We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pearl in Oyster Country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Dunes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel des Dunes to your Saves list
Hotel des Dunes
119 Avenue de Bordeaux, 33950 Cap-Ferret, Lege-Cap-Ferret, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cap-Ferret
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Pearl in Oyster Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Looing for a very quiet, restful and healthy place to get some serious R & R, and some ind-depth research, I finally decided on Hotel des Dunes. I shared a twin room with my mum for two weeks. It was idyllic. Cap Ferret is a really lovely 'old-fashioned' quiet seaside town. Of course we were there in mid June, so it was fairly quiet. There are no large hotels; all buildings are maximum two storeys high. You cannot see the sea, since the dunes are too high, but you can hear it. The hotel and rooms were meticulously cleaned every day. The decoration was gorgeous - very typical of the region. Lots of wood everywhere - I almost felt as if I was in Indonesia. The room was small. There was not much space to store clothes and personbal effects (imagine two women for two weeks!!). However we were creative and there was no problem in the end. We had a lovely terrace, which was surrounded with fences covered in sweet-smelling jasmine. It was next to the private car park, and therefore not far from the famous roundabout someone wrote about. Yes it is on the main road. But this is not New York City. This is at the end of a very narrow peninsula, so there is only one road!!! However, you do need to understand that the normal population of the peninsula is 6,000. In summer 200,000 people come there - so if you want peace and quiet, do not go there in July and August. Breakfast was lovely, and the think we loved about it was that you got your own tray of juice, fruit or dessert, which they prepare the previous afternoon (the dessert I mean). this means that if you (like me) like a lie-in, you don't end up being faced with an empty buffet. The service from Matthieu and his stagiaire Gwendoline was wonderful, and the gentlemen who cleaned the rooms were also delightful to talk to. There was a slight hitch, as when we arrived the room was made up in a double, not twin. However, having decided that I would not get a good night sleep unless we had twin beds (I'm very restless), I asked Gwendoline if we could change the beds ourselves, so we sent mum upstairs to the sitting room, and she and I did our best, which was fine. Then next day, the professionals did a much better job of course!! Matthieu often gets the morning papers on his way in, and even managed to get us some English papers on occasion. All the staff were helpful in recommending restaurants, and you can read my review of Chez Hortense, Parnasse Cafe, l'Escale, Le Bouchon de Ferret, La Co(o)rniche, Le Mirador, Bistrot du Bassin, Chez Magnan. We loved the Hotel des Dunes and would recommend it. By the way the bed was divinely comfortable, and there was a huge shower.

Room Tip: I liked our room which was 'downstairs' - with a terrace. The rooms on the 'ground level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Nice simplistic hotel with great service provided by Matthieu. He was very helpful in reccomending a fantasic restaurant, the Pinasse Cafe. The hotel was walking distant to a beautiful beach and a drive to other local attractions. If your looking to have a wonderful quiet geataway i would reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We did know before we came that the Hotel des Dunes was near a roundabout... but, my gosh, this was like staying next to a motorway. Our nice terrace was literally on the noisy road, where motorbikes, lorries, cars and scooters competed to see who could be the noisiest.
The rooms were clean, if rather clinical. And very small, with room for the double bed and not much more.
Service was nice and helpful. And the breakfast also nice, if pretty expensive at 13 euros.
10" walk to a nice, empty beach. 10" bike ride into town.
But, found it pretty much impossible to ever fully relax given the proximity of the noisy road.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Spotless small hotel with indulgent, attentive staff right on the path for a short walk to the ocean, Quiet, well equipped rooms, some with sizeable terraces. Secure parking. Nice breakfasts (hot coffee and hot milk). Easy walk to restaurants including Chez Boulan Poissonerie (great food in casual atmosphere with unbelievable warm and welcoming staff).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

I enjoyed our stay at Hotel des Dunes.

The staff is very friendly and happy to help out. The location is a 5 min walk to the center of town which insures quiet sleep but is close enough to feel connected (at night though, you need to drive). The rooms are small but comfortable, very clean and well priced for the level of service.

This hotel is also (as the name implies) right on the ocean dunes near a beach path. Unfortunately, the dunes are huge and there are no views from the hotel, but access to the beach is right outside your door.

I fell in love with the easy elegance of Cap Ferret and this hotel is a great way to experience it for several days. If I came back for a week+, I would probably rent an apt, but for a short stay, this place is wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

Lovely hotel de charme where the welcome provided by Alexandrine and Arnaud is warm, efficient and personalised. The minuscule sauna is well thought trough, appreciated, and adds pampering (and warmth in case of rainy days) to the stay. The hotel location slightly outside the centre of the village, near the lighthouse and a few minutes walk from the ocean's beach protects against a noisy human environment. The only drawback is the immediate proximity of the road, but I have to say that the traffic was not very busy, so only a minor inconvenient. I plan to stay there again in the near future and I can recommend it to fellows travellers looking for a stay in a quiet environment, close to the magnificent ocean in a bijou modern hotel!

  • Liked — modern and charming interior with fantastic hotel staff
  • Disliked — proximity of the road
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruxelles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

choice is restricted in the area... very nicely decorated and kept
the staff is over friendly, but... the location is a bit disapointing : not at all in the 'dunes' rather on the corner of the main road and a dead end road leading to the 'dunes' but easy pedestrian access to the 'wild' ocean coast and the beach is almost empty. Be sure to book one of the patio's room on the ground floor - the view from room on the first floor isn't very appealing. rooms have all needed commodities but are quite small. breakfast was tasty.
other option is hotel 'côté sable' in town - the bay rooms have direct view on the 'bassin d'arcachon' and access to the (depending on the tides) beach.
in either case, be sure to book a table at delicious 'hortense'

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Dunes

Address: 119 Avenue de Bordeaux, 33950 Cap-Ferret, Lege-Cap-Ferret, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Lege-Cap-Ferret > Cap-Ferret
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cap-Ferret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Des Dunes of Cap Ferret offer a choice ranging from standard bedrooms to a 50m2 suite. All rooms boast air conditionning, flat-screen T.V with satellite channels, mini bar, private safe... facility of a sauna, free wifi access, the use of tennis courts and a private car park. Located 50 meters away from the Atlantic Ocean dunes and blends into the wild scenery of Cap Ferret. The hotel is equipped for the disabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel des Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.