We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with the charm of a family home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison du Bassin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added La Maison du Bassin to your Saves list
La Maison du Bassin
Cap-Ferret, Lege-Cap-Ferret, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cap-Ferret
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A hotel with the charm of a family home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2011, and I can only say it was absolutely amazing. The Cap Ferret area in general is a lovely area to visit with the Bassin D'Arcachon and a bit further on St. Emillion and Bordeaux. The hotel is small scale and the room we stayed in was designed in Colonial style with a lot of wood and details. Very tasteful. Our room had a view of the Bassin. The rooms are perhaps not as big as in a regular chain hotel but certainly big enough for two with luggage. The towels are large and the sheets crisp. The hotel was quiet while we were there and we slept well.

We had dinner in the Bistro of the hotel as well and that was absolutely a feast if you are a seafood lover. The area is renown for its oysters and also the scallops were amazing. The desserts are great too. I really recommend to eat at least once a dinner in the Bistro because it adds a lot on your overall hotel experience. You completely forget where you are. The decor is amazing.

The breakfast is French - that has to be your style of course - but the croissants, baguettes, and Madeleines were very good and there were homemade jams and fresh orange juice. Overall a great hotel and at a beautiful location on the Cap. I recommend it!

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the Bassin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    46
    22
    12
    8
See reviews for
18
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel is extreemly charming in an old fashioned french seaside way.It is actually done up to look like this and succeeds completely.It could aso be described as New England chic.
The food is second to none .The wine list is far too expensive.
If You are staying on one of the hotel offers or packages ,unfortunately you are put dining in the porch or veranda .this is very nice but it is outside the very charming dining room and you are treated very much in this way as a second class citizen .While the food is excelent it is not the good menu.the segregation seemed ridiculous to us.The dining room had two or three tables in service as did the veranda. It meant that the staff had to work much harder and just caused unneccessary offence.If the hotel had warned us when we were booking that they intended to treat us like this we would not have taken the three day offer.
It was a real pity because it is such a super hotel otherwise.

Room Tip: Make sure when you are booking that you get a room on the first floor ,either in the main house or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

perfect place to spend a weekend in the Springtime or even before the Summer holidays, to rest, read and walk around, e.g on the long beach of Cap Ferret (not crowded in March), breath some fresh air...

Room Tip: Choose a room in the hotel, not in the second house, less pretty in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Excellent restaurant and stylish New England type decor. Let down slightly by lack of general areas for relaxation and absence of car park. Not the easiest place to find - head for the lighthouse and ask!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My mum and I booked to stay here during the few days between Christmas and New Year and it proved the perfect escape. Our lovely room was tucked at the top of the stairs in the main part of the hotel and featured a beautiful double bed and open plan bathroom. The hotel breakfast was fantastic and the bar proved the perfect place to recover from a day walking along the coastline and beaches. There are lots of lovely restaurants in the near vicinity and I heartily recommend going out and exploring them... unless you get distracted by the vaste hotel pudding tray on the way out!

Room Tip: The only advice I can give you, would be to choose a room at the back of the hotel away from the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We came during the summer on a two week tour around France, this was our third stop for sadly just three nights. Loved the area and the hotel which has a lovely restaurant. The nearby beach on the Atlantic side is stunning and not crowded plus Rusty our pup could happily run around, which isnt the case on all the beaches in France.
Our room was pretty with a lovely balcony. No air conditioning which was fine as it wasnt too hot but if they had higher temperatures they may need it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Do NOT book to stay here if you want a spa, pool or to have to dress for dinner.

This hotel is an authentic throwback to a simpler time when a holiday was a time to relax, refresh and recharge. It does not do flash, bang or even wallop well. It sits perfectly at the Southern end of Cap Ferret, beyond the lighthouse and beside the oyster fishermen's sheds. It is relaxing and low-key; you can come and go and nobody really notices. Ask for help or a little guidance and it is graciously given. Need to be left in peace? You will be.

This hotel does not pose, shout or strive to be your friend. It is however, chic, comfortable and effortlessly simple. The food is good and served by some charming if slightly undertrained young things.

The rooms vary quite a lot and this is reflected in the price. The small rooms are really quite small but all are well equipped. Much about the room is wooden with a distinct throwback feel to bygone days. However, the towels are large and the sheets crisp. The hotel was quiet while we were there and we slept well.

You won't get samey hotel chain ubiquity here but you will get a relaxing holiday experience if you allow it to happen. One of my favourite hotels anywhere but only 4 stars as our room was small with a view of a roof (No 7).

Room Tip: Choose the annex if your budget and vacancies allow. Go for dinner too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison du Bassin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison du Bassin

Address: Cap-Ferret, Lege-Cap-Ferret, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Lege-Cap-Ferret > Cap-Ferret
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cap-Ferret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Maison du Bassin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Du Bassin Hotel Cap-Ferret

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison du Bassin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.