We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We slept in the car until 3” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Honfleur La Riviere Saint Sauveur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Honfleur La Riviere Saint Sauveur to your Saves list
Campanile Honfleur La Riviere Saint Sauveur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   823, Rue Saint Clair, 14600 La Riviere-Saint-Sauveur, Honfleur, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“We slept in the car until 3”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Never forget the key in you room: at 11.20PM we came back to the hotel and everything was off. All the phone numbers of Campanile were connected to same voice mail, and the so called "24/7" reception is a ATM like-box that automatically checks you in, but of course it wasn't working. We could not even book a second room with this automatic system because it only took Visa (and that's all, no Mastercard, no Amex or others). We succeded entering our room at 3 am, after calling the Police. I am still waiting the hotel director to call me back (as promised by the lady at the reception desk on Sunday morning, Nov 18th 2012)

Room Tip: choose another Hotel, there are few in the same price range
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    39
    38
    24
    7
See reviews for
12
78
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Coast Ducatisti
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Weekend stay here, first thing that impressed me was the cleanliness and crisp white sheets.

Otherwise fairly basic with the usual amenities , inc tea & coffee and free wifi.

If you want to walk into the main centre it's about a 15 min walk.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel was clean and comfortable but it needs an update and refurb. All my stays at Campanile's up and down France have been acceptable and Honfleur was no exception. I didn't realise how thin the walls were until we were woken up on the last night with a party going on next door. The reception was closed and my wife begged me not to confront the youths. As for Honfleur itself, its beautiful and picturesque but expensive. First night out, 4 beers, 29 Euro's .. sheesh. That's £7 a pint. The area is beautiful and there's lots to see and visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

After a long motorbike ride from the UK, the hotel room was a welcome sight and quite comfortable, although I could have slept on a clothes line by then! Arriving on a Sunday night, there are few options locally for meals other than the hotel restaurant which is quite expensive or MacDonalds which is 2 mins away and the only place to get a beer beleive it or not as the hotel will not just serve drinks! The breafast is ok, just a typical continental all you want to eat for a quite expensive 10Euros incl "city tax" whatever that is. MacDonalds only serve breakfast on Sat/Sun and school holidays which we thought a bit odd coming from the UK. Evening meals can be taken at the hotel although again due to the cost we never ate there. I would recommend the La Petit Aubrge which is located across the main road on Rue de l'Heroult. Although frequented by a few lorry drivers, the owners are great and we had a 4 course very filling meal for just 11Euros including half a bottle of wine! Although addressed as Honfleur, the hotel is actually just outside the town and takes about 20 to 25 minutes to walk to. There are a couple of small supermakets near the hotel which close at 8 in the evening. Overall, I would rate this hotel as a comfortable base from which to explore the north coast of France but is limited for things to do in the evening if you don't want to use the hotel restaurant but want to go out without having to drive.

Room Tip: Ariving on Sunday? Take something to eat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

After a long journey not able to enjoy a cool drink as we were informed that the bar is only open at meal times. One room wasn't very clean. Pillows very stained so requested to be replaced. Hairs on the mattress covers. The worst Campanile I have stayed in and the most expensive. Attitude of one female receptionist had a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2006

Resturant poor ,staff unhelpfull ,really only good as bed and breakfast hotel although booked as half board had to eat out as food was so poor

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Honfleur La Riviere Saint Sauveur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Honfleur La Riviere Saint Sauveur

Address: 823, Rue Saint Clair, 14600 La Riviere-Saint-Sauveur, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur > La Riviere-Saint-Sauveur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Riviere-Saint-Sauveur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Honfleur La Riviere Saint Sauveur 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Campanile Honfleur La Riviere Saint Sauveur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Hotel Honfleur
Campanile Honfleur La Riviere Saint Sauveur France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Honfleur La Riviere Saint Sauveur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.