We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Pelisson

Grand Hotel Pelisson
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Pelisson to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Pelisson
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Place Alfred Agard, Nontron, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nontron
Somerset
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place is "old fashioned French" in the best possible way. It looks like postcard image of an old town centre coaching inn and exudes warmth and comfort. The bedroom was fairly basic but very comfortable with a bright modern bathroom. The restaurant had a lovely atmosphere and the cooking was superb, providing 2 gluttons and a vegetarian with the best meal of our holiday.
The owners and staff were most welcoming. This is "Logis de France" at its best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
9
11
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Maybe the hotel has been done over since some other reviews.....our room was comfortable, clean, warm, well-furnished. Te Restaurant was fine....we had a family dinner there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

What strikes you when you stay at the Grand Hotel in Nontron is that all of a sudden you feel as though you have travelled back in time tens of years but still you are browsing through your favourite newspaper website on WiFi. The hotel has belonged to the Pélisson family for many years and they keep up with the old world traditions of proper food, excellent restaurant food and service, reasonably warm (by which I mean nice and honest) welcome, and old, partially brought up to date building and rooms (no hook for shower head and old world central heating a bit short of expectations being the only drawbacks). I may have stayed at better hotels but I try to stop at this one whenever in the area as both it and the town of Nontron (in times of yore famous for its knife industry) continue to charm and attract me. Car park is accessed driving through an old world stagecoach stop style archway and there are proper fireplaces crackling with logs and embers, Limoges and Staffordshire crockery, little known but delicious, refined Bergerac red wines - it all adds up to a great experience. Highly recommended to 3 and 4 star hotel regulars who would not mind giving and old world, decent 2 star hotel a chance.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This place looks extremely grand from the outside (probably hence the name "The Grand Hotel Pelisson"), however when you go inside, the restaurant looks more like a Swiss Chalet than the Gothic Facade would indicate.

The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful explaining the menu and what was in each dish. Service was also excellent, especially considering the fact that there were 6 people on our table. All our food arrived at the same time and all the food was hot.

This place is a little pricey and is really the sort of place you may go for a more formal evening or a special occassion. However, the food was fantastic and well worth the price. I had the duck which was absolutely delicious (3-4 courses for about £30-40 PP - Wine extra).

Our little party had a really lovely evening and would definately consider going back for that special occassion. The only thing stopping me giving this restaurant 5*s is the internal decor (a little dated) and the overall cost of the evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley Lancs
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

We have dined at the Pelisson on many occasions, the service and the food are excellent, the dining room also cosy and pretty. We had to stay there to the first time and were disappointed with the rooms. They were I suppose typically French. The bed was comfortable, the curtains were colourful and expensive but the furniture was old and tatty , the carpet was dirty and stained. The bathroom in particular was a mish -mash of 50's fittings and assorted tiles. The welcome was abrupt and I didn't feel that they were bothered whether we were there or not. The breakfast was basic for the price compared to the dinners.
A great shame that the rooms have not been updated as a meal sitting around the pool on a hot night in summer is just a lovely experience here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nontron hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Pelisson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Pelisson

Address: 3 Place Alfred Agard, Nontron, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Nontron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nontron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel Pelisson 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Pelisson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Pelisson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.