We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mature Irish couple visiting Bordeaux area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Gueriniere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel La Gueriniere to your Saves list
Hotel La Gueriniere
18 Cours de Verdun, 33470 Gujan-Mestras, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gujan-Mestras
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
“Mature Irish couple visiting Bordeaux area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our overall experience at La Gueriniere was delightful. We particularly liked the pool area and of course the restaurant which was exceptional. The management and staff were most helpful and we hope to return for another visit to this wonderful little hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    34
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
62
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bandol, France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a well kept, well decorated comfortable hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful and don't forget to try the restaurant. It's an experience not to miss. I can recommend the half board formula. You won't need lunch after the breakfast they serve!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We chose to stay here as it was near Arcachon and clearly tries to impress. The room itself was clean and comfortable, although it was annoying that there is no lift. The pool area was nice too.

Be warned: there is NOTHING within walking distance, no other restaurants or bars to be seen. This wouldn't be a problem if you are planning to dine at the restaurant in the hotel, but it's a Michelin restaurant and prices itself accordingly - i.e. out of our price range. Luckily it's only a short drive into Arcachon town.

Overall this place was fine, but didn't really suit our purposes and was overpriced for its location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGueriniere, Propriétaire at Hotel La Gueriniere, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Your opinion is not really an advice on our hotel but on you !
You say the rooms are comfortable and clean, pool area very nice. Thank you. You have been impressed but it's not us who are trying to impress !!! Maybe it's not the kind of hotel where you used to stay? Unfortunately you stayed "impressed" and did'nt try to discover the oportunities of our "house".
You are completely wrong with the restaurant where you didn't put your feet: we offer a menu at 50 € including aperitif, first course, main course, cheese, dessert after dessert coffee and wine and it is not expensive as you suggest ! Go to Arcachon with your car, take a pizza and an ordinary wine, a dessert and a coffee and it is the same price but you eat badly, with paper napkin, drink in a mustard glass in a noisy atmosphere....
Customers have really to be sometimes more opened eyes instead of having ready made opinions !
The Harbour is 5 to 10 mns from the hôtel. You have there at least 4 restaurants within a walking distance.
Please next time ask for information at the lobby. We all speak English ! Don't be impressed but
curious and loving real life ! Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We only stayed here one day, but the room was really worthy of three stars: clean, well-furnished and quiet. The staff are all professional, courteous and very welcoming. The man we talked to spoke wonderful English. But other staff, who we spoke to in French, were very correct and helpful.
The hotel is in the town so you are near some of the delicious oyster houses and fish restaurants.
Perhaps the Wi-Fi should be free. As of now, they charge €E a day, which is a bit steep.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We were a bit disappointed by our stopover at La Guérinière. Gujan-Mestras is not really a place of interest (except maybe for eating oysters in one of the small restaurants at the port). The hotel is a charmless building on a charmless road; it looks like a motorway motel from outside.
We got a standard room (ok) with view on the road. The restaurant surrounds the swimming pool with lots of plants and flower that gives nice scenery for dinner and breakfast.
The restaurant is one Michelin Star but we were a bit disappointed, not really excited by our diner. Service is unequal. The person who took our order made us want to leave the restaurant whereas other waiters and front desk were smiling and courteous.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

The welcom in the hotel was very cold: you get your key and that is it. There was no elevator and we had to carry our suitcases to the second floor ourselves (4 strairs). The emergency stairs are used for a shortcut to the parking and the pool (advise from the hotel). This is very strange we think. The hotel is situated next to a busy street so when you are lying by the pool (when there are enough sunbeds!) you here the cars. The pool is indeed decoration for the restaurant and not for swimming. Rooms are oke (clean but some things need to replaced). We booked a chambre luxe for Euro 170. Breakfast cost Euro 9,= per person extra and than you get bread, yoghurt, jam, coffee and one butter for two persons. They put everything on your table so there is no buffet.... We arrived after lunchtime and asked if we could eat something but that was not possible. In the evening we had dinner with friends from Arcachon and we would have dinner in the hotel the second night but we left after one night beacause it was not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

We stayed at La Guerinere in July 2009 along with a 1 yr old child. Overall I left the hotel with positive impressions, but a lot of caveats. Its a good hotel for some, for others not good at all.

The positives: the hotel is reasonably modern, is a small size, has a pool and a Michellin-starrted restaurant, is air conditioned

The negatives: you're not allowed to use the pool most of the time, hotel is a bit out of the way not actually in Arcachon but a sort of neighbouring town a bit of driving away. No beach close by, Intermittent ambient smells from what I think i s mud at low tide around the local shellfish farms

We stayed here for about a week, as a base for spending the days at beaches in Arcachon or the neighbouring peninsula/bay. Overall we enjoyed our stay and got very good service from all the staff at the hotel except for the one rather gruff middle aged lady who works the reception. They were very accommodating of our needs with the child.

There is parking at the hotel and it is free for guests.

The hotel itself was not really a four star, more of a 3 star that now needed some small investment. We first stayed in a superior room with a balcony which was noisy of you opened the door as if faced the road. In any case the balcony was rather shabby. After that we had an larger room opening onto terrace on a side road which was better.

The internet service in the hotel is a joke. Slow as hell, like 128kbs dial speed. Definitely not broadband. The only computer available for guests was right in the front lobby. And not a great one either. The hotel can and should do better on that dimension, as it is far away from all the tourist locations so you do need to get on the internet to find information about the local area.

The Michellin starred restaurant in the hotel is needless to say really good. If you book a stay with the half board, then you get a set menu at the restaurant. Its a good meal like that, but f you go a la carte you get even better food. No room service though.

One negative was that because of the pretense and formality regarding the restaurant, the hotel pool adjoining the restaurant serves more as a prop for the restaurant than anything else: when the restaurant is serving lunch and dinner you cant use it. But its pretty, I guess.

A short walk away from the hotel there is a pier with a 4 or 5 casual seafood restaurants most of which were quite good and a lot cheaper than the restaurant at La Gueriniere. If you take a very long walk or 5 min drive there is a Hypermarket and bakery in the direction of the main highway.

However it did get to be a bit of a schlep having to drive aroudn everyday, all the beaches are quite far away from the hotel. And driving at summer season in the area was a bit of a hassle as the traffic is heavy in the mornings and at end of the day as folks leave the beaches.

So those are the pluses and minsues of La Gueriniere. We enjoyed our stay there but then again we did know it had a michellin-starred restauarant and wanted that. But if you just want to be in central Archachon there are many hotels more approriate than this one.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Gueriniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Gueriniere

Address: 18 Cours de Verdun, 33470 Gujan-Mestras, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Gujan-Mestras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gujan-Mestras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Gueriniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gueriniere Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Gueriniere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.