, there were many small faults and disappointments, such as:
-- tiny rooms, no amenities: 14 inch TV screen, toiletries that come in paper packets; tiny bathroom with a port-a-john feel, typical "decorative" but completely impractical furniture.
-- no internet access (neither wifi nor fixed)
-- swimming pool is nice but heated about 2 degrees too cool.
-- staff that answer your questions with no effort to give additional information or be accomodating
-- overpriced food, especially breakfast.

This place has the definite feel of a tourist trap/ rip off, but strangely it seemed to be full the saturday night that we were there. Perhaps tellingly, most of the guests seemed to be above 60 years old and european, perhaps because they are the only ones who can appreciate this kind of place.

  • Liked — not much. but the soup in the restaurant was good (but alas, overpriced at 8 euros)
  • Disliked — the poor value for price (tiny rooms with no amenities)
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quineville hotels

Dublin Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2004

We were really looking forward to a three night stay at Chateau Quineville which was to be the highlight of our 14 day trip. Unfortunately we had paid in advance so we were stuck. Our room was fine and there is a nice pool and grounds. The food was dreary, basic and sparse with virtually no choice. We felt it was a real tourist rip-off going through the motions - no atmosphere and no place for people to meet or socialise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de Quineville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Quineville

Address: 18 Rue de l'Eglise, 50310 Quineville, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Quineville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Quineville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Quineville 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Quineville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Hotel Quineville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Quineville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.